Open Mic (Poetry) : Choices + Galaxy Art (no. 9)

in #writing6 years ago (edited)

foxgalaxy_re2018.jpg

"The Fox Galaxy"

Artist: Robyn Eggs Photography
Dimensions: 2448 x 2448
Device: Samsung Galaxy S8 (smartphone)
Editing App: Pixlr for Desktop

"The Fox Galaxy" Galaxy Art of the Day (no. 9)
Copyright: January 12th, 2018

Please share. For personal use only. Not for resale.
Inquiries: robyneggsandtoast @ gmail.com
Facebook.com/robyneggsphotography



I have the opportunity to perform at open mic tonight in my local town. I am preparing a post so I won't have to read from anything but my phone. I can't seem to find my usual poetry reading book. It must be at my brother's. I am nervous and excited. This will be my second open mic. Last time was a good six months ago. I get 5 minutes.

The first time I read: Holy Space Juice. It's an epic saga that took roughly 8 minutes on stage to read. Seemed to have a good reaction.

Other choices for tonight:

  1. 1000 Follower Tribute Ballad This is a top choice because it's another long epic saga poem.
  2. Slosh of Beowulf - Short Scene Retelling Just Classic.
  3. Drunken Saga > Ch 2
    Drunken Saga Poems > Ch 1
    Poem about a Saga A real saga with no end.
  4. Skins Ignite - poem Probably more slutty trash.
  5. Wind Do Blow I don't even remember - it's gotta be good.
  6. Purple Joe Poem This I actually wrote about someone not terribly long ago, I admit.

Top Choice(s)

Raw Dark Romance? Nah

“Left becomes the light…”

sometimes i look left
sometimes i look right
sometimes left looks at me and says wait
while right rights the wrongs of the night
steered by higher forces
from the left to the right
i drunkenly stumble home
but something’s just not right

i search to satiate
the feeling in my mind
i look up in question
of the neon, sky-high sign
juice fills my mouth
but nary had I ate any fruit
next my ears fell suit
I could hear them, just south

a plated light beam
cuts through the night
am i having a dream
because this is out-of-sight!
even nuclear fusion
couldn’t have been as bright
and the flavors became diluted
as the light blinked out of sight…

"Aliens" - A poem that loops...

Aliens...
Fires...
Magic wands
The world is full of virtual lands
Dice keep rolling along
As the A-track plays
And flowers sing a song
Around my head that stays
I turn the key
That turns the engine off
And smoke some more ganja
As I take the day off
If only I had listened to Mama
She might have kept me on course
But no, I chose to smoke more
I relish the chance to puff this Jane
And I dig into the bag I scored
But yet, I wonder, forevermore...

Did those aliens smoke ganja too?
I can't remember through all that smoke
If only they hadn't of been there
I wouldn't have gotten far with that joke
But no, they took advantage of me
And the sunshine in my pocket
That I smoked
The fires overtook me
And we flew through the air
Like a magician's assistant
I saw things that were rare
Virtual lands poured out before me
And I scoured them all
Next thing I knew
I was back in the car
My dice balls swinging
And the A-track playing the blues...
"...Countin' flowers on the wall"
I knew what I had to do
I had to pull over
Turn the key off
And think it all over...

ODE TO BROKEN LAWNCHAIR

oh lawn chair
broken and amiss
won't you covet me like I covet you
and tell me of your miss
it was like chalk in the dark
a white against the night
a slippery gooey substance
not to be missed on sight
this image i imagine her in
your miss oh broken lawn chair knight
if only we could discover we were kin
and live on forever as a kite in the wind
a family house
so unique
a proud house
mystique
a questioning house
of drunken debauchery
a luring, lucid, sudden reason
to rid the world of a sizeable treason
wont you tell me of her, finally
for i am questioning if she's even a she…
wait a second,
how do lawnchairs breed???

“Further Metaphors”

A candy is like
a trainwreck
falling ever downwards
when in the street
slippery and wet
behind the chainlink fence
I lay
looking skywards

Two candies are like
a shipwreck
floating over yonder
when on the boat
turned upside down
and beyond the horizon
I grasp
and try to ponder

Plastic Ideals

Plastic Ideals
Bells ring out in the distance
Chiming to a regal tune
Scribes hollar at widgets
Divined to keep them true
But listening to sermons
From puppets and yeomen
Reveal worms and yearnings
And the preachers are nervous
Of the thoughts of which they speak
Because at least the practice
Has brought them to seek
Sermons of plastic, while
Ideals ring out in the distance

Ok, now for the romantic slut trash

And If I Leave You: Part 1

And if I leave you
Will you understand me then?
Will you understand me
If I stay?
And then, there I'll be
Left with the shell of you
To sleep for days
An open pit, a well
Hollow for lack of water
And yet I pitch
My bucket down
Into the dark abyss
Beyond my hands
I pull you up
You linger

Then the sun fades
And the night drapes
We stand there agape
In wonder
You are so beautiful
Under all that moss
And lichen
My forest man
Celestial being of kindness

Sort me out now
It's my turn
Burn
Burn it all
For it burns if I leave you...


Copyright January 12th, 2017
Robyn Eggs.


thank you_robyneggs_by_girlbeforemirror.jpg

Use the "onehumanbasket" tag to get my 100% (real person) upvote.

  • Use the tag "onehumanbasket" on photography, art or other types of posts besides poetry. Posts using both "poetry" and "onehumanbasket," however, will remain higher priority vote, since I wish to curate the poetry community specifically.
  • I also host a weekly poetry dice contest. Official entries to the Poetry Dice Challenge 3000 (PDC3K) will have the highest priority vote. Please only use the "poetrydice" tag for official entries to the contest. Abusers will be flagged.
  • I also curate posts using just the "poetry” tag.
  • Any left-over voting power gets used for highly selective posts that I hope contribute to the "onehumanbasket" feel. (This includes nonsensical dTube videos and my own posts.)
Sort:  

Hi there @robyneggs, so this open mic events you want to perform, is it poetry or music?

Spoken word poetry! :-)

Wow could've taken me with you 😁😁😁

nice...very nice...

Thank you. I decided to read some dark romance. It went over well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97