100 Word Story Contest. The Winners - Week 1 - "Sensation". Sensational Reading!

in #100words7 years ago

img

Image: @homeartpictures

The Steemit 100 Word Contest is an initiative designed to generate quality content as well as community engagement and interaction. I am very grateful for all who took part in Week 1 and for the support of SteemTrail. We hope that many more will be inspired to "take up the pen" in Week 2, which will be announced tomorrow, 20th March.

This post will be distributed on Facebook and Twitter to demonstrate the talent and breadth of the steemit community.

With the new 7-day pay-out period, please do visit these Author's works and show your appreciation by voting.

img

Image: Pixabay

⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘

The Winners of Week One

'SENSATION'

⌘ ⌘

Third Place receives 100 TRAIL and 4 STEEM

Sensation by @krizia

“Somebody!? Help me!” I cried.
“Where are you going? Everybody’s bleeding!”
I held Everybody in my arms. Warmth slowly left his lifeless body. His blank eyes stared at me. I can feel the burning sensation in my heart. Somebody abandoned me. It crushed my soul.

“You’re gonna be fine!” Nobody said.
I smiled weakly. Tears poured.
I cried so much when Everybody died. I cried my heart out. I cried until I fell asleep. I cried more when I woke up. Somebody should’ve been there with me. Yet, he left.
“Oh! Anybody.” His voice trembled.
Nobody was all I got.

⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘

Second Place receives 200 TRAIL and 6 STEEM

Dryad Fishing Pole by @chaospoet

My neighbor glanced in my window today
With a whistle he had little to say
You wouldn't happen to have spare coal
Not today I used it to darken me pole

A frown and lines creased his head
Isn't common to weight with lead
Not this one for I'm fishin' for me soul
I have to prepare me dryad fishing pole

Curiosity obvious when he continues to say
Dryad's don't live in water on this day
Aye, and they don't like the average worm
Only a dryad fishing pole makes them squirm

Concealing the pole
He puts on his pants

⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘

First Place 1st place receives 400 TRAIL and 10 STEEM

The First Night by @prufarchy
It was incredible, like the entire world and all its colors had been drained from me and polished to a brilliant sheen. I could hear the padding paws of a dog several blocks away, the whispered conversations of lovers in bed in the apartments above.
Just one little bite and two tiny holes in my neck and, for the first time ever, I felt truly alive.
I bent a metal rod with ease. In a single jump I reached a fire escape above me. I felt like a god, lowercase g.
I wanted to bite the world and share this.

⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘ ⌘

img

Image: Author

Special thanks to @meesterboom for his generous sponsorship of this initiative.

The winning stories will be announced each Sunday and published here on steemit and on other Social Media Platforms such as Twitter and Facebook.

img

The organisation of this contest has been given huge support by the guys at SteemTrail.

If you have not already done so, head over to the SteemTrail Discord server and check out what they’re up to.

You will need an Open Ledger Account which is free. Simply click the Trail Coin and follow the instructions. For a Streemian Account, click the Streemian logo.

imgimg

Thank you from your 100 Words Contest organiser, please follow, upvote, resteem, generally be terribly nice to @ebryans

img

Sort:  

nice post friend

Muchas Gracias!! Some really good works were produced. Off to a very good start. Namaste!

Well done all, great entries all round!!

Thank you @meesterboom, a tougher job than I anticipated and some seriously good works amongst them. There will be some entries outside the top three which were more than worthy. Onwards and upwards. Thanks again for the support. It is much appreciated. Let's get this settled before the next one rolls off the production line! I hope you are having a great weekend. Namaste.

Congratulation for all the winner.

Some great work amidst the entries. It bodes well for the future of the contest. Thank you for your support. It is much appreciated.

Thee are some brilliant stories in the whole entry list. Thank you for stopping by and supporting - it is very much appreciated. Namaste.

I congratulate all the winners! I wish you new creative successes and inspiration. Very good competition, thanks to the authors and support.

Thank you, every little helps, as they say. I hope you will join in with the new one which started today. The teme is "Wilderness". So much scope ... Following you for your fine range of interests!
My sister is a milliner. She made JK (Jamiroquai) hats! Namaste.

I will definitely be with you) I already have 50 words in the contest.https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@inna-yatsuk/eaters-of-childhood-steemit-50-word-story-contest And where can I look at your sister's work? It is very interesting to me)

If you google her, she has all sorts of things in there!
I have pulled out her images for you:
Cozmo Jenks Images
She has branched into cashmere now - so her site has no millinery which is far more exciting. She used to make for LaCroix amongst others. It helps when the Kidd sisters are great friends to get a stand-in model!!

Your sister has an immaculate talent and rich imagination! You have amazed me! I know this well, that only a creative person, with a developed imagination can create such posh things! When inspiration comes to me, I can not be stopped, as if I already see the color and shapes of my product in a magic trance. I think you know this well, only a creative person can feel it.

I am right there with you, @inna-yatsuk, I don't normally show off my family but when I read your comments ... I knew you would be the right kind of person and respect the personal nature of it.
Believe it or not, she was one of two top milliners in London, Phillip Treacy being the other, she barely ever made money. The costs involved in Haute Couture are astounding! Stack 'em high and sell 'em cheap is the only profit machine. She made the hats for Prince Edward's wedding and it took over a year to get paid - that does not help either!! Namaste.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94