Cottage And The Butterfly (WIP)

in #art6 years ago (edited)

(WIP) It Good!

WIP=Work In Progress

If you are a Buddhist scholar or know a little history of the Theravada and Sarvastivada controversy you are going to like my series on Buddhist schools. My husband found some juicy history on the competition between Buddhist schools between the 3rd and 4th Council. Why did the Buddhist hold Councils? They held a council to recite venaya and recite suttanta. The venaya is codes of conduct and rules for the monks. The suttanta is from the mouth of Buddha. When you read, "Thus I have heard," in the Pali Canon this is Buddha's cousin Ananda speaking at first Council after Buddha's death, he remembered everything Buddha taught. Ananda was Buddha attendant, or handler...hahaha

I tried a different method applying color to this gel-pen piece. This is more like play than serious art. You all should try using gel-pens, they are a blast!

Butterfly Gel-Pen Series

11 x 14 inches, black drawing paper, Gelly Roll gel-pens

A Country Cottage and Garden

I will start laying down color tomorrow

I had to enhance the drawing with some filters on my iPad so you can see the lines. The lines in normal light hardly show up, and the paper is an off-white. The filter not only enhanced my pencil lines but they also caught the texture of my cold press watercolor paper.

22 x 30 inch cold press, 300lb cotton watercolor paper


  • Projects, Cottage, and Butterfly WIP
  • Thistles And Butterflies
  • Thistles And Butterflies (WIP)
  • A Red Flower and Butterfly
  • Red Flower and Butterfly (WIP)
  • A Butterfly and Apple Blossoms
  • WIP And Gel-Pen Critique
  • Kelpie Ink Drawing

    • Since 1984 After intense research and development, Sakura was first to market with the invention of gel inks in 1984. Sakura has continued to master gel ink technology offering a variety of colors, opaqueness and special effects. Today, Sakura Gelly Roll® pens come in medium and fine point Classic gel ink, Metallic, sparkly Stardust®, dual color Silver Shadow® and Gold Shadow®, and bright and creamy Moonlight®.

      some_text A link to My Blog

      Sort:  

      That came out looking really great! you chose a really great specimen too. Brush footed butterflies are awesome.

      About the controversy that you mentioned - one of mother's colleagues was married to a shastri (a scholar of Hindu theology). Now surprisingly enough this shastri dude was a Muslim :-)

      I remember having a discussion with him about vedic philosophy. He introduced the idea of consolidation of Hindu Theology during Adi Shankarachraya's time in 2nd century AD to me. These changes came much after the birth of Buddhism and Jainism in India. These new philosophies forced the vedic scholars of that time to consolidate their schools and learning methodologies across the subcontinent.

      Weirdly enough after that discussion rather then focusing on the discussion I kind of winded up reading about Buddhism. Yup that and Jainism too.............

      This happened when I was around 13-14 years old. I went crazy and read for about a whole year before moving on (probably into comics) Even though I have a pretty good long term memory but I remember very few things..... for the life of me I couldn't remember the theravada and sarvastivada controversy - had to google it to see more about it.

      Yeah the Brahmans had to adjust their game plan, the Buddhist took away their main money avenue sacrificing animals for merit ...But eventually the Brahmans won and the Jains and Buddhist fell out of the public's favor as they grew distant and didn't serve the community that took care of them and the Muslim invasions, and several more issues we will go into in our series...However, Northern Indian schools tradition still exists in Asia and Tibet...We found some interesting stuff you can't find online, this is going to be a great series!

      That and also the fact that some of the prominent rulers chose Buddhism on a personal level. That must've scared a lot of religious leaders of that time because if that were to become a trend it would have essentially brought the shatriya's out from under the thumb of Brahmins.

      @reddust,
      With the Gelly Roll gel pens, you are doing absolutely Brilliant! Sometimes at the end of the painting this butterfly could fly out of it! Coz it's near to reality my dear friend!

      Cheers~

      I hope they don't take off and fly, that would freak me out...lololol

      I hope to read all the content of each of the posts related to the Buddhist councils, there will surely be much to learn. To be aware and prepared, I'm going to do my research.

      In relation to painting with gel markers, my niece is a talented girl, while I am not very good at painting, but I love photography.

      I was just about to take a break, when I noticed you just published. Well, have a good night, everyone. Blessings and prosperity.

      I am happy you stopped by @amigoponc, sorry for the late reply, our projects are time consuming. Lots of work to do off line. Gel-pens are for fun and carefree art! Everyone needs to play a little, it makes life worth living. Blessings and health to you and your

      Thank you for your warm response to me. Time is infinite and one day it is not enough to do so many things that we want to do; that is life, what is important is to live with serenity, at our own pace. A fraternal greeting....

      I love the drawing great work and nice skillz!

      Awwww this is amazing, I see the butterfly has taken shape and colors
      And ofcourse the cottage is what I can’t wait to see. Yeah I really can’t wait to see I swear .
      Looking forward to the Buddhist school series. You’re much appreciated my friend

      Thank you @olumideolowoyeye, my husband found some hilarious infighting between schools. Buddhist are supposed to be all calm and wise, but they all are human. This is going to be an awesome series!

      I really respect you and your husband work, that's touch my heart and I am a great fan for your Gel pen art, frankly say this was amazing and outstanding the art of butterfly, I am waiting to see your Cottage and garden... all the best be care yourself..

      I worked on the cottage all day today @abontikazaman and my husband spent the evening gathering notes for our first Buddhist history articles. Thank you so much for visiting my blog.

      Gorgeous butterfly! I'm always amazed at people's drawing skills. What compels you to draw?

      @violinist the same feelings that one gets when one wants to play a violin, to learn a new piece of music or perfect a song. The need to create something beautiful...the feeling is difficult to put into words. I also like to make clothes, food, and garden...I like to create <3

      music is different in a way. When making music during live performance, I get to enjoy the incredible energy on stage with other musicians who are incredibly skilled and smart and they're all focused on doing their job exactly at the same place and the same time. Paintings and drawings though have a long lasting effect. People will enjoy your crafty creations for many years after you finish the piece.

      But we both enjoy people paying attention to our work, bringing happiness to people's life...I think that is why I love to create...it makes me and other people happy. I bet you feel the same way...

      True. Guilty as charged.

      I am glad you will write budha buddies again my friend, I have never heard in buddhism there are groups, is that a kind of belief like Catholic and Protestant in Christian religion?

      I love writing about history and Buddhism, the research my husband and I have been working on has prevented me from commenting and posting more often on steemit. However we are building a wealth of data and articles.

      The groups of Buddhist are called schools and they usually are separated by rules and conduct called the Vinaya. Theravada has different views regarding the Bodhisattva ideal when compared to the Mahayana schools. However most of the Buddhist conflict was from how monks should live, what they should wear, when they should eat, how often they should eat and interact within the community, there are lots of rules involving staying away from the opposite sex, the Buddhist Nuns carried more rules then their counterparts...

      We will go into all this when we write about the history of Buddhist schools.

      Christian religion and the evolution of different sects is more complicated, way more complicated....lolol

      I just know there are differences in teachings, in tasauf any difference between the teachings of the group "wahdatulwujud" and the class "wahdatussyuhud" ..
      your picture is very interesting, you like drawing with heart

      Art keeps me sane...hehehe, my Buddhist practice keeps my ego in check...hahaha

      Thank you @steemitcountry.

      image.png
      please upload a video how you make this amazing drawing

      Making video's is a pain in the neck...I will think about making one with my next butterfly picture. Thank you @jcobs.

      Coin Marketplace

      STEEM 0.35
      TRX 0.12
      JST 0.040
      BTC 70638.80
      ETH 3565.34
      USDT 1.00
      SBD 4.73