Animated Paintover

in #art6 years ago (edited)

An artist made this digital painting, then asked me for a paintover (in a public forum many years ago).
I did this in Photoshop, he said it helped. Let me know if you want one too, I will do my best to try to give some useful feedback. :)
The main issue I tried to correct with this one was, the blue lighting coming from the left side was going to waste because the main white light (coming from up left behind the 'camera') was interfering with it. I like side lighting, so I tried to highlight it by removing the main light. This also served to highlight the character's most striking feature, the glowing eyes.

POP51.gif

This was originally posted on CGTalk.com in this thread Paint-Over Please! (POP):
http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=166&t=359226&page=1
My other paintovers:
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/animated-paintover
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/2ht6cw-animated-paintover
https://steemit.com/nsfw/@stahlberg/3jyiuy-animated-paintover
https://steemit.com/art/@stahlberg/2ughc8-animated-paintover
I do self-upvote, but I wait so I'm not the first. I don't buy votes. Thanks for watching!

Sort:  

Thsts a seriously cool edit on what was already pretty good

I think I know this character...let me guess...she can summon the wind, the storm, the rain and all natural element.

Nice to see you here @stahlberg

Is it Storm from the X-Men! It's a great image... both you and the original artist did a great job.

It must be hard to change the lighting sources of an image, it changes everything, but I'll admit that the eye does expect the lightening on the left to light up the character.

Yes it's Storm! :) I only realized that later, and I thought perhaps I should have made her skin a little darker... it would have set off her eyes even better.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Cool stuff, I've always wanted to give digital painting with a wacom a go.

Absolutely LOVE the eyes!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Stahlberg from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

cool art! the detail of the lightning is my favorite part

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 68636.49
ETH 3719.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75