New page first look: Android Blues 101

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Page102Thumbnail.jpg

Here's the next page in my graphic novel, just finished, and premiered exclusively on Steemit.

Last time we left our heroine she was trying to make contact with Elvis, a shut-in addicted to virtual reality games.

Here's the process: first I place text on the page, moving the bits around and continuously editing it for days or weeks.

Page102Sketch0.jpg

When I think I'm getting closer with the wording and the placements, I start sketching.

Page102Sketch1.jpg

And gradually try to refine the sketch.

Page102Sketch2.jpg

Then comes the inking

Page102Sketch3.jpg

And the final colored version (right-click View Image to see higher resolution):

P102.jpg

Previous pages:
Here

Next pages:
Here

First page:
Here

Sort:  

Wow, great to see the entire process from sketch till end.. Bizar how it evolves to a real story line with great drawings... Great done !!

Thank you!

You're very welcome...

Amazing work. So, are you still writing the story... or do you have it finished already and are simply drawing it?

Thanks!
I have the overall arcs mapped out in short-hand, with some key scenes briefly described. I have no idea how many pages it will make though, because it's not until it's time to start a new page that I actually flesh out the synopsis.
I usually try to stretch or pad the action out a bit, because I've noticed if I don't do that I tend to jump too fast through stuff, not giving the reader time to experience it in real time, like watching a movie. It becomes more like a trailer or back-flash. I also sometimes add whole scenes, or make changes.

Very interesting process. I have to admit I could use a few more planning in my work. I usually start things without a plan... And sometimes that comes back to haunt me! 😂

Great work, and i love the steps you did for making this pages :D
Very good, and i feel bad for the characters :c
so much for them and my heart :c

Why are you so amazing?

I'm glad this comic is getting more continuation again.

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

YES!!!🎉🎉🎉new page!!!

So sad though 😕 I suppose Elvis will end up helping (hehe otherwise why stick so long in this scene 😉)

haha, I think this is related to the movie trope "protagonist always refuses the call to action the first time". :) Also it makes it more realistic, like most people he probably just needs a few seconds to think about it...

fantastic your creative process brother, you are a crack! I feel sorry for the android, no one wants to help her and believe her evil when the opposite is true.

I've been a little away from the platform and my work because of health problems but I've already returned, I think I'm better.

Thanks! It's good you're better, hope it stays that way. :)

That was interesting, the comic page was good, but the process, you write and position the words first, to me that is mind blowing, you work the art around the words, I would have thought just the opposite. Does it constrain your drawing to do that or does it, the self imposed constraint, help with the vision of the strip?

Thanks!
To me the "flow" of the story telling is by far the most important, like the dialogue and editing of a movie. If you get those wrong, the movie absolutely fails catastrophically. But if you get those right, it doesn't matter what the visuals are - they could be drawn in South Park style and it would still work. :) But of course I enjoy the craft of drawing, and having readable facial expressions and body language will certainly help, so I do my best to improve that too.

It's important to take into account how people read. Of course some cultures read in the opposite direction, but for people who read left to right, and downwards, the reading of the page has to flow, otherwise the eye jumps to the wrong part and it's like jumbling the cuts in a movie. Very uncomfortable or destructive to the flow. So I read the page, over and over, until it feels right.

Also eye-lines are important, maybe even more than in a movie, because it can direct the reader to the next piece of text to read. Also, like in a movie, the 30 degree rule, and the 180 degree rule, are important. And to try to vary the shots in a long dialogue... lots of things to keep track of. :)

Really love your creative process towards achieving this exceptional exclusive comics.

Welldone

Hi stahlberg,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61226.21
ETH 2715.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45