Inktober - Day #14 "Clock"

in #art6 years ago




I usually do a lot of drawings that are somewhat dark, or even horrifying, but sometimes I like to explore that beautiful side inside of me, it is common to see it in my fantasy illustrations, but this time I wanted to do something completely simple and beautiful.

Yes, I said simple, but the truth is that hair scramble was not so easy; the theme for this occasion is "clock", despite the thousand and one ideas I had, which range from pocket clocks with legs, a clock in a race (because time runs) and many other madness, I decided for the simplest and most beautiful, which I feel says "appreciates time".

Again I have done the illustration digitally. Why? Because I love color! And digitally I can play a lot with it. Also, my two great digital loves accompany me, Autodesk Skecthbook and Photoshop.



Materials:

  • Autodesk Skecthbook
  • Adobe Photoshop



-Step 1:

As usual, I started with a crazy sketch to locate and define my idea.



-Step 2:

Then I have taken a new layer on the previous one, starting the delineation following the idea established in the sketch, here the biggest challenge was the direction that the hair would take, since it occupies almost 90% of the drawing, in addition I have added a black outline, with which I wanted to emulate the ink a little, that's why I didn't make it perfect.



-Step 3:


It's time for the great, give color, this I did in a layer below the linear, so I did not have to worry too much and I could color without fear of getting out.



-Step 4:


Ya tenía un tono amarillo de base, por lo cual lo oscurecí un poco con un tono naranja/salmón, el cual aplique en su cabello, dejando la piel amarilla.
Finalmente le he añadido un poco más de saturación al dibujo, ya que estaba muy pastel opaco y quería que resaltara mucho más.

I'll leave you a little gif with the whole process in it, so you can better observe the step by step.

http://picasion.com/
http://picasion.com/

What is inktober?

The inktober is an initiative created by the illustrator Jake Parker in 2009, in order to improve his artistic skills, although over the years has made a great impact on the international artistic community. The challenge is to make a drawing with ink every day, hence its name, "ink" (ink) "tober" (October), although for the most part this is respected, many other artists prefer to stay in their comfort zone, so you can see illustrations made with watercolors, graphite, charcoal, digital and any existing technique.


Source



Day 1Day 2Day 3Day 4Day 5Day 6Day 7
PoisonousTranquilRoastedSpellChickenDroolingExhausted
Day 8Day 9Day 10Day 11Day 12Day 13Day 14
StarPreciousFlowingCruelWhaleGuardedClock
Day 15Day 16Day 17Day 18Day 19Day 20Day 21
--------------
Day 22Day 23Day 24Day 25Day 26Day 27Day 28
--------------
Day 29Day 30Day 31
--------------

If you are looking to improve your artistic skills, this challenge is for you, you can publish your results on social networks using the hagstag #inktober or #inktober2018. See you in a future post!

Copyright @hadley4

Thank you for your support

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

That is so cool!

I'm not an artist, so I was having a hard time trying to visualize the initial lines to the final product.

I also appreciate the Inktober explanation. I've seen it everywhere and I was just too lazy to look up the origin. lol

I'm glad my post helped you, sometimes I've also come across beautiful drawings and I'd love to know how it was the process to finish those wonderful works.
With a lot of imagination and practice you can become a great artist, encourage yourself to draw, it is very funny and great.

Hi @hadley4! You are doing a great job with this Inktober challenge. I really love this one, though my favourite is Whale ... Both are so beautiful! Please carry on doing what you do and sharing it all with us ^-^ .. Also, I am a curator for the You Got Snekked curation project and this is just to let you know that...:

You got SNEKKED! ;)
Expect a certain Snek to come 'round and give you a bite soon ;)

@yougotsnekked is a curation project!
We aim to find good content, share a happy moment, & some visibility. Your post got our upvote, and we will feature your post and possibly an image from it in our 39th curation compilation if you don't mind! If you don't want to be featured, please let us know!

Also, feel welcome to join our community on Discord! -:

https://discord.gg/VWJxTEz

Thank you very much. I have to admit that I have tried harder in the whale, so it is more colorful and has a beautiful landscape.
It will be a pleasure to join your server and leave my work there :D

Me gusta mucho este, es muy bonito y suave, y los colores llaman mucho. Me gusta bastante c:

Me alegra mucho que te haya gustado :3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62593.28
ETH 3105.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86