The multiple interpretations of The Catcher in the Rye

in #writing7 years ago

There are multiple meanings to art, but that's also maybe what is cool about art in its many forms. If it is done properly, maybe it has multiple meanings and paths of communication to the person reading or consuming it.

LITERAL MEANINGS


There may be a literal meaning of a story or poem and perhaps the reader will only get that out of it and/or something else, like a deeper feeling or emotion or something.

Words or instruments or brushes or pencils are just a medium that people use to express themselves. An electric bass player is an artist who simply chooses to express himself, and his creativity, through that particular instrument.

A good example in fiction is the famous book The Catcher in the Rye by JD Salinger. On some level the book is just about a mentally ill teenager talking about some things that happened. But what makes the book powerful is the extent to which people identify with the main character.

JD SALINGER AND THE HORRORS OF WAR



JD Salinger when he wrote The Catcher In The Rye was fighting in the 11 months days following D-Day, which were apparently one of, if not the most deadly and dangerous times of WW II.

Here's a small excerpt from a Vanity Fair article:

"Tuesday, June 6, 1944, was the turning point of J. D. Salinger’s life. It is difficult to overstate the impact of D-day and the 11 months of combat that followed. The war, its horrors and lessons, would brand itself upon every aspect of Salinger’s personality and reverberate through his work."

Some critics I believe say he channeled his emotions - anxiety, depression, anger, in the main character Holden Caulfield. And that is why the book is so powerful and has attained a cult following - not only the book but also the author obviously.

I watched the film biography of Salinger and there are these people who tried to meet him because they thought he would somehow be able to relate to them and they had some kind of special bond with him.

But in a certain sense the book is just about some confused some would say, mentally ill teenager who talks about a particular period of his life.

red strip.png

Thanks for reading my post! I'm a professional linguist who specializes in Academic Editing, Translations, Interpreting, and Copywriting.

I have 3 years of top-tier management consulting experience, including at Deloitte Consulting.

I worked on several projects in the financial and logistics industries.

I love editing Master’s and PhD dissertations. I specialize in MBA’s and other business-related degrees.

I help students get the marks they deserve but often don’t get.

img

I OFTEN POST ABOUT MARITIME SHIPPING, POLITICS, AND LANGUAGES. UPVOTE, RESTEEM, COMMENT, AND/OR FOLLOW ME IF YOU LIKE THIS TYPE OF CONTENT!

signature

Steemit
LinkedIn
Facebook
Website
Tel: +27 (0)73 612 0278
E-mail: [email protected]
signature
Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

all images from www.pexels.com or own images.







Sort:  
Loading...

Congratulations @pjcswart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I'll have to give the book a read sometime. It was an optional read in college, and I ended up giving it a miss. Good analysis... Keep the quality posts coming! Voted up...

Thanks and thanks for following me, I really appreciate it. You provide good sensible comments too. I can tell you actually read my posts. What did you major in at college?

I have a Master's degree in English Literature. I find your posts a good value for the time invested in reading them, to be honest.

Thank you so much. It means a lot to me. I started steeming for marketing purposes, but also want to improve my writing. Why did you decide to go into that field of study?

I've always had a flair for writing. Growing up, it was the thing I did to de-stress. I also enjoy reading ever since I was introduced to the habit in about first grade. It was almost the natural thing for me to do.

And, btw, check out this post of mine coz you are mentioned in it :) https://steemit.com/psychology/@tintiano/forgiveness-is-liberating

Cool, thanks for following me. And thanks for your thoughtful comments!

Wow...great post my friend ..you beautifully analysed so many artist like electric bass player who uses his instrument to express his feelings...
You have an interesting resume... A linguist...which languages can you edit well ... And the msc/PhD thesis... We need to discuss further ..

Hi, what a thoughtful response! Thank you. I can tell you read my post. I can edit English and Afrikaans well myself, and through my agency we can handle any language. Are you writing a thesis?

Just finished my Mac thesis and plan to go for PhD next year... Can I send you my Mac thesis on corruption and institutions in public sector ...

Yes send it to me!

Ok...let's try and chat on steemit...

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 3.7% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @pjcswart
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @pjcswart to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.78$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69590.59
ETH 3887.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73