Animated Paintover

in #art6 years ago

An artist made this digital painting, then asked me for a paintover (in a public forum many years ago).
I did this in Photoshop, he said it helped. Let me know if you want one too, I will do my best to try to give some useful feedback. :)
With this one I tried to address composition (moving the girl off to the right a bit), and realism in the shading. He also asked me to color it. Let me know if you have any questions.

POP237.gif

This was originally posted on CGTalk.com in this thread Paint-Over Please! (POP):
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=166&t=359226&page=1
My other paintovers:
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/animated-paintover
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/2ht6cw-animated-paintover
https://steemit.com/nsfw/@stahlberg/3jyiuy-animated-paintover
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/2ughc8-animated-paintover
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/2oxkdq-animated-paintover
I do self-upvote, but I wait so I'm not the first. I don't buy votes. Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

such a talented guy..nice work bro!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue # 30 (1/28/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Another good one! 😎👍

Wow nothing much to say but amazing and lovely @stahlberg

I am not an artist, so take these comments for what they're worth. I like what you did with some of this. The piece looks better in color. I always prefer that. You gave the woman's body more definition and more of a waist. That made a huge difference.

Moving her over was a good idea, too. That makes more visual room for the menacing figure and adds to the feeling of dark drama.

I really like that you straighted out her feet and legs, she looks positively deformed (even crippled) in the original picture. That was very distracting.

The one thing I might change if it were my picture would be to add some more distinct white highlights to the dark figure's face -- like you have on the fingers of his hand. That would give it more definition. Right now, to me, it looks a little flat -- but then again, what do I know.

Thank you for including this in our post-promotion channel. It was a nice entry to include in our group post this morning.

The-STEEM-Engine

Thanks for the long and thoughtful reply, and for your positive feedback! About the negative feedback, thanks for that too because it's most often these that are most helpful. I think you're probably right about it too. :)

mehn, you are an awessome artist.
tell me.... where do you draw inspiration from?

Thanks! It may sound weird, but I see images when I close my eyes, random shapes even when I don't try to imagine anything. And if I do imagine something, I can see it, like a photo or movie in front of me.

Of course I also use google images like everyone else... :)

Amazing as always!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58559.96
ETH 3156.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44