ART EXPLOSION WEEK 13: Theme CRYPTOZOOLOGY / 25 SBD in prizes / all forms of art welcome!

in #art7 years ago

Project 104-01.jpeg

Here we are again folks, ART EXPLOSION, THIS IS WEEK 13!

​Here's the competition, as you can see above the theme this week is CRYPTOZOOLOGY. Here is a definition from wikipedia:

Cryptozoology is a pseudoscience that aims to prove the existence of entities from the folklore record, such as Bigfoot or chupacabras, as well as animals otherwise considered extinct, such as dinosaurs. Cryptozoologists refer to these entities as cryptids.



Feel free to create your own folklore creatures or build off ones that already exist. All forms of art are acceptable, painting, illustration, photography, music, poetry, a story a comic or any other medium you choose, be creative and surprise me!
Once again we have a special sponsor and guest judge: @vachemorte who will be helping me judge, the total prize pool this week is 25SBD!


The Rules
+++++++

  • Upvote and Resteem this post
  • Make some art (max two entries per person and please new art inspired by this contest or at least not already posted on steemit)
  • Make a post of your own for your entry (add artexplosion in the tags)
  • In your post describe your medium/process a bit
  • Link it here in the comments obviously so I can find it.

All entries must be submitted before Sunday October 29 at 3PM EST.

We'll be choosing the winners based on whatever tickles and touches us the most!
This is not a requirement but it would be a nice gesture to view the other entries and upvote them if you like so we can support each other and pass this on to any artists or friends you think may be interested :)

I can't wait to see what you create!

​See the winners of the previous week here: https://steemit.com/art/@juliakponsford/art-explosion-week-12-winners-the-theme-was-futuristic

Sort:  

Hey Julia, here is my cryptozoology submission for your contest this week.
https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@ankapolo/fungal-or-cryptozoology-contest-submission

mushroomTear 02.jpg

WOW Beautiful O_o

Thank you! (^_^)

Stunningly beautiful. Now this would make an interesting Disney cartoon. Am I right? :)

Thank you @cabelindsay! yeah that would be cute... like the mushrooms from Fantasia :)

Yeah, that Fantasia series of short cartoons is so awesome. I'm thinking Disney ought to create a feature film with a similarly far-out fantasy “trip” with one of those epic storylines of theirs, along with a top-notch soundtrack. Maybe a story about a kid who gets lost in the woods and the hallucinogenic mushrooms show him/her the way “home.” Might be interesting to see a big-budget investment into the spiritual side of storytelling. ;) Anyhow, your illustration obviously stirs some creative juices, you know.

that is my experience here on steemit too, i been feeling inspired ever since i joined. I love stories as well - hearing them, telling them... in fact i'm working on one now... i like the dark twist that you've hinted to with "home" - that can be sooooo many things (good and bad)... i'm intrigued :)

How fun! Yeah, the Grim fairytales have a special way of going into the depths of possibility. I tend to favor the light-hearted stories, although I also think the darker areas of the imagination could be a heart-opening area to explore. Looking forward to more of your storytelling, with words and images.

thank you @cabelindsay :))) I'm feeling inspired :)))

hey here is the link to my post entry for this weeks theme https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@alexandravart/the-lost-sirens-theme-cryptozoology

22813029_10155946660657427_1609694851_o.jpg

happy to participate in your contest, I loved the last week's winners work, can't wait to participate next theme too :)

trippy cool vivid-ness!!!!

thank you, glad you like it

O_O I can see this for hours!!

sry for seeing your comments so late, you can see this for hours. even at night because the green dots are painted with fluorescent acrylic paint :)

AMAZING!! ^_^

Hi Guys!! Here´s my entry ^_^


More details about the process here: ART EXPLOSION WEEK 13 "THE CHUPACABRAS"


End.jpg

Thank you Yu !!!

Thanks dear Julia!!

This is really cool geezer!!!!

Thanks Termite!! the drawing it´s like a Hybrid termite ? ^_^

would make a good album cover!!!!!

I liiiike!!! love that its new and that you painted it 1/2 in a traditional way.

Oh man, so cool! In my mind, your style here is similar to the “gonzo” illustrations of Ralph Steadman. Are you familiar with him?

First time that I see that name o_o OMG I´m checking his art in Google and it´s so "·$%·$%/& AMAZIIIIINGGG!!!!!! Thaaaaaank you friend it´s such an honor I´m jumping around ! by the way Following you

Yeah, that artist's work is striking and haunting. I'm a fan too! Following you now, and glad to connect. Excited to know more of your fantastic creative spirit.

Thank you this one is cute :)

Thanks termite!

Ohhh my this is AMAZIIIIING

haha thankyou!! Im not sure how it fits in! (.. just like a hybrid crypto-cephalopod in a a lab!))

hhahahaha Ohh Inspiratiomm ON!!

THE CONGOLESE ELKORYNX by @outerground

elkorynx.jpg

A Photoshop collage from British Library vintage public domain source imagery and part of my recent steemit series on Chymera. Click link above for a full description of it's first and only sighting in the Congolese Forests in 1897 by Charles H Brown of the London Zoological Society (ZSL)

Thank you for the entry!

thank you for the prompt @juliakponsford. I've been making creatures recently so this was immediately interesting and I do have a good working knowledge of crytpozoology. Apart from the well known usual suspects, this chymera was inspired by tales of various African cryptids.

you'll like this

TRUE STORY

my friend Nana lived in Tanzania as a child and he had a pet monkey. His Grandfather wouldn't let it in the house and one morning he couldn't find it. He scoured the garden and eventually found his way to the bottom of the garden, still no monkey. He was near the fence when a large neck and primitive reptilian head appeared on the other side of the fence. He watched this neck and head walk for a bit, dumbfounded of course. He said it looked just like a Dinosaur.. If you read the literature, he is not the only person to have seen it. Nana is a very trusworthy and reliable person. I have known him for 20 years. He's totally solid.. anyway, you've got a new follower and I'll try and keep up with artexplosion.

here's my latest chymera - a Bircoral monktopus of the Genus Makeupus animalis named by @molovelly in my name the chymera competition last week !

chymera 2.jpg

It's beautiful! Actual true story my grandpa used to own a bush monkey as a pet and it use to climb the walls lol :)

I think we all spent our childhoods wishing for a pet monkey.. I eventually got a little brother, which was quite similar. Much more like a little monkey than my older brother anyway !

The last one was fun...so I am in it again :-)

Paws1.jpg

See the full painting and article here:

https://steemit.com/artexplosion/@denniskonstantin/my-entry-for-art-explosion-contest-week-13-theme-cryptozoology

Ohhhhh nice!

Thank you Dennis!

Jeeze, your work is one cosmic ride after another. Such an otherworldly imagination in your subject matter. I appreciate the glows you achieve, and the “tracers” of echoing lines.

Thanks for your words...makes me happy 🙂

My entry for this week's #artexplosion competition is called Amduscias the Unicorn Beast. Fractal Art mixed with an image from an old book written in 1863.
unicorndevil.png

It´s like a Hells Gate <3

I enjoyed creating this one! As usual! 😎

amdusias is my favorite demon

I hope that you liked my image!

Excellent theme!
Sphinx fullscreen slider.jpg

Full post is on the deeper significance of the painting is here:
https://steemit.com/art/@luminousflux/the-riddle-of-the-sphinx-aloria-weaver

Thanks for looking!

Thank you!!! Lots of time, energy and mythology in this one..

last night I was so tired an I didn't read all your post but saw haw much you worked on composition and haw good the content is, I am going to read it now :)

There is so much unseen work that goes into the final image..hope you enjoy seeing the process!

Thank you so much :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 64742.19
ETH 3169.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55