Inktober - Day #12 "Whale"

in #inktober6 years ago




I'm left behind! Unfortunately I have already skipped a day of inktober, well I have not really skipped it, I've only been a little late, by circumstances beyond my control (I had no internet since yesterday) and yes, I suffered a little by the lack of connection to the network, but I'm back!

For today's topic (or yesterday), I wanted to give a lot of color and the way to do it is with a bit of digital art, breaking a bit the scheme of the inktober, but when I saw this topic on the list could not imagine otherwise, I always loved the idea of a whale floating in the sky, would be a show too amazing and beautiful, thanks to the inktober I have the excuse to create my own flying whale.



Materials:

  • Autodesk Skecthbook
  • Adobe Photoshop



-Step 1:

I started the sketch quite precisely, the idea was very clear in my head, although I still spent a while looking for the right position for each element. Once I placed each element, I proceeded to delineate it in a new layer, so I wouldn't have problems with the stripes I did before; it's worth mentioning that I did this from my Android with the help of Skecthbook, since I don't have a graphic tablet.



-Step 2:

Then I exported the file and took it to the PC, once there with the help of Photoshop and my mouse I began to color it, first using flat tones or base colors, from them my color palette is based.



-Step 3:


The most outstanding element are the clouds that the whale detaches, if you are intrigued to know how I manage to make them I will give you the secret, the truth is quite easy; with the help of any brush apply the tones of color in the places I wanted, almost always trying to make circular strokes, then I searched for the tool "finger" and with it I have mixed the colors, again making circular strokes until obtaining the spongy aspect of a cloud.



-Step 4:


As you can see, I use many layers, this way I know that if I make a mistake will not damage the whole illustration, also allows me to use effects on each layer. For the grass I have applied the same technique of the clouds, apply colors and then stretch them with the finger tool.
I'm not a lover of lineart for all the drawing, so I have opaque a bit the outer lines and even in some places I have erased them completely, I did not like the idea of leaving lines between the clouds.

Finally I leave you a nice gif with the whole process, so you can better appreciate the step by step, I hope it serves as a guide for your illustrations.

http://picasion.com/
http://picasion.com/

What is inktober?

The inktober is an initiative created by the illustrator Jake Parker in 2009, in order to improve his artistic skills, although over the years has made a great impact on the international artistic community. The challenge is to make a drawing with ink every day, hence its name, "ink" (ink) "tober" (October), although for the most part this is respected, many other artists prefer to stay in their comfort zone, so you can see illustrations made with watercolors, graphite, charcoal, digital and any existing technique.


Source



Day 1Day 2Day 3Day 4Day 5Day 6Day 7
PoisonousTranquilRoastedSpellChickenDroolingExhausted
Day 8Day 9Day 10Day 11Day 12Day 13Day 14
StarPreciousFlowingCruelWhale----
Day 15Day 16Day 17Day 18Day 19Day 20Day 21
--------------
Day 22Day 23Day 24Day 25Day 26Day 27Day 28
--------------
Day 29Day 30Day 31
--------------

If you are looking to improve your artistic skills, this challenge is for you, you can publish your results on social networks using the hagstag #inktober or #inktober2018. See you in a future post!

Copyright @hadley4

Thank you for your support

STEEMLOGOcorto.jpg

Sort:  

WOw I love this, Those colors are really nice and I love the whale in the sky. It’s very mythical and interesting. You also did a great job on those clouds

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank youuuu. You really don't know how glad I am that you liked it :D

Very nice picture, @hadley4 :) The step by step is also explained nicely and I love the idea of a whale swimming amongst the clouds of the sky ! Very lovely ! :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57485.95
ETH 2901.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67