Birds and fishes (What happens when it rains) - sand sculpture

in #art5 years ago




' What happens when it rains?' The most common question I get asked while I am sand sculpting. My answer is usually the same, like some sort of rehearsed retort 'Not much really the sand is so compact that the water just flows over the surface and doesn't cause much damage. It does dapple the surface a bit but that is something I can easily fix, when I do finish carving I spray the sculpture with a very dilute PVA/ kids glue and that protects the details from drying out and blowing away, it also protects it a bit from the rain' This back and forth can happen tens of times a day on a busy project and so I'm sure you can understand my response but for you, my loyal readers I can tell you what really happens.



This was a project I worked on in Korsor, Denmark with a group of four other carvers. Kirke from Estonia, Sandis from Latvia, Enguarand from Belgium and Kirsten, the ring leading organiser from Denmark.

The weather was very changeable going from moments of wonderful to horrible within a matter of minutes. One moment I was in a tea shirt, the next a coat or rain jacket. I really hate this sort of weather as having to change all the time breaks the flow in work.



There were two compactions of sand, these are the standard way of preparing the sand for carving. Using lots of water and mechanical whackers we compact the sand into these wooden forms. These forms allow us to make very tall structures and double as ladders so we can climb to the top, then the sculpture is made from the top down removing the wood as we go. The compacting gives us a very solid block to work from like a soft sandstone.

Having five people work on these two structures meant that it was a bit crowded at first so I held back and let the others go at it while I tried to think what I could bring to the equation.



The others started by carving each pile into birds and fish and once I started seeing what they were doing I began to create some sort of abstracted net like form in the middle joining the two together. To me this was an obvious connector as you can use it to catch both birds or fish and bring them to land. I think it was around this time in my sand sculpting career that I started to just listen to the voice in my head and make whatever it told me to make. I seemed to be starting to let my ideas be what I made and not just try to make something to please the audience. Maybe they would like it, maybe not but I began to try and make things for me. I think that as an artist you have to be a bit ego-centric or you will never find your inner voice. But, this post isn't about developing as an artist this is about 'What happens when it rains?'



The calm before the storm

About half way through the project we took an afternoon off and went for a little trip to see the local sites. This included going out in a boat to sea to see the Storebæltsbroen a massive multi element bridge tunnel structure that connects Zealand to Funen This allows road navigation all the way to copenhagen from Europe. It was nice to be joined by our good friend Bruno Macdonald a sculptor who lives on Funen and we all had a wonderful aftenoon. But this post isn't about that either, it is about 'What happens when it rains'

So, what does happen when it rains?

While on our little boat trip the heavens opened and it was some of the heaviest rain I had ever seen. It was like the air and sea became one as the clouds dumped their heavy load. To be honest it was scary being in a boat in this and our captain found it difficult to keep sight of where we were headed

And just like that it was over. The clouds parted and all was good again. We were all a bit anxious to get back on wet land and see how our sculpture fared.



Actually it wasn't too bad. Yes, the surface was completely ruined but you can see from the picture that the structure still stood and even the parts that were finished and had been sprayed with the 'Screen' as we call the PVA in the industry did some kind of job protecting the surface.

By the by, those little wires sticking out the top are to stop birds landing on the sculpture, A heavy seagull can make a balls of things.



Of course lower down where the water from above turned to little rivers flowing over the surface the damage was more intense and the natural slit or clay in the sand which is usually the thing that binds all the sand grains together had turned to mud and melted creating beautiful textures as it dribbled down.



where to from here?

I really liked things the way they were. Nature can be an amazing sculptor but for Kirsten she really wanted to have everything finished just like before and so we spent a day getting things back to the way they were and then finished off the rest of our work




I think the whole thing came together quite nicely, the different forms seemed to compliment each other and it really seemed to be reaching for the sky. The rain hit once or twice more but not as heavily and so we had an easy time finishing up.



I liked my little element in the middle. Although most would not get what it represented I liked the fact that it was something but not really anything that took away from the two sides and it helped bring everything into one composition.

No,but, really, What happens when it rains?

Not much really, it can be a pain in the arse but given the right sand it is never much of an issue. Sand with lots of Slit or clay can melt and soften the structure but very clean sand can let it just pass straight through. In all my years as a sand sculptor (putting on a older voice) it has never been something that I can't come back from and to be honest having to deal with this natural element encourages creativity.



clickablesm.gif



Ps

Thanks for reading. I use Steem to document my work as an ephemeral Sculptor of sand, snow and ice, among other things. This will hopefully give it a new life on the Steem blockchain. Below you will find some of my recent posts.

Jinny Joe - sand sculpture

Perpetual Evolution - ice sculpture

Disjointed - ice sculpture

I hope you'll join me again soon
@ammonite

[//]:# (!steemitworldmap 55.332908 lat 11.136484 long Birds and fishes (what happens when it rains) - sand sculpture 2006 d3scr)

Sort:  

I have always assumed they'd be covered when the sculptors are not around but NOW i know for sure the answer to this important question :)

Thanks, Daniel! It is very informative and I do like the netting that you put together between the birds and the fishes <3

Love the write up and love the photos, and love how you keep us on the narrow path to address the question "What happens when it rains??"

Although the other stories seem interesting as well, tbh~

I think I would be the person to ask that question, buy now I don't need to. This sculpture is beautiful x

It is a very obvious question and one which usually leads on to a nice chat. I think it is like an ice breaker so I really I don't mind being asked it the thousands of times

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=ammonite
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=birds-and-fishes-what-happens-when-it-rains-sand-sculpture


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @georgeboya.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Hiya, @LivingUKTaiwan here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made into our Honorable Mentions in Daily Travel Digest #603.

Your post has been manually curated by the @steemitworldmap team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider upvoting and supporting us.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you for your contribution to the crowd. We are the Steem community project dedicated to empowering The Wisdom of Crowds. You can find more about us on our official website or whitepaper and you can support us by voting for our witness and joining our curation trail on Steemauto . We are also inviting you to join Crowdmind Discord server. Don't forget to use the #crowdmind hashtag and happy crowdsourcing!

Hi @ammonite!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.224 which ranks you at #3085 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 147 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hello @ammonite, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57483.55
ETH 3066.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29