Never Before Seen WWII Photos (2)

in #wwii6 years ago (edited)

A warm welcome to all you Steemit folks! Today we have some more nice quality pictures from my grandfather's collection, I hope you will enjoy them. If you are new to my blog you can check out the original post here.

Today I don’t have much information to go on for these pictures, only they are just some wonderful portraits and are taken during the last months of the war in Germany. So let us get right into it!

379FFF70-3A03-43BA-AE72-553B7EB3656D.jpeg
Click to enlarge

From what I can tell this may be the same young man from the truck in the last series, which you can find here. Only this time he is proudly posing in front of the truck with sidearm and cigarette. I would assume that he was the assigned driver and wanted a nice photo to send back home. I would guess that he never saw this picture though, as the undeveloped film was stashed away in my grandfather's things. I spent a long time trying to figure out exactly what kind of truck this is, but no luck. I am going to take a guess and say it’s a 5 ton Dodge but I could be way off.

1897F1B3-807F-4EE1-A00C-A24F394EEA81.jpeg
Click to enlarge

Here we have my grandpa Joe, climbing out of a truck. I can tell that it is not the same truck as the first picture though, if you notice the headlight is not in the same spot and the cab is much smaller. You see what happens when you let someone else use your camera?? It’s out of focus! Too bad, but that’s okay because there are a bunch of really good shots of my grandfather still to come.

080F9F04-A88E-4A16-8E0F-A42B1C40546E.jpeg
Click to enlarge

And finally for today is this lovely German family. I am assuming they are German based on their clothes and unless some officer was allowed to bring his family with who else would they be? They seem quite happy though, yet uneasy, but my grandpa could always make people laugh. It looks like they have been through a lot. Regardless, I recognize the woman from a few more pictures so maybe she lived and worked near the base? Anyone's guess really. It is interesting to see how nicely dressed the children are. I cannot seem to keep my kids clean for five minutes let alone wear anything so fancy without ruining it right away.

Well, that concludes the first week of my WWII photos series, I hope you are all enjoying them. I look forward to writing each post and we haven't even really gotten started yet! I will be back with a few more pictures on Monday! Have a great weekend! Stay tuned this weekend I'm going to try and update my American in Germany blog.

Thanks, everyone for stopping by and please upvote and Re-steam this post! I am really enjoying all the comments and feedback from all you folks thank you very much!

I own all of these photographs so please respect my family history and ask permission prior to use.

Sort:  

Congratulations @balticbadger! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Photos look great . I love old photos in war times. Hey you got through to next round in last man standing. You should make a selection before deadline tomorrow . Only 19 left and you are one of them 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks a lot @blanchy! Glad you enjoyed them. Thanks for stopping by!

howdy there balticbadger! another interesting post with fascinating photos!
I thought this was a great post, good job sir!

Thanks for checking it out, was really fun! I hope you have a pleasant Saturday! Ours is halfway over. We already went shopping and cleaned up the house. Got to prepare we are having guests over tomorrow.

Resteemed to over 19300 followers and 100% upvoted. Thank you for using my service!

Send 0.200 Steem or 0.200 Steem Dollars and the URL in the memo to use the bot.
Read here how the bot from Berlin works.

#resteembot #bestofresteembot #winwithresteembot #resteembotvip

@resteem.bot

Become one of our VIPs for 1 month free resteems and upvotes.

Byteball is doing a airdrop on Steemit, where you can get 10 $ - 160 $ for free. More infos here.

@resteem.bot

Why is my rep so low? Thanks to @resteem.bot
RE: resteem.bot -- No self upvote for this individual:
https://steemit.com/win/@resteem.bot/win-with-resteem-bot-11-08-2018#@marcocasario/re-resteembot-win-with-resteem-bot-11-08-2018-20180811t100953572z

( Apologies for the little incursion @balticbadger : ) )
Reply "@marcocasario SKIP" to turn these off for you. Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50