My 1st flower sketch

in #art6 years ago (edited)

Hi there fellow Steemit art enthusiasts!

When I started following @kristyglas through her brother @ivan-g's fun origami posts, I found myself in awe of her sketches and thought process. I read her post on bat studies, and then I read about her dragon heads, dragons and roses and now fish and mermaids, I can't help but go WOW each time (she takes average 20 mins to draw a fish!). You must follow @kristyglas and @ivan-g if you like art, crafts and games because I think they are both awesome!

Now, with the encouragement and support from @kristyglas and looking at all the amazing sketches by her, and @cryptocariad, I felt an urge to pick up my pencil and try to draw. I was sharing with @kristyglas that maybe I will start with flowers and nature which I like because Steemians post many beautiful flower and nature photos.

One of whom I follow is the lovely @icybc (I knew her from #NeedleworkMonday, a needlework community which was started by 2 beautiful Steemians, @crosheille and @crystalize). @icybc takes lovely shots of nature and apply different color settings to accentuate the object of her photos.

The moment I set my eyes on her Peace Lily in Selective Color photo, I knew I wanted to try drawing the flower because not only it is a beautiful photo, it is also one of my favorite flowers (I 💛 lilies).

Here is my 1st flower sketch attempt:
peacelilysketch.jpg

What do you think? Is it ok? It is really an amateur, beginner sketch, so there is nothing fancy to it. I need to learn more about sketching and shading.

I enjoyed the process of sketching the flower (the photo by @icybc is so captivating!), just that I need to invest in better pencils and erasers 😅.
Next, I need to find my color pencils to add color to the flower 🌼

art1stsketch.png

A big thank you to @icybc, @kristyglas and @cryptocariad for giving me the inspiration to draw 😘 and thank you @ivan-g for "introducing" @kristyglas to me through his origami post 😎.
Remember to follow them all because I think they are very talented and present interesting, informative, fun posts that you can't wait to see what they post next :)

Thank you for stopping by! Wishing you a happy day wherever you are! 🌏🌍🌎

Sort:  

What a beautiful flower @marblely.... Many thanks for the mention too... I will be looking out for your drawing posts now as well 😍

Thank you @cryptocariad! 🙃 And thank you for sharing your posts, I truly enjoy reading and learning from them 😘 I hope I can draw more 😅
p.s. I edited my post at the end to remind people to follow you too! (Just realized that I did not say that earlier)

You did an amazing job as drawing it! It is very similar and keep on drawing if that is what make you happy or fulfilling your creativity!

Thanks so much for the mention and chose my photo! I am honored!

Thank you @icybc! That's because you took such an amazing photo :)

Aww it's very lovely and I love it! The drawings is great and I'm looking forward to your next flower. ^^ Making a set of similar drawings is very useful and very cool to look at together.
Also thank you for the amazing shoutout :D
If you plan to get pencils, look for 3B/4B. I think you will like it ^^ The drawings will look stronger are easier to photo.

Thank you so much @kristyglas! I'm thinking to color this flower too but I need to find my or buy color pencils / watercolor first haha. Haven't used them for more than 10 years! Ooo 3B/4B? Haven't seen that before. In school, I only know HB and 2B :D. Thank you again! 😘

Awesome :D If you can, test the color pencil to see if you like it. Or if you rub the tip with fingers and it leaves color, then the colors will be strong and probably blend well ^^

Well 2B is close enough. 3B is a little stronger. "B" pencils have strong lines while "H" soft ^^

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by kristyglas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

nice drawing! i think can be even better with more shading and outline work :D

hehe thank you @veryspider. Ah I will take note.. more shading and outline work. Am going to practice my shading. Sorry, am still new to sketching and drawing.. what does outline work mean?

You just planted 0.01 tree(s)!


Thanks to @marblely

We have planted already 3776.86 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 18875.94
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Really nice sketch.
Ps. tnx for the mention ^^

Thank you @ivan-g! Sorry, replied a tad late.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60907.24
ETH 3249.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45