The Ayahuasca Diaries: Part 4

in #writing6 years ago

Abuela ayahuasca, the vine of the soul, has been revered as a master plant and spiritual teacher across millenia.


Ingesting properly prepared ayahuasca induces psychoactive effects.

You might have an opinion of "psychoactive effects" based on your experiences with (or hearsay regarding) LSD, psylocibin or other mushrooms, DMT, or even cannabis - but in my experience, those do not come close to the depths that ayahuasca reaches.

Acid, shrooms, and other psychedelics can lift the veil on reality, but aya pulls the sheets from your bed and throws a cold bucket of water on you. 

She is not here to fuck around. She is divine medicine and deserves to be honored as such.

I am here to tell my story of deep healing. If you want to know about my first experience with aya, go here. For what happened next, read on:



The morning after my first ayahuasca ceremony, I floated through the jungle in utter awe.


Aya still fluttered in my veins some 12+ hours after drinking the sticky, brown brew the night before. My motor skills were not fully returned and my wobbly legs wanted to walk in circles, but my senses were heightened. The rainforest awoke as I tiptoed back to the main house. 

I smelled sweet, bright fruits and flowers, unseen furry mammals, and rich, clean, soft Earth. Its moist warmth breathed across my skin.

I heard bugs crawling in the soil and on the leaves while the birds sang their new day greetings. Monkeys called to each other from the canopy, and ferns softly unfolded on the floor.  

I tasted the sweet air of a million trees exhaling, stretching themselves after their deep night's sleep. I filled my lungs with the most delicious oxygen on this planet. 

I saw things I had never seen before: the sun shone as if through a prism, rainbows breaking in each ray. Dirt was darker; plants were greener. Everywhere, all around me, the rainforest was vibrant and pulsating with energy.

I felt the radiation of LIFE surround and permeate me; my skin was no barrier to the "external" environment. Waves of electricity from my own cells rose and fell in harmony with the great sea of BEING. There was no separation between us.

My mind was thoroughly melted from the night before, and my body's gentle rocking with the rhythms of the rainforest felt perfect, natural, poetic, beautiful - not scary, not something to resist as I had done my whole life. It was a refreshing peace and calm.

I reached the main house and climbed the hardwood stairs to find my bed, a mattress on the floor draped with a mosquito net. I felt simultaneously exhausted and invigorated. My logic wanted rest before the afternoon's sharing circle, but my soul wanted to feel everything!

I chose to swing in a hammock for processing.

I wrote, thought, felt, and meditated until the Russians gathered, each taking a hammock until we formed a big swinging tribe of wide-eyed, glowing, newborn grown ups, every emotion shining through us.

The shaman, his shamanette girlfriend, and their apprentice took their places, prayed to the apus and Pachamama, and invited us each to speak in turn on our experience.

I felt a familiar chemical cascade of fear course through my nervous system - I had very intentionally not spoken my personal issues to anyone in over a decade. My emotions were too raw and painful, and even the thought of public speaking made me want to cry.

I felt this fear rise up in my again, but interestingly I did not identify with it. I saw the trigger and my reaction, and when it came my turn I said what I had resisted saying out loud for years:

"My sister died."

I paused for what felt like a lifetime while I felt the weight of this. The others waited patiently.

My beautiful sister. Kate. My built in best friend - I had not known life without her. She was super creative, a skilled seamstress and artist, friendly, gentle, and she loved nature. 

She was only 17 when she got bumps on her hairline and her collarbone. She went to the doctor, he said they were leftover from a cold. They got bigger; they looked bruised.  She went to another doctor. He told her it was cancer, and we all cried.

She went to the hospital. They gave her a round of chemo. Three weeks later, she got an infection, her organs shut down, and she was dead.

I thought I died that day too.

I had been broken, oh my god so broken! I made so many bad choices for so. many. years...I was in such terrible darkness, such hell! Oh my god my life was pain and misery and I prayed to please just let me die too...please just let me be with her...

But I didn't die.

Maybe it's because when things got really shit and I felt devastatingly lost and hopeless, I would pray to forces unknown that fuck if I can't die then please let me fucking heal so I can heal others too! Please make this make more sense!

Maybe it's because I found yoga. 

Maybe it's because my mission is not complete.

At one point, Peru called to me and wouldn't shut up, so I got on a plane and flew to Peru. I took buses and combis and taxis and tuk tuks and a riverboat to go through mountains and deserts and rivers and jungles to wind up in a center named after a lost Incan utopia to take a plant on the recommendation of a witch doctor who used it to cure her own cancer.

And it brought me back to life in ways I didn't think possible.

This plant brought shattered parts of myself back to wholeness. She illuminated the darkness. She eased my suffering, answered my prayers, and showed me impossibilities manifest. 

She made my sister's death make more sense.

Ayahuasca told me that I have to tell my story.


No one has to die from cancer.

So I said some iteration of this to the shaman and the Russians, and he calmly told me how he had witnessed miracles too. He came to the Amazon more than a decade ago to cure his own lifelong Crohn's disease, and dedicated his life to sharing the solutions he found for this and diabetes, cancer, depression, addiction, heart disease, and much more. 

Do you want to hear more about them? Please join me for Part 5 of these ayahuasca diaries. 

Part 1 here

Part 2 here

Part 3 here








💛 Sara!

Sort:  

Thanks a lot for sharing this raw process, emotions and the humility of your being with us. It can only help. Much gratitude for feeling this sharing coming through my way and honoured to feel its potent medicine as well.

Namaste :) (((HUG)))

Thanks for your support, @eric-boucher! It has taken a long time for me to put this experience into words, and it's so interesting to see it coming full circle here and now. Feels important to put it on the blockchain for individual and collective evolution.

@saramiller Thank you so much for sharing. Though I do not know you personally I have heard beautiful things about you from @everlove. I also noticed you have some rap ability lol. When I get a chance I am going to send a rap your way. You being friends with @everlove I already know you're a beautiful person. Please feel free to stop by and support a contest I am doing called "Together We Build 3" I am doing what I can in the Steemit community to make it stronger. Thank you and I wish you all the best.

Nice to make your acquaintance, @jr11! giving thanks for @everlove - she is a real angel 🙏🏽
You like to rap too, eh? Would love to hear what you've got! We can even do a little flow
game if you like ;) I'll check out your contest! Blessings~*~

Sounds good, I'd like that. Pleased to meet you too. Thank you and I appreciate it. I will write something and send it over to you :)

I just can't get enough of your Ayahuasca Diaries.
I am interested in spiritual awakening but I haven't had the opportunity to travel and take part in an aya ceremony yet.
I am from Bulgaria, Southeastern Europe and we don't have such ceremonies here. Hope I get the chance to try it and see what is there - deep inside my mind. :)

If you are drawn to ayahuasca, then I hope you get the chance to try it too @alien.nation! She goes deep.
There are of course infinite ways to awaken spiritually, and plant medicines are really helpful but aren't required by any means. I believe that if you truly desire to know yourself and the Universe on a deeper level, then life will bless you with all kinds of miracles and challenges to take you there when you are willing to receive 💛

Meditation has helped me a lot. I just think I need more to heal myself, especially after reading your posts.
You have a beautiful soul and you deserve only happiness, we all do. :)

Happiness is awesome and feels great! The truth is that sadness, disappointment, frustration, and heartache are part of this life too. I believe real self mastery comes from enjoying the full spectrum of human emotions without getting lost in them!

I wish you very happy healing ~ I know it is infinite and that anything is possible! Blessings~*~

Absolutely fascinating. It's a relief to know that content such as this is readily available. Am due to go to Peru for a Trip. Upvoted and Following!

Thank you @thegingerguide! Humans deserve to know there are plenty of options for healthcare, and aya is one of the most significant medicines I know. It's an honor to share my experience!

Divine Magical Truths

That's amazing and even more so because a friend of mine was just telling a couple days ago that he's heard of a Brazilian church here in town that gives aya as part of their services. Seems somehow serendipitous. In any case thanks for sharing this here.

Oh yes, aya is magically synchronistic! Do you intend to partake of their ceremonies, @moneyinfant? I highly recommend ayahuasca to anyone who feels called to her.

I've considered it as I'm no stranger to mind-altering experiences. However, that was quite a long time ago and before I had the responsibility over two young girls. I'm certainly considering it, but not sure when I would have the time as I'm pretty much always "on stage" so to speak. Still, I can't dismiss the synchronicity.

Children in Amazonian tribes take aya; it's even ingested by pregnant women.
Just throwing that out there :)

Muy buena, esperare la parte 5:)

Gracias amigo :)

Para eso estamos:)

@saramiller I feel your euphoria like I was the one had aya. I drink in the poetry with which you transferred the message of aya to your reader. But in all this the following words ring out clearly and effectively for me:

I felt the radiation of LIFE surround and permeate me; my skin was no barrier to the "external" environment. Waves of electricity from my own cells rose and fell in harmony with the great sea of BEING. There was no separation between us.

There is no more immediate demonstration of the healing effect of the harmonious encounter than these words conveyed.

I'm following you because I really want to have your experience. Let's exploit this further, please.

Thank you for your feedback, @sungbojus! I am honored that my experience touched you. This is an incredible web of existence where we all affect one another!

I highly recommend anyone who feels drawn to it take ayahuasca; there is so much she can do, and it's a very personal journey. She can heal the physically, mentally, and spiritually sick.

Awesome. Healing and letting go, that's Ayahuasca. :)

Wow ! this is interesting !! Amazing spiritual treatment !!

Nature is divine 💛

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60896.54
ETH 2918.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61