Playing With Gelly Roll Gel Pens

in #art6 years ago

Thistles And Butterflies

FINISHED

This photograph was taken in diffused light, which changes the colors of the gel-pen ink. A lot of the inks are metallic and sparkly colors. The way the light hits the picture or when you move will change the color of the ink. There are opaque matte colors as well that do not reflect light and they can be used with the reflective colors.

11x 14 Black Sketch Paper 64lb and Sakura Gelly Roll Pens

The photograph was taken in full sunlight. Gel-pens have a shine to them, and some of the pens have some kind of glitter that sparkles when the light hits it at certain angles.

Photograph taken from Pixabay

I decided to cover the cross contour drawing with colored ink. The cross-hatching picked up the color nicely. When I use transparent colors on the black color they disappear and adding white lines to the picture picks up the subtle transparent colors. I found if I wait a couple hours to let the ink dry I can layer subtle and opaque colors easily. If you want to blend colors, you can take the stardust transparent ink which has a subtle clear silver metallic color and blends colors and makes new colors.

I used a charcoal pencil to draw a simple outline. I add detail using my white gel-pen. I like to have a nice outline to work on because I feel I can't draw out an image and then add color. I feel like I don't have enough confidence. I usually draw an image on transparent paper several times before I transfer onto my paper using carbon paper. I found white carbon paper that erases easily. I will be using carbon paper and transfer the image onto my black paper from now on because transferring calms my nerves; I won't goof up and ruin my paper.

I have 68 different colored pens with two different tip sizes. The color of the pen casing does not represent the true color of the pen's ink. Also, the pen's ink will change color depending on the color of your paper. Getting to know my colors in this medium is fun, I love to explore new things. Some people may think this looks like a lot of work, your idea of work is my idea of fun!

My memory works best when I write down information in detail. For some reason doing this task sticks the data into my long-term memory data banks I call my memory library. I learned how to do this memory trick from a psychology class I took, and my professor mentioned mnemonics memory tricks.


    Gelly Roll Gel-Pen Drawings

    Thistles And Butterflies (WIP)

  • Thistles And Butterflies
  • A Red Flower and Butterfly
  • Red Flower and Butterfly (WIP)
  • A Butterfly and Apple Blossoms
  • WIP And Gel-Pen Critique
  • Kelpie Ink Drawing

  • Since 1984 After intense research and development, Sakura was first to market with the invention of gel inks in 1984. Sakura has continued to master gel ink technology offering a variety of colors, opaqueness and special effects. Today, Sakura Gelly Roll® pens come in medium and fine point Classic gel ink, Metallic, sparkly Stardust®, dual color Silver Shadow® and Gold Shadow®, and bright and creamy Moonlight®.


    some_text A link to My Blog

    Sort:  

    @reddust,
    Oh my dear friend, this is amazing! The artwork is very similar to the original source! There are no doubt about your talents! You could prove us you are genius in Gelly Roll Pen drawings as well!

    Cheers~

    The pens are a blast to use and I don't think I am a Genius, more like creatively gifted...hahah

    Thank you my friend @theguruasia

    @reddust,
    Yeah you are not a genius! You are the guru of them! Creativity is in your blood! It's a gift! I think you brought this talent from your previous lives as well!

    Cheers~

    Very nicely done. I see the title thistles and butterflies and I hope the deer butterfly doesn't hurt itself in the thistles. It also reminds me of the old Irish radio program I listen to called the Thistle and Shamrock on public radio. Thanks @reddust

    There are thistles and shamrock all over Galic countries...hahaha I think I've listened to Thistle and Shamrock when I was a kid...omg, my memory is fading like a old curtain that has been hanging in the window too long...hahaha

    You mean Gaelic Countries? But still, you're awesome! Great work of art!

    Yeah, I mean garlic, wait Gaelic ....ipad typing typos and bad spelling in general....lolol

    It is interesting what you see in a photograph and try to reproduce.

    To me, in the photo, the lower butterfly is a combination of the colors of butterfly, with back lighting, from the green hues of the diffused light.

    You copied the colors, i would have adapted the colors from the photo, to lighting neutral, to black background light. And then, the butterfly would have been much darker. And shifted closer to dark and light.

    And then i would have noticed that the butterfly became the background. And then i would add some kind of, in photography terms, a diffused backlight. (which in my mind is white, and so changes all the colors of the butterfly.

    But that is my... computerized thinking about painting.


    If i had a choice between this finished piece and the white outlines on black, (at an art show) i do not know which i would pick. They both had very good qualities. And, in the end, it would depend on the room i was going to hang the picture in, which one i would decide.

    I definitely feel that there is a lot that i am missing because i cannot see the sparkle. I imagine that the original has a shimmer quality like butterflies have. And thus i would be really impressed with the original in natural lighting.

    You pretty much explained exactly how I feel about the work and photograph, the camera cannot catch the colors because the ink bends the light...I am definitely going to work on just using lines for the drawing, but on black paper I would have to use only opaque colors, so I will use the white contour technique when I want to fill and layer...

    I love learning new mediums and techniques...hahaha

    OMG... this is amazing.
    Your arts captures my spirit
    Yours is better than the one you took from pixabay
    I’m proud to be a follower of you

    You are so kind @olumideolowoyeye, anyone can use a gel-pen to create art, like greeting cards that is fun and satisfying.

    Really ? You think I can do this ?

    You could with practice, however with this pen you can create all types of artistic drawings ... check out this page and all the gel-pen artists!

    https://www.gellyroll.com/

    Wooow. Really fantabulous. I'm so impressed with your art.
    I'm sure that took a hell lot of time. Great work though

    @wa2qr, this kind of art takes about 16 hours of work...but this kind of work is play for me...hahaha

    Thank you <3

    That's good to hear. Wish you luck in the future

    this is incredible art that is only done with the gel pen, and brilliant colorful show.

    The amazing art @reddust, the color is very beautiful, I had time to look at it and make me stunned,
    So fabulous..

    Waaw is amazing ..
    How can it glow, does Gel-pen make its color glow,
    This is very beautiful @ reddust.
    I like it ..

    Thank you @izara94, that's why I picked gel-pens they have vibrant colors and they are shiny like jewels..hahaha

    I want to have Gel-pen @reddust,
    Later I can make beautiful art like you .. :)

    You should try them out, here is the Gelly Roll site and all sorts of artist that create simple to complexe works of art.

    https://www.gellyroll.com/

    I've always wanted to learn to draw as beautiful as you do, I like the realism that you give to the drawings I would not know where to start do not draw very well as you do, beautiful congratulations you're very good at this, some days I did not see your drawings.

    @moniristi, when I am learning a new technique or using a new medium like gel-pens I fall back on my drawing skills. If you can learn how to draw, there are lots of lessons on youtube, everything else will come easy for you. My favorite skill is mixing colors, that takes experiments and lots of failures. Learning to learn from failure and not giving up is what makes someone successful...success as making the goal you are aiming for...

    Dear @reddust, The realistic drawings are very beautiful, I like how real they look and have a good contrast as you say is the main thing, you draw very beautiful

    Thank you @shihabieee, when working on an art project color is my favorite part of designing a picture.

    Coin Marketplace

    STEEM 0.18
    TRX 0.16
    JST 0.031
    BTC 60371.26
    ETH 2609.98
    USDT 1.00
    SBD 2.54