You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Athena - sand sculpture

in #art5 years ago (edited)

At first when i read the sculpture of sand then i felt did you mistype clay as sand then after continuing to read i realized its not. Thats really great. I wonder how did you use sand as a medium. I would love to try it myself too as I am a learner and an a beginner sculptor.
Will wanna see a lot from you. Followed you

Sort:  

Hi @Sirapa. Nice to meet a fellow sculptor. Your work is great. Sand is a great material and the main trick is to compact the sand into a solid block before carving. I have done some posts about the process. You can check out.
https://steemit.com/art/@ammonite/apathy-part-1-compacting-sand-sculpture
https://steemit.com/art/@ammonite/apathy-part-2-sculpting-sand-sculpture
These was pretty large scale project but the same process is true for working on a much smaller size. A bucket with the bottom cut off could be used as a form to compact the sand and my tools are palette knives that you would use for painting.
Any other help I can give you to get started just let me know.
I'll be watching out for you work.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55255.10
ETH 2314.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33