🎨 THE BEAST OF BABYLON

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

THE BEAST OF BABYLON

Three days ago I posted THE EXORCIST, a photo-montage of my selfie at a Halloween party with a cloned image of this, THE BEAST OF BABYLON. Checking back doing a search on Steemit I realized that, though this is one of my major works, I had never posted it here (not even in my INTRODUCTION post).

THE BEAST OF BABYLON - fo rsteemit 72dpi.jpg

graphite on paper, 22 x 30 inches, 1980
private collection, Austria


🔍 you can right-click all images for a larger view 🔎

“When Anu the Sublime, King of the Anunnaki, and Bel, the lord of Heaven and earth, who decreed the fate of the land assigned to Marduk, the over-ruling son of Ea, God of righteousness, dominion over earthly man, and made him great among the Igigi, they called Babylon by his illustrious name, made it great on earth, and founded an everlasting kingdom in it, whose foundations are laid so solidly as those of heaven and earth; then Anu and Bel called by name me, Hammurabi, the exalted prince, who feared God, to bring about the rule of righteousness in the land, to destroy the wicked and the evil-doers; so that the strong should not harm the weak, so that I should rule over the black-headed people like Shamash and enlighten the land, to further the well-being of mankind.

...When Marduk sent me to rule over men, to give the protection of right to the land, I did right and righteousness in . . . , and brought about the well-being of the oppressed.

[The oldest known written code of laws from around 1772 BCE]”
― Hammurabi, The Code of Hammurabi

DETAILS

SH103612psbeast21x29-300dpi-PSnewSEPIAversion4-detail4.jpg

SH103612psbeast21x29-300dpi-PSnewSEPIAversion4-detail2.jpg

SH103612psbeast21x29-300dpi-PSnewSEPIAversion4-detail1.jpg

SH103612psbeast21x29-300dpi-PSnewSEPIAversion4-detail5.jpg

Prints are available here: Otto Rapp Pixels Website
also posted on my Flickr


the beast
The Beast of Babylon
when it was displayed at the Phantastenmuseum

The Beast
Myself with "The Beast"
at the Phantastenmuseum

“What we finally do, out of desperation ... is go on an impossible, or even forbidden, journey or pilgrimage, which from a rational point of view is futile: to find the one wise man, whomever or wherever he may be; and to find from him the secret of eternal life or the secret of adjusting to this life as best we can.” ― Herbert Mason, Gilgamesh: A Verse Narrative

Ernst Fuchs checking my drawing 'The Beast of Babylon' at the Phantasten Museum in Vienna. It was there on loan from the private collector between Summer 2011 and end of 2015.

Check out my previous post THE EXORCIST where I used a clone of this drawing:

THE EXORCIST-small-600px.jpg



visitmywebsite-small200.gif


383317_255915021137437_990725637_n-sm.jpg


my Birthday Party at the Phantastenmuseum, December 2011

Note: I am an Austrian Artist living in Vienna


About my Work

Sort:  

woow :) its wonderful dear Otto ! it was interesting for me to discover all details ,

Thank you Adele - I just wish I had the patience to work like that again - well, I did, but that was a year ago already for a special project EROS THANATOS II. Now that I am reminded, I should post that one also, with all the details and progress shots. I did post about the project 7 months ago: PIGMALION. That large drawing has bits and pieces of earlier drawings in it, and you might recognize the portrait.

unbelievable ! how big is it ? thats something needs to watch it more than normal , to discover details , i think i know how it feels when you find yourself with less patience than before for drawing , but just start one , day by day add something on it , you will find the motivation again,
i learnt the best one who can be a motivation for you is yourself !
i love your Art ., <3

Eros Thanatos II is 120 x 100 cm. And yes, I worked on it off and on for a month, adding bits and pieces and adding details, once I constructed the general layout of it. It was like piecing together several drawings into a coherent whole - i.e. parts of it are details from works dating back decades. So some of it is autobiographical in nature. I will post it some time with all the detail and progress shots, but oddly enough, the better earning (upvotes) so far I had gotten for quickie posts that neither took a lot of time nor went into much detail, so I am at a loss why this is so. Even this here piece, a pivotal "signature" work of mine that hung in a museum for almost 5 years and earned the respect of Ernst Fuchs, it so far did not get much, whereas a small drawing in ink some months ago got me over 260 steem dollars.

That's amazing Otto ! I am glad you noticed that you hadn't shared this here and sharing it now :D Beautiful piece, and I love the close up views, also <3

It reminds me a little of a story that I've read somewhere about an artist trying to draw a portrait in his basement... The pinned image is a beautiful woman but the painting is of THE BEAST, this is an amazing juxtaposition for me and a delightful one ! <3 <3

Love this so much, Otto !

@veryspider - thanks - yes, the beauty and the beast? - well, sometimes looks can be deceiving.
And remember: Lucifer translates into "Shining Star".
Think of her as Éloa:

“What does Éloa mean?” He narrowed his gaze, answered her literally. “It’s the name of an angel.” Penelope tilted her head, thinking. “I’ve never heard of him.” “You wouldn’t have.” “Was he a fallen angel?” “She was, yes.” He hesitated, not wanting to tell her the story, but unable to stop himself. “Lucifer tricked her into falling from heaven.” “Tricked her how?” He met her gaze. “She fell in love with him.” Penelope’s eyes widened. “Did he love her?” Like an addict loves his addiction. “The only way he knew how.” She shook her head. “How could he trick her?” “He never told her his name.” ― Sarah MacLean, A Rogue by Any Other Name

Aaaah I see ! Yeah, Beauty and the Beast :>

...up and re...oh and I forgot, could you give me the address of your dentist?

haha, last time I went was over 10 years ago in Canada.
Thanks for checking it out! I did this in 1980, and thought it would start a trend. Not happening!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by The Mystic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

thanks - and I wasn't even trying to be nice!

Very lucrative and great Artwork with interesting details!

As you using elegance tag already, would you consider publishing your next Artwork via elegance.blue, to get little more appreciation.

OK, I check it out - got it earmarked now!

Awesome art. Fascinating and mesmerising !


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

They say risk only comes from not knowing what you are doing.

sometimes I do, sometimes I don't. Most times I don't, and that is when I am most creative. If you don't take that risk, the best you can do is being mediocre.

i could kiss those teeth! ;p

OMG, really?! 🤣

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59071.36
ETH 3001.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66