My Sketchbook | The Universe and Dyson Spheres

in #art6 years ago

header2.jpg

I wanted to be an astronomer when I was young. My parents used to have this set of science encyclopedia that I read as a kid. English is not my native language so reading those encyclopedias was a struggle but it never prevent me from dreaming to be an astronomer. But alas, it was just a pipe dream. However, it doesn't mean that I can't educate myself about astronomy. Maybe not the technical and hard stuff but they are thousands of articles on the internet that I can read. Like for example, recently I was reading an article about the Dyson Sphere. So what is Dyson Sphere?

"A Dyson sphere is a hypothetical megastructure that completely encompasses a star and captures a large percentage of its power output." ~ Wikipedia

In other words, a Dyson Sphere is a gigantic megastructure build by an advanced civilization that completely encircles a star to harvest its energy. It's probably a massive structure full of solar panels. Sounds like something from science fiction? Yeah but the concept has been around since 1930s and a physicist and mathematician Freeman Dyson formalized the concept in 1960.

In October 2015, astronomers discovered a strange pattern of light near a distant star called KIC 8462852 also known as Tabby’s star. They wondered if it was caused by a Dyson Sphere made by aliens! But in January 2018 after a lengthy research it was finally concluded that it was not caused by aliens but by a giant cloud of dust encircling the star. You can read more about it here: No alien megastructure around mysterious 'Tabby's star'.

The concept is amazing, isn't it? It's widely use in popular culture; in TV shows, movies, science fiction novels etc.

The universe is vast. There are at least one hundred billion galaxies and gazillions of stars. Personally I think there are other civilizations out there, probably more advanced than us. And I think they have the capability to build massive megastructures like Dyson Spheres or something much more than that. It's mind boggling and beyond our mind to comprehend.

The painting

This watercolor painting is very easy to make. I am using the wet-on-wet technique to paint the night sky by mixing turquoise, ultramarine, purple and violet. When the paper is completely dry I used an old toothbrush to paint the stars. And lastly, I drew a silhouette of a man using a permanent marker. Easy peasy. Give it a try!

Here are the progress photos:

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

Thank you for checking out my post!

My previous posts:

Crypto Art Challenge | Edible EOS Logo

A Tribute Post | Happy Birthday @voltranrex!

Founding Women Get Together Event | How I Spent My Saturday

Take A Peek At My Shoe Art!

My Sketchbook | Waves In The Ocean

Founding Women Get Together Event And Art Giveaway!

My Sketchbook | Sketches Inspired By Obscure Sorrows


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER.

My gifts & merchandise available at REDBUBBLE (international), Printcious & CreativeUnited (Malaysia).

Thank you!


FINALUSE3.jpg

My avatar was illustrated by @pinstory

Sort:  

wow amazing art and like your painting

dear @coloringship, this is really a great painting that ever i seen. This is really amusing. You are realy a high level creative person. keep sharing your skill dear. Best wishes for you.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I like this paint! Make me feel like a child in a room full of stars! Great job!

Thank you for your kind words @noemilunastorta 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05