๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š You All Have A Superpower ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š

in #yoga โ€ข 6 years ago

Each and every one of you has a super power. Yet it often lies dormant within us because we forget about it - it's a survival mechanism but one we don't use consciously, though if we did, we might be surprised at how much it benefits us.


received_10214977727070162.jpeg

In the seemingly more relaxed yoga poses is where we can test our boundaries and limits and find this superpower. We can safely play with our edges, easing into discomfort, and watch what the mind does. It chatters and groans, reacts by asking us what the hell are we doing? Why are you subjecting me to this? Shift, move, avoid this feeling, the voice in our head cries. You can't do this, you aren't good enough, flexible enough, you don't have the right bones, the right muscles, the right shape. And those thoughts that are arising - memories, regrets, doubts, worries, concerns. Oh goddess let me do anything but endure this.

And then, we remember our superpower, and breath kicks in.

Breathe.

The breath is our superpower, allowing us to communicate with our nervous system. As we exhale, we switch on the relax response, telling our bodies that we are okay. You can do this now - put your fingers on your pulse and breathe in. Now breathe out. Do you feel that oh so subtle shift? The pulse slows on the exhale, quickness on the inhale. The vagus nerve that runs from the base of our skull to pur heart and throat and gut sends messages to speed up and slow down. That is the superpower we all have.

Breathe.

And as we practice this over and over we test our limits in a safe space so that when we are threatened we know exactly what to do because we are storing that superpower reaction in our nervous system, our muscles, our minds. Oh, so this is as far as I can go, I think, without breaking. And let me test this a little more - rather than running, hiding, shutting down, checking out, lashing out with arms flying and tears wailing, can I just call upon my superpower?

Can I breathe?

Try this now.

Sit on the floor, the soles of your feet coming to kiss. Fold forward, elbows in front of shins, forearms where they land, palms up, palms down, doesn't matter. You might even stack your hands to rest your brow upon them, or place a pillow or a block there for support. It doesn't matter how far you go - your body, your choice, your breath.

Now inhale, and as you exhale, allow the gates to open - lips part, the breath let's go what doesn't serve you. As you continue this, watch the body settle. With each exhalation, let the body sink into the earth that will hold you, if you let it.

Now continue to breath through the nose, maybe every now and then opening the gate of the lips to let go a little more. As you do so, bring attention to your toes. Soften the muscles there, that have spent all day holding onto bones. Soften the edges of your feet. Experience the felt sense of skin on the floor, temperature, texture. Move your attention to your shins, calves, knees, thighs and pelvis. Soften the pelvic floor. Soften. Surrender.

Breathe.

Now feel the breath in the torso. Notice the side waist lengthen. The belly expands, the rib cage as the lungs too are an asana, a shape. All the muscles of breathing move with your breath and the spine ripples with it. It's almost jellyfish in its action, a big bellows that expands, contracts, expands, contracts. How beautiful. How blessed we are with the fullness of breath.


220px-Aurelia_aurita_1.jpg

Notice now any thoughts that arise with the breath. That's okay. You don't need to change anything. Just watch them arise, and pass, just like the waves of the breath. There's no need to resist them, or hide, or suppress. Meet any discomfort with the breath, your fabulous superpower in your fabulous breathing jellyfish body, opening and closing, blossoming and softening.

Where are your limits, in this moment? Where are your boundaries? Is it in the body? In your thoughts? Both? Investigate, be curious and gentle and kind with what's going on.

Breathe.

And by doing so, we hold space for ourselves and become something other than what we were. Maybe we are a bit softer. A bit kinder. A bit more open.

If we can do that, then we can hold space for others too, as they reach out to us in their need. Our limits have shifted, the superpower of our breath allowing for space in our hearts, minds, and spirits for both ourselves as others.

So if you are feeling as if all your boundaries have been tested, all your resolve weakened, the lines you have drawn reducing you in some way, just fold into a shape.

And breathe.

Breath is the bridge which connects life to consciousness, which unites your body to your thoughts. Whenever your mind becomes scattered, use your breath as the means to take hold of your mind again. THICH NAT HANH



B2235A50C31CD126067343B513524EE62.gif




ecotrain.png

Want to find more quality posts about helping the Earth and humanity and generally making the world a better place? Check out the #ecotrain and #tribesteemup trails, and consider adding them to your autovoting. Please ask if you're unsure what this might mean for you.

image.png
You can read about the 8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp here

riverflows2.png

Sort: ย 

I found my conscious breath practice during massage school as we learned to work with the breath with Shiatsu pressure points. Every time I had a client I would follow their breath and really sync up to facilitate healing. I felt like I started to facilitate healing for both me and my client. Now I spend time coaching my breathe to my wife and daughter. This is exactly what I visualize when I'm manually breathing and learning to stop juggling my thoughts and react less. They truly pass when we power up our breath by paying it our attention. Thank you for being here :) I followed you for more adventures to come ๐Ÿ˜

Fabulous. Yes... when I do yoga adjustments I breathe with the student. Its so powerful isnt it.. all breathing in time! When everyone sounds an om in class its similiar.. everyone breathing in sync. So special xxx

ย 6 years agoย (edited)

Breathing. One of my favourite parts of yoga & life ๐Ÿคนโ€โ™‚๏ธ๐Ÿ’šโค๐Ÿ’šโค๐Ÿฆ‹

Breathing is the best. So underrated yet so damn powerful!!! I wish I could awake every one I knew to this innate potential we have!!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I love your analogy of breath moving through us like a jellyfish, really stunning imagery. I appreciate this entire post so much, my body and breath responded immediately. Letting go, releasing, softening and deepening into my body was much needed today. Thank you for such a lovely reminder and invitation. Xx

Thanks gorgeous. I love it too.... I love being in a earth based forward fold and feeling my whole torso expand and contract with vital giving breath, prana, chi... so mesmerising and meditative..!! By the way.. I keep meaning to find you on Discord but I'm travelling at moment so never have more than a few moments at a time. You are in my thoughts though xx

You are so right that the breath is a super power. Thanks for sharing these tips!

You are very very welcome ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š

All we need is breathe to feel connected with everything, ourselves and the entire Universe. Thank you for this lovely read, I received it with much love and attuned in. It was wonderful ๐Ÿ’š

You are so right! Never looked at it this way, but it is indeed a superpower. And just like superhero's need to learn what they can do with their abilities, you need to learn (good) breathing as well.

As a sportsfanatic I learned that breathing in a good way can improve your potentials a lot. But from my girlfriend I learned the yoga way of thinking about a good breathing method.

Even now with the physiotherapy a lot of my excercises I need to do with breathing and creating space between my vertebrae by litterally only breathing.

So my compliments by making people aware of their unknown superpowers! ๐Ÿ’ช

๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ™

Its used in so many disciplines but unless yiu are involved in them often we dont really know the superpower of the breath. We are doing a 2 day free diving course starting tomorrow and cant wait to activate more of my super power potential!!!

Freediving now way! really awesome. You're gonna create a howto post here? ๐Ÿ˜‡ Curious to see what your real superpowers will be once activated.

Oh yeah.... there will be a post!! ๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š๐Ÿ’š lots to tell!!

Oh yeah!๐Ÿ˜Ž

Did you like it?๐Ÿ˜ƒ

Yes! Breathwork is THE best tool for transformation and healing. It's ironic that we all have this amazing ability and tool within us, but most people are never taught how to breathe properly, or taught about the immense benefits of breath work. Thank you for helping to illuminate more people about this incredibly easy and powerful tool.

It reminds me of that quote: "Too many people spend their days being alive, rather than actually living"...... So many people are just breathing, but not breathing for health, wellness, and positive transformation. This is one of the smallest changes we can make which has the biggest benefits.

So true. Love the quote!!! Thanks for your lovely and enthused comment xxx

Ooooh boy. That Thich Nat Hanh quote is a good 'un.

I just love him. So quotable ๐Ÿ™๐Ÿ’š

Tuned in, tapped in, and turned on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66541.28
ETH 3559.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.05