A Minnow for One Year

in #anniversary7 years ago


jediversary
Yes, double finger guns are in order. It is, after all, my Steemiversary.

Join me in celebrating my one year anniversary by taking a trip down memory lane.

If you would tell me a year ago that I would still be a minnow after a year, I'd laugh at your face and tell you to leave the premises with your tail behind your legs. I was filled with hope, fully expecting that after a year I would be raking in an average of at least $100 per post and would be sitting comfortably near 70 rep. Well, okay, a year ago there wasn't a reputation system that was easily visible yet (God, I feel old), but yeah, you get my point. I had a plan, and I fully mapped out strategies on how to achieve it. "Locked in" wouldn't even do what I felt justice.

Now, if you would tell me 10 or so months ago that I would still be active in Steemit, I would call you crazy right before I leave the premises. Tail flitting in the wind, but still leaving the premises. I got burnt out and fully quit Steemit. I'm not ashamed to admit that I was ranting left and right near the end, and I was just so fed up with current climate then that I just up and left.

Right before that though, I wrote an introduction post as a last ditch effort to change my mind. As we know, introduceyourself posts have a way of attracting votes and interaction, so I figured if I could prove to myself that Steemit was worth my time, then I would stick around. During my first month, I already achieved my highest-earning post of all time (the record still holds to this very day), thanks in large part to @dantheman's massive vote, so I felt like I've already accomplished a lot. But, all my other posts had dismal performances, so I was still largely disappointed. Sadly, my birthday/introduction post made only $0.27. So, I left.

As you may have already surmised, based from the title and what I've written so far, this isn't a celebratory post at all. But, that's where you're wrong. If you're interested to find out why, then read on.

rewind

I joined Steemit a year ago after seeing a couple of posts my former employer @lukestokes made while marketing the platform. Since I trusted Luke's word when it comes to technological innovation, I read the whitepaper then decided to register. My mistake was that when I did register, I didn't tell him about it. In retrospect, I could've gotten a head start that wasn't afforded to people who started from scratch. If you could talk to my 2016 self, would you mind telling him about this? That would be awesome! Thanks!

I forgot why exactly I kept my identity hidden, but I commented on his posts without him knowing it was me—the Jed he knew. Maybe I tried to make a name for myself? I don't quite remember. Whatever foolish reasons they were, that was the first regret I wish I could take back. Eventually, I did tell him who I was, but that was when I was on my way out the door. I didn't know it then, but that crucial act would go on to dictate the direction of the next year of my life.

We had a long conversation about everything that happened. Out of the goodness of his heart, Luke set me straight and inadvertently managed to change my mind. I say it that way because I had nothing more to offer him, but he still took the time out of his busy schedule to converse with a former employee. That's the kind of guy Luke Stokes is, and I'm forever grateful for him taking a chance on me, not once, but twice. He went on to become a prominent member of the Steemit community, and have even setup a witness account, lukestokes.mhth, who I implore you to vote for.

I came back, the prodigal son that I am, and gave Steemit another shot. That story attracted the attention of Steemit award-winning novelist @ezzy, which in turn opened up the doors to meeting the ever-vibrant @dreemit. I became an active commenter once again, and managed to publish a couple of fiction stories, including my Steemit-exclusive novel, A Day in the Clouds. As much as I want to list all of my Steemit friends, you can check out the roll call of people you need to follow by clicking on this link.

I've had more than 600 votes for one post, more than 90 comments for another, and, for a time, I even averaged more than $30 per post. I found success in joining contests and I've made a bit of a profit by trading cryptocurrencies. Even though I was delayed by 3 or so months, I still managed to carry out my original plan, to some extent.


pause

After all of that, you might ask, why the hell am I still a minnow!? Registering for an account in Steemit already makes someone automatically a minnow. If I carried out my original plan successfully, then why am I not raking in the dough? Where are the banners exalting my magnificence? How the hell is this a milestone post when I haven't achieved anything noteworthy??


HOLD YOUR HORSES AND LET ME TRY TO EXPLAIN!


horse
Image Source

What I achieved is more than what earnings, votes, number of followers or reputation scores could ever measure. It goes beyond all of that, and yet is arguably far greater than all of them combined. I gained perspective, and that's what I want everyone, especially newbies, to gain as well. An edge so that they could get ahead, so to speak, by learning from my cautionary tale.

 
 


celeb

 
 

'Member when I told you Luke set me straight, well that conversation was centered around one central topic: expectations. Yes, that expectation. The root of all my negative emotions, and what I believe is the root of all of yours as well. We feel bad about something because we expected a certain outcome, but was presented with a different reality. Sure, we can console ourselves after by indulging in a wide variety of distractions. But, the fact of the matter is, we were still hurt or disappointed by our expectations not being met. It's alright to admit it. You're human, and your reaction is normal.

You work hard writing your post, spending hours just to make it close to perfect as you can. Given the effort you put into it, you expect a huge number of votes to flow in, but no one knows you, so you comment on other people's posts to get noticed. You make sure to comment on whales' posts trying to get their attention, crafting thoughtful comments so you could stand out. For sure, they would return the favor and leave a comment on your post as well. By now you had already spent hours scouring Steemit for users to vote on your comments, and by your count, you should be well on your way to a hundred buck haul. You call it a day, deciding to just celebrate in the morning. Come sun up, you couldn't contain your excitement, so you rush over to your laptop, fully ready to answer a hundred comments to your well-thought out post. You load Steemit, and then you find that you only earned $0.64, 10 votes and 2 comments.

It hurts, I know. Trust me, I've been there. You then ask why do other posts earn hundreds of dollars with only a few pictures and some choice words. Browsing further, you see a post eerily similar to yours earning close to a thousand dollars, with a comments section so bustling doctors declared it legally alive. Go on, clench your fist and grit your teeth. How could the world be so unfair? What more could you have done? Why do their posts earn more than yours when it looks exactly the same? Well, don't ask me, I'm just a minnow like you. If I knew the secret to their success, then I would be a dolphin, or even a baby whale right now, like most of the other people that started the same time I did.

Breathe deep.

Calm your mind.

When you're ready to listen, the lesson will be right in front of you. (Well, in this case, it will be there after you scroll down a bit. Go on, scroll down.)

 


lesson

 

You don't know what they've been through, or what they had to do to get to where they are. Heck, you don't even know if they worked harder than you! Sure, some are just lucky, and whatever they post turns to gold. Good for them. But, these are the cards you are dealt, so the best thing you can do is to control what you can. Bitching and ranting won't do you any good. It would even turn off many users. Trust me, I've tried and succeeded on that front. Yay, me

Don't get disenfranchised and just upload meager posts. You're better than that. I mean, I don't know you personally, but I believe that you're better than lackluster entries. Stick to your guns, work your way up the ladder and eventually you'll get to where you want to go. This isn't a race. You're in a marathon, up against no one else but yourself.

You might still be saying, "You did all of that, but look where it's gotten you!"

 
When you're at the point where I am, you wouldn't even care about titles like minnows, or dolphins, or whales. For the past 6 months, I've been donating all of my novel's earnings to my nephew, who's suspected as having Autism. I could've easily become a dolphin had I pocketed everything, but I didn't. Also, I don't post as often as I should. I mean, I could, but I don't want to post for the sake of posting. There's nothing wrong with that, you could if you wanted to, but that simply isn't my style. I post whenever I feel like I've written something worth posting. Not that I expect that it would garner a hundred votes and comments, but because I wanted to post it.

 
 

 
 
 

Moving forward, I plan to churn out more fiction stories, to comment on more amazing posts and to support more spectacular Steemians. With a single-minded focus to succeed, I will make it up the ladder and get to where I want to go. After all, I control my destiny. Furthermore, I make sure to leave thoughtful comments every time, so if you want me to vote and comment on your posts, don't DM or comment a link to it. You know what to do.

I hope you took away some valuable lessons about my experience. Don't wait until you're suffering through burnout before you realize that I was right. For the purpose of discussion, let's just say that I'm right, okay?

So, this is me

A one-year old minnow in a sea of dolphins and whales. And, I'm fine with it :D


Oh by the way, before I forget! This was actually my 100th post here, so feel free to crack open that champagne bottle! Also, bonus points if you could guess the inspiration for the title of this post :D

Sort:  

You've got my minnow upvote! Just don't expect it to make you rich.

You are a great writer. Planning on checking out some of your other posts.
I joined in August of last year based on @lukestokes as well. His parents did a great job on him. I was fortunate to spend some time with his dad when he came to visit Luke at university once. He also was a great guy who had a great positive outlook on things.

Outlook and expectations have a huge impact on ones happiness.

Darryl

Oh wow! You know Luke IRL as well!? That's so awesome! :D Great story about his upbringing, I'm sure you're more well-equipped to attest to his awesomeness.

Thank you for the kind compliment! Your comment weighs more than your vote, and I'm so glad you reached out. It's great that he influenced you into joining as well. Looking forward to future interactions :D

Luke has always been one step ahead of me on the computer geek scale! But he is always willing to share what hehas learned.
Not sure if I would have even known what Linux was without him pushing it. Now I only run Windows on my work computer and surface tablet.

Darryl

Don't I know it haha! I used to work for the guy, so I can attest to his prowess in that field haha! I found it awesome that he's so willing to share what he knows :D

Congrats/Happy anniversary pare!

Thank you, pare! As you can see, I didn't take as rosy as a route as you have, but I stuck around. I'm glad I did, otherwise I wouldn't have made your acquaintance. I hope that by next year, you would be making a recap post about your journey from minnow to whale :D I hope you don't forget me when you're swimming in the deep end of the Steemit ocean :D

Oh, and thank you once again for the randowhale boost! These gestures will never be forgotten and always appreciated, kapatid!

No no no...no one's forgetting anyone pare! Let's both rise to the level of whale together :) This support is what we're all here for & also what makes this place so unique ;)

Let's! It's lonely being a whale with only minnows and dolphins begging for support, I imagine. It's always great to have compatriots with you that rose the same time you did. Looking forward to recapping our time as minnows with you in the years to come, brother :D

An incredible post and such an inspired, heart-warming one at that. You have an attitude and logic that everybody on this platform would do well to adopt.

You are so right about "expectations". I've manipulated that philosophy in my mind many times over to keep plodding away with my blog. It can get hard to stay motivated at times but you have to kick yourself up the backside to keep churning out those posts as the name of the game should be "fun". It's just a shame the monetary aspect can somewhat cloud that.

And your advice to all the new users joining Steemit in invaluable. I owe you so much on this platform and only hope you are always here to entertain us with your fantastical tales.

I've recently got back from a short vacation with my wife and the in-laws so I've a lot of catching up to do. Lucky me then, that I saw you've starting posting more stories again. Awesome.

Congrats, man, on being a "one year old" steemian! May the next 12 months transform you into a titan of the seas you so truly are. Bless, man...

Thank you for every single word of encourage you gave me. You'll never know how appreciative I am of that.

To the future, my bro... :)

Thanks, brother! My posting streaks always happen during your vacations hahaha! I hope you and @rea had a great time :D I, at least, want to be a dolphin come year 2, when you're the one the size of a small sea haha!

Words of encouragement are all that I can provide, and I'm always glad to give them to you, my bro! :D

Good achievement and your story is a lesson to many minnows here.

Thank you, my friend! I really do hope that it does help a few minnows out before they suffer through the same thing. I want everyone to have a better experience than I did, and to succeed way faster than I ever could. Thanks for reading! I hope you enjoyed the tale :D

I went through that myself. I felt that same sort of frustration and anger early on, especially because some of my early posts really scored big and garnered some awesome attention. The same thing happened after all the excitement of HF19 died down. I went from average $20+ to about $10. On the other hand, I've become more engaged with others and spent more of my time curating and building relationships with people than I did before.

In large part, I have you to thank for that. You were one of the first people that reached out to me and really gave me a hand. You were the first real friend I made here, and, along with @gonzo and @kryptik, you kept me going and kept me honest with myself and my work. I'm extremely happy you returned, and boy did you return! You came back with a vengeance (to borrow your phrase :D). I'm glad you're here with me again, brother. I have no doubt you're going to make Steemit exactly what you want it to be.

Just don't forget about me when you're a whale and I'm still piddling around in the shallows!

Thank you, brother! The way things are going, I'll be a whale the same time you would, so I'm happy to be side-by-side with you in that journey. I'm sure we'll be whales the same time most of the minnows now become whales. But, the thought of Steemit being a primary source of income is well worth the wait.

I'm glad that I had that effect on you, as it's what I intend with every comment I leave. When I returned, I didn't want to create tiny ripples, I wanted to make tsunamis. Even though that wasn't what I accomplished, I can't complain with the steady progress I've made. I only increased 4 rep ever since I returned, so yeah haha!

Surely your well on your way to becoming a Dolphin!

Thank you, dude! It's a goal, and one that I'm eager to accomplish :D I hope you enjoyed reading the post!

This is a wonderful narration and I could feel both your frustration and positive anticipation.

I think that though we all have expectations we have to set them right so we will be less frustrated should anything goes unwell.

It is but natural to feel envy to those who are getting rewarded better, but yeah, what do we know about them and their struggles to get where they are?!

Congratulations on the 1st year nonetheless... I am quite sure you have your battle suit ready for year 2 so bring it on!

Yes! I'm glad you operate under that mentality early in your Steem life :D Though I would say that I changed my mentality to that early on as well, I still had to flame out and be taught to readjust my perspective before I realized it.

I'm just cruising this year 2. It's pointless to worry about the stuff that is beyond my control. I'm just going to enjoy the ride, and I hope you would too :D

Correct... For me, though steemit in itself has taken a lot of my time recently, it is still undeniable that there are still a lot of things out there that needs my full attention. I am already taking a lot of stress outside the platform, I cannot afford more from here. haha.
So yeah, I think we just have to go on what we are doing. Best of luck on the cruising! :-)

It's great that you have your head on straight! Life comes first always. Some people have trouble remembering that for some reason. Once everything is squared away, that's when you can dive back into Steemit :D Best of luck to you as well!

Congrats on being on steem for so long - I have only been here for a few weeks, but it seems consistency is a big part of it. Some of my posts make $1, others make $200. I'm imagining the average will go up as I get more followers, but it can definitely be frustrating not knowing which of your posts are going to resonate with people are not.

You already have some worth $200?? That's a great start! Back in the rough an tumble days of mid 2016, we really had to scramble just to break past $30.

Consistency is indeed key, and I'm glad you realized that early on. Don't post for the sake of posting though, but that's just my opinion. While the average won't go up with the increase in followers, I sincerely hope that you're one of the lucky few. Some averaged $100 per post during their first weeks, then upped to a thousand when they gained more followers. But, they're far from the average. If anything, only a handful of people managed that feat.

It's definitely trying to figure out what works. Heck, one year in and I still don't have a clue. My advice is to just stick with stuff you feel like you yourself would enjoy reading. That way, you'll stumble upon people who share your interests :D

Yeah, it's nuts, because my average post so far has been around $1-2. That's surprising to hear that the average doesn't go up with a follower increase - my average has been going up a little bit over the last few weeks as I seem to have some people who are reading my stuff more regularly.

I definitely don't post for the sake of posting, because my real name is attached to my account, and I want to be proud of what I post here, haha.

Yeah, it's a sad fact. But, there are exceptions. Here's hoping that you're one of them. Sadly, I'm not, so I'm down in the trenches. No worries though, I'm hanging tough :)

Happy Steemit Birthday, you old fart :)
I can say that as I am still 3 weeks away from my anniversary. Glad you stuck around, and persevered. I know the feeling about almost becoming a dolphin. You aren't there yet, and that is out of the goodness of your heart. But you will get there, no doubt. I was there but sold a lot of Steem to fund my recent health issues. So we are in some type of sync with each other.

WHAT THE! I'm older than you are on Steemit!? That's ... I'm torn about knowing that :/

You know, I've considered you a dolphin even when I first met you, mate. The way you operate goes way beyond what the stats show. If you didn't take that necessary break, I'm sure you would be well on your journey to whalehood by now. It was just a roadblock, and I know that you're on an even better path now. You're back with a vengeance, and I fully support your campaign to regain your lost fortune, brother! :D

No, I started as an itty bitty minnow. Struggled at first, but that's because I had no real direction. Just knew I liked the place. Did get to borderline Dolphin status before my time off, but like I explained I'm back in the pool with the minnows.

Like a game of snakes and ladders. But so glad I found the energy to come back. I missed the interaction, especially with the likes of yourself.

When you already have that Dolphin mentality, it's easy to get back to the groove. That's why I know you won't be a Minnow for long. It seems that you were made for this platform, so hopefully with the momentum you've been building up this month, you would be able launch back up to where you left off.

I'm on the Steemit Highway now. No off ramps gonna distract me now :)

Yeayah! Don't mind the shoulder as well. Shoulders aren't for closers. And you, my friend, are definitely a closer ;)

Nicely said. I'm never disappointed, because my expectations are very low. Of course that means I often stay in unprofitable situations for a long time, but on the whole, I do what makes me happy.

That's what I wanted to preach with this post, and I'm glad that someone has already been living it even before I thought about writing this. I just know that one of these days you're going to get what's due. Before that happens, enjoying the ride is what's important. Thanks for stopping by, Brendan. I appreciate it, dude! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63595.77
ETH 3415.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49