Art of the Mystic Otto Rapp - a Introduction

in #art7 years ago

While I had already posted some content, I never introduced myself yet.
I don't know if I made a mistake when I joined, or if this handle was assigned to me: @thermoplastic ....... I actually meant it to say "The Mystic", which is my handle since the early nineties.
My name is Otto Rapp, and I have been around this mortal coil for quite some time now, since 1944 to be exact.
A detailed Introduction is found on my website here: http://www.artofthemystic.com/introduction.html

Calendarfront-version1comp copyWEB.jpg
This is the landing-page image of my website: http://www.artofthemystic.com/

I've been creating art since forever, it seems. Particularly in the seventies, I was very prolific - unfortunately, only a few images remain from that time. I had been doing art some times full-time but most times part-time, because for most of my life I held a variety of jobs. Now that I am retired from my last job, I can again dedicate myself to art full time. Particularly since about 2010 my output dramatically increased and so did my exhibition activities. It was 2011 I moved back from Canada where I had lived for over 40 years, to my native Austria.

ABOUT MY WORK
"These are universal archetypes that may be found deep inside our collective subconscious. While seemingly extraterrestrial and alien, they are also strangely familiar. I take the viewer into an area that they might have been before in another existence or have entered in their dreams. It is a 'method in this madness' but everything arises by elimination of conscious guidance. The work grows seemingly by itself, like frost flowers on a windowpane. "

You find my Facebook page here: https://www.facebook.com/ArtistOttoRapp
My plan however is to in future post my content on Steem and then simply share on my other social platforms.

Of late, my strength lies particularly in drawing - one example here of a work from my "Austrian" period:

FOMORII GENERAL.jpg
Fomorii General, graphite on matboard, 2011 - http://www.artofthemystic.com/fomorii-general.html

In 2009 I had founded a network of Surreal, Visionary and Fantastic Realist Artists that has since been growing by leaps and bounds. I will from time to time introduce you to some of these outstanding artists and their work.
Here is the current landing page of our public website - http://www.vagallery.com/ :
screenshot VA Home 2.JPG
Whereas on Facebook, I maintain a page https://www.facebook.com/VisionaryArtGallery

Your comments are welcome

Sort:  

Your art is amazing. It freaks me out, and I love it.
Welcome to Steemit!
I look forward to your posts:)

Your work is breathtaking! Glad you've chosen to share it on Steemit. Upvoted and followed!

Congratulations @thermoplastic! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hallo Otto, hab Dich gefunden:-)

Otto😀. I finally started an account here. Hope all is well. 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57740.57
ETH 3127.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33