Athena - sand sculpture

in #art5 years ago (edited)




More mythical myths I have for you now. This one resolves around Athena or should that be Minerva? It seems that cultural appropriation was a thing even in Ancient Rome. Athena was the Greek Goddess and then she became Minerva when the Romans ruled the roost. They had decided to adopt the myths and icons under the names of their own Gods. This has happened all through time as the victors take some of the old stuff and make it their own.

So I am going to call this sculpture Athena as I think it has a better ring to it even though she was made for this Roman themed sand project in Brighton, England.

Athena was the Goddess of wisdom, handicrafts and war. So, in truth a good all-rounder. I was asked to make a super sized version of her sitting on a throne. I like to work quite big so I was happy with the opportunity.



Working on a person this big was a major challenge as trying the keep the proportions looking OK was difficult. Looking at her now I am sure I could do better. Her chunky arms belie my lack of anatomy skills and her hobbit like feet were a sign of me running out of time near the end. I had 6 days in all to complete her. Still, I think she has a certain charm and poise.

I could Photoshop her now to make it look like I am a better sculptor. A little nip and tuck with the liquefy tool would have her looking like Kim Kardasian in no time but that would be cheating.



With her goddess like pose and I dress I think it worked out quite well. The way the cloth gathers and flows over her body gives it a delicate appearance.



Climbing up and down to see how things worked from a distance was pretty tiring and trying to compensate for perspective was another thing. In my defense they say that the camera adds around 20 lbs and she had a lot of cameras on her. I was filmed by timelapse camera for a TV show and that was a bit intimidating as it would reveal all my mistakes along the way. You can check out a clip of that in my last post. Timelapse



On her arm was a mechanical owl. The owl is one of the symbols for Athena and if you know the nineteen eighties film 'Clash of the Titans' you will get my reference to why it is a robotic one.

I think I've dragged this out long enough. I don't really have much to say about this piece artistically as she doesn't have much back story from my perspective. I do like her and working on this scale really gives me a thrill.

Okay, you made me do it.



Wow, that's amazing. You would never have known there was some digital trickery going on if I didn't tell you. Now here is a woman I would be proud to walk arm in arm with. What a beauty! she has a kind of Marge Simspson thing going on and I love it. I should do this to all my sculptures.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Birds and fishes (What happens when it rains) - sand sculpture

Jinny Joe - sand sculpture

Perpetual Evolution - ice sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

At first when i read the sculpture of sand then i felt did you mistype clay as sand then after continuing to read i realized its not. Thats really great. I wonder how did you use sand as a medium. I would love to try it myself too as I am a learner and an a beginner sculptor.
Will wanna see a lot from you. Followed you

Hi @Sirapa. Nice to meet a fellow sculptor. Your work is great. Sand is a great material and the main trick is to compact the sand into a solid block before carving. I have done some posts about the process. You can check out.
https://steemit.com/art/@ammonite/apathy-part-1-compacting-sand-sculpture
https://steemit.com/art/@ammonite/apathy-part-2-sculpting-sand-sculpture
These was pretty large scale project but the same process is true for working on a much smaller size. A bucket with the bottom cut off could be used as a form to compact the sand and my tools are palette knives that you would use for painting.
Any other help I can give you to get started just let me know.
I'll be watching out for you work.

Dude this is amazing! Just discovered your work after your follow. Gonna look back at your previous posts. Aces.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @ashtv. I am glad to find you here on Steem with your video work. Haven't had much time yet to check it out but I like to meet other creative people. Working with video is another of my interests, sculpture is my bread and butter. Thanks for your visit and I will be watching out for your posts with interest.

oh wow @ammonite this is awesome, the detail is amazing and I love the owl companion, great work xxx

Thank you and thank you for your support.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the chunky arms work pretty well considering she's supposed to be a goddess of war, she's buff from all those warrior activities!

The feet are probably a bit big, but maybe gods just have big feet.

That is an impressive size, you would have gotten an amazing workout scrambling up and down to make sure things were looking okay. Not surprising there were a lot of cameras XD

You are too kind. I sometimes really annoys me when I see my older sculptures and my mistakes are so obvious but I have tried to set a standard for myself to put it out there warts and all.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Congratulations @ammonite! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1000 replies. Your next target is to reach 1250 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #606.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Manually curated by PhotoStreem: The Photography Tribe
Join Photostreem DISCORD
Follow the Trail

banner_1-Axe.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29