Animated Paintover

in #art6 years ago (edited)

An artist made this digital painting, then asked me for a paintover (in a public forum many years ago).
I did this in Photoshop, he said it helped. Let me know if you want one too, I will do my best to try to give some useful feedback. :)

For this one I think the main issue is the pose, which to me lacked weight and credibility... but also a certain lack of defined edges that often happens when a beginner relies on the airbrush too much. As a result, the points of highest contrast are spread all over the place, making the composition less interesting. I attempted to remedy these things.

POP467.gif

This was originally posted on CGTalk.com in this thread Paint-Over Please! (POP):
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=166&t=359226&page=1
My other paintovers:
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/animated-paintover
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/2ht6cw-animated-paintover
https://steemit.com/nsfw/@stahlberg/3jyiuy-animated-paintover
I do self-upvote, but I wait so I'm not the first. I don't buy votes. Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Woww... I love your art very much Sir @stahlberg ... its a great reference for me and my student to learn and update ourselves with the skill and techniques adopted by the master like you... It was a great honor to meet you in person during our event. I wish we have more time to talk and exchanged ideas... hopefully in another event next time...

Do mine if its ok :)99A07A54-4956-4DCC-B427-97B7F946CAEB.jpeg

This one has obvious problem with everything haha. Thanks in advance :)

Not everything, right? :) Maybe perspective construction a bit... I'll take a try at it. But first let me know, what was the purpose and the intended audience here? What were you trying to communicate, and to whom? If it was just for fun or exercise, that's cool too. :)

Just for fun and basic b&w exercise :)

Ok here it is, I hope you like it! :)
Nazirullsafry1.gif

Osum. U nailed it especially the nose. I suck at shading noses haha. Thanks!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png

Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Could you help me a bit with shadows?
Thanks 🙂
D771_femelf_practice2_72pdi.jpg
click for full view

Yes I will do my best, thanks for entrusting me with your beautiful work. :)
It looks like the bird icon at the top of the staff, and the jewels on her arm, are emitting light, so I'll go ahead and use those as the main light sources in the image?

Yes those are light sources, although not sure if the main, I wanted to make it look as if there is a natural light source (some sunlight) from the left top corner as well.
You sure know your stuff, I still have to learn a lot about lighting and shadows

Here it is, I hope you don't mind I cropped it to focus on the paintover. :)

D771_femelf_practice2_72pdi.gif

Wow speechless
Thank you so much!! 😁
Now back to the workshop! woo

thats really really nice man ! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69371.89
ETH 3768.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71