Dryad Fishing Pole (entry for 100 word story competition @writing-trail)

in #writing7 years ago

steemit.jpg
My neighbor glanced in my window today
With a whistle he had little to say
You wouldn't happen to have spare coal
Not today I used it to darken me pole

A frown and lines creased his head
Isn't common to weight with lead
Not this one for I'm fishin' for me soul
I have to prepare me dryad fishing pole

Curiosity obvious when he continues to say
Dryad's don't live in water on this day
Aye, and they don't like the average worm
Only a dryad fishing pole makes them squirm

Concealing the pole
He puts on his pants

#100words

Sort:  

Terrific stuff!
You might know this rhyme by AP Herbert - an oldie but a goodie!
"My ball is in a bunch of fern, A jolly place to be; An angry man is close astern- He waves his club at me. Well, let him wave-the sky is blue; Go on, old ball, we are but two-We may be down in three, Or nine-or ten-or twenty-five-It matters not; to be alive, Is good enough for me."
Often used at the wake of keen golfers. Upped and followed.
By the way, its safer to put the 100words tag as the first. Namaste.

Steemit won't let you put 100words as the first tag. Tried. It gives an error saying must begin with a letter. Did you by chance post yours on busy.org? Maybe you can do numbers first on busy.org, I haven't tried that.

Good comment @dwinblood! Appreciated.
I do understand but they will let you put #100words - I should explain that more prominently in the posts - thank you for bringing it to my attention. The fifth tag was managed ok but ... all the same - thank you for the observation. I hope you can see why I went that way #onehundredwords is a little more onerous than #100words!

The fifth tag was added by me putting #100words into the actual post itself. It wouldn't let me type that in as the fifth tag in the tag field.

EDIT: You'll see it right below the bottom image. That's how that 5th tag was added. Honestly didn't know if it would do it first or 5th... hmmm could have just done ALL the tags in the post instead of the tag field and it might have put them in the correct order.

Order of operations it apparently does the tag field first, then the body of the post.

OK, well I seemed to be ok with it - I shall check as to the systems abilities. Again, thanks for your observations - very helpful!

I didn't try putting a # before the 100 in the tag field as I never need to do that with words. Fire up a blank post and type 100words into that field without the # and you'll likely see what I was encountering. Putting a # before it might fix the problem, but honestly I've never done that for that field. I have done it when embedding them within the post instead of the field, but I didn't know the order of operations until I'd already posted or I could fix it. :)

Yeah and in case I confused you. I have two accounts. My @dwinblood one where I pretty much talk about everything, and my @chaospoet where I try to do everything in Poetry, or Prose... my novelty account. It is where I can get weirder than I already am.

EDIT: I remember thinking of the phrase "Dryad Fishing Pole" months ago, chuckling, and thinking "I need to do something with that", then I saw the 100 word contest and remembered. ;)

Well, I am glad it found a home! Thank you for the explanation as well.

Many Congratulations, you have been awarded second place in this week's contest and 6 steem have been transferred to your account. Please contact the guys at Steem Trail to claIm your 200 Trail. They need your Open Ledger Account details.
Thank you for taking part and I hope that you will enter again next week.
Namaste!

Thanks @ebryans. I'll have to see if steemtrail can just do my @chaospoet token on my @dwinblood steemtrail so I don't have to deal with the hassle of setting up two steemtrail accounts. It took me some time to do that last week.

Thanks for the contest... it was fun. :)

Just give them your dwinblood account details and all will be fine, I am sure!
I am glad you enjoyed it - I am enjoying it too.
I look forward to your contribution for next week!
Namaste.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $1.36 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99