Marvelous Tales #9 - Jonathan and the Dance of the Leaves (Short Story - Fantasy)

in #marveloustales7 years ago (edited)

forest



JONATHAN AND THE DANCE OF THE LEAVES

The leaf twirled and danced as it made its way towards the ground. Shades of orange and red that caught the sun's light in glimpses filtered by the giant oak tree from which it fell. Branches hung gently overhead, creating a canopy that stretched out from the massive trunk. It was Jonathan's crown. He always had a sense of majesty when he lay beneath the giant branches, easing his way into the grooves left by the roots as they snaked their way out, pointing the way into the forest. He loved this tree and it's comforting presence. But he had never ventured further. Not once in the many months he had been visiting this spot. The forest beyond had remained a mystery.

Jonathan's mind felt stuck, bogged by his muddled thoughts. He had come straight from school. Directly from the world of other people's expectations and dreams. Here he sat, quietly contemplating his own dreams. Trying to remember what they were. That is why he came here, to this forest, and to see his friend the oak tree.

The leaf eased into his vision. Enough to stir him from his mental quagmire. His thoughts relinquished their grip, slowly vanishing from view. His eyes followed the leaf as it sailed in the breeze, descending to the earth whilst manoeuvring its way deeper into the forest. Jonathan looked up at the giant oak that stretched out above him. There were countless leaves, rustling away in the gentle wind. There usually were. Until each fell according to its own schedule. But this one seemed different somehow. More alive and vibrant. The colours sang out to Jonathan, rousing him from his melancholy. Calling out to him. Perhaps that was the wind he heard.

Jonathan, follow me.

The leaf stayed aloft as it sailed on the breeze out from the majestic oak from which it fell. Never touching the ground, it managed to glide deeper into the forest, into territories that Jonathan had never set foot. Away from the clamour and bustle of the city that lay behind, down at the bottom of the field. He stood and stepped out from his resting spot. The leaf gently danced its way into the depths. He could still see it, its golden sheen radiating a path for him to follow. He stepped forward, and hesitated. Turning, he could see the houses out past the park land that he had walked through just moments earlier. Smoke rose from several monotone buildings, spewing out their filth into the air. He was not in a hurry to return back there, back to his own world. He loved it here, in the company of the his friend the oak. But now he was being called, it seemed.

Come dance with me.

He heard the wind again. He ran after the leaf, wanting to catch up before he lost it amongst the forest world that lay ahead. This leaf did not want to fall. It had no intention to lay or rest. It sailed on, twirling around several low level branches, riding the forest's current deeper and deeper into her heart.

Follow me.

Jonathan turned and looked back. He could barely make out the giant oak that had been his resting place. Light filtered into the forest from either side of it, like a spotlight from the heavens. The city was long gone now. He turned and sought out the leaf again. A breeze brushed his cheeks, and swept around his neck and ears. It was warm, like a summer's evening. Summer had passed several months ago, but he smiled remembering the day he first stumbled on this forest. That had been his first day here in this city.

The leaf continued to glide on the forest's currents snaking first one way, then another. It seemed to know where it was going. Jonathan followed it, committed now to the journey. The lush leafy matter underfoot kept his feet comfortable, creating a carpet of reds and oranges as far as the eye could see. Jonathan wanted to stop and lay down, to pull up a blanket of leaves.

Don't stop now.

The leaf called out to him. Or was that the wind, as it twirled through the forest floor, rustling leaves, and stirring up the forest smells? It smelt so inviting, a gentle aroma that teased the nostrils, leaving the taste of sweet nectar at the back of his throat.

The leaf stopped moving forward, twirling in circles out in front of Jonathan. He stopped beside where it hung, in line with his eyes.

A gift from the forest. The water of life. Drink from it.

Jonathan heard the voice clearly. He knew leaves could not speak, but this one had. Several times. It had sailed through the air the whole way into the centre of the forest unaided. There was a breeze here, but it hadn't been that strong. Was this a magical leaf?

This is a magical forest.

He looked out and saw the waters that lay in front of him. A beautiful stream that cascaded gently through the centre of the trees all around. Golden leaves covered its banks, gently sloping down to the clear water that trickled below. He knelt down, knees softly cushioned by the blanket of shimmering leaves, and scooped the water into his mouth. It was unlike any water Jonathan had ever tasted. He didn't realise water could be so pure. It tingled through his body as he swallowed it. He felt it flow though his system, as if awakening dormant parts that lay within.

He tried to stand, but fell over backwards, cushioned by a mound of leaves that lay there waiting for him. Scooping up leaves, he threw handfuls into the air, watching them sail down on top of him. A laugh erupted from within, taking him by surprise. He loved it, it sounded so true. He wanted to keep laughing, to continue to roll around in the leaves, not worrying about a thing. He lay there, unsure about what was happening.

You can laugh for as long as you want to.

He heard the leaf again. Was it still here? There were thousands of leaves now. Which one was it?

Run, and laugh, and dance, and cry.

The sound came from beneath him. From the bed of leaves on which he lay.

Welcome to the Forest, Jonathan. You are welcome in our world.

The sound came from all around. From many different places at once. Jonathan stood up, and looked around. Hundreds of leaves danced in the air, filling the space with a rainbow of golden hues. All of them twirling and gliding as each saw fit, the wind observing from the edge of the clearing, but not interfering. Jonathan scooped up handfuls of leaves from the forest floor and threw them above his head. Each one joined the dance of the leaves all around, refusing to float back down to the ground below. Jonathan spun around, trying to witness as much of the magic as he could.

You're one of us now, Jonathan. A golden leaf free to flow in the breeze.

He ran and jumped, and danced around with the leaves until he could see the light was fading. He wanted to stay. He wanted to be a leaf and dance with the wind.

“Can I come back tomorrow?” he asked, to the gathering of leaves all around.

You can come back any time you want, Jonathan. You're one of us now.

A sea of leaves flowed out from the clearing towards the giant oak. They blazed a trail ahead and Jonathan allowed the breeze to carry him softly with them, the light reflecting off him in shades of reds and oranges. They returned him to the oak, and lay him down upon its roots and carpet of leaves. He took a deep breath, the forest smells filling his nose as the air entered his lungs.

Jonathan made his way out of the forest, as the sun set behind the brick and concrete forest. He danced his last dance over the field that lay at the forest's edge before returning to the other world he knew. He glanced over his shoulder one last time, a montage of reds, oranges, and golden hues all smiled back at him.

You're one of us now Jonathan.


This is part of @playfulfoodie's Marvelous Tales competition. The required words for this week (#9) is wind and leaf.


All images used with permission, and sourced from Unsplash.com.

Thank you for taking the time to read this. If you liked it then please like, comment, and follow

@naquoya



Short Fiction:

Bang Bang You're Dead
I Have No Name and I Must Scream
The Last Book Store
The Judge
The Man In The Mirror
The End of the World [Part 1] [Part 2]
The Locked Room
The Gods of Love and War [Part 1] [Part 2] [Part 3]
Crossroads
Heart's a Mess
Blasphemous

Sort:  

This is so enchanting, mate. I swear I could hear the sound of rustling leaves and the gentle stream as I was reading this. It was just so beautifully scripted, and the timing oh, how wonderful. As one of your most ardent followers, I appreciate how your stories as of late are taking us on a rollercoaster of emotions. From the gripping, to the humorous, to the relaxing. This was a great story to start off the week. With every installment, you're only cementing my admiration for your writing, my friend. Amazing job as always!

Have I missed something though? Why is it already in the 9th installment? What other stories do you have slotted in the marvelous tales?

First up, sorry for the confusion. Not sure why I forgot to make mention of a vital piece of information. I added this after reading your comment, but I will include it here for you so you understand the context of this story:

This is part of @playfulfoodie's Marvelous Tales competition. The required words for this week (#9) is wind and leaf.

So yes I saw this and thought it offered a wonderful opportunity to change the tone from the last few stories. This last week really has been a roller coaster in terms of my styles. I published 4 short stories this week, and each was different. I really enjoyed writing this one, and exploring a lighter more carefree tone. I wanted it to be visual, to play on the senses. I sometimes get a bit stuck on the tell side when the stories would flourish with some show. I know this is one of those rules that is there to be broken, but I wanted to use this story to practice more show less tell, but hopefully do it well.

I'm really glad you enjoyed it. I'm especially happy to hear that the writing inspired a sensory experience as you read it. This feedback is like gold to me. Like shades of red and oranges, sparkling in the sun's rays :)

Ach! Sorry I didn't realize that! I don't follow her because she doesn't really reply to my comments, but I wish you the best of luck in that contest! I know you're going to emerge victorious! :D

Awww I should really step up my game. These days, Bitcoin is the standard and gold has fallen on the wayside. I really need to up my commenting skills to a whole new level.

Reading your stories is always a treat. It's been one hell of a ride as a writer and reader this past week. Your stories have been a huge part of that of course. I really like how you switched up your styles for them.

Not answering comments (especially good, detailed ones) is a pet peeve of mine. I only just saw this competition so I am a new follower. I have tried several competitions in the past and heard nothing from the organisers, so I tend to move on from those people. We'll see. I was intrigued by the opportunity to lighten the tone with this story. I don't think I have won any story competitions I have entered here at Steemit, so that is no longer a concern of mine. I am tending more towards utilising my time here to become a better writer, and make contact with people such as yourself. I think 90% of the writers here I have tried to interact with have just ignored me, so what an you do? Become a better writer is what you can do, so that's my goal anyway. And credit to you for assisting with your feedback along the way.

Oh yeah, don't get me wrong, I'm sure she's a great person. For some reason she just doesn't comment on my posts or reply to my comments. I've seen her commenting on others though, so it must just be me.

You're certainly accomplishing your goal of improving your craft. As someone who has known you for quite some time now, it's been my utmost pleasure to watch you grow. It's my honor to help you out any way I can, though I still say it's all you. I'm just a witness in your journey. It has been great growing as a writer with you, and I'm hopeful that we can push forward side by side for many moons to come :D

What a lovely story! You paint such a wonderful picture :-)
Thank you very much for entering the competition.

(Sorry for responding so late, it's been a busy week and I'm only now managing to read through the latest entries.)

Thank you, so glad you liked it. That's cool about the comment as I know I entered quite late, but very happy to hear your thoughts.

Beautiful. I couldn’t help thinking about all the bugs that must be crawling all over Jonathan while he was sitting under the oak.

I didn't want to write all the details into the story. Leave something to the reader's imagination. And thanks, glad you liked it.

Beautiful! This reminds me of the oak tree that was behind my childhood home. I loved to read underneath it at in the evening golden hour, and this sounds like the perfect accompanying daydream.

Thank you. I love the different autumn shades that oaks and similar trees provide. A sense of fire, but in a cleansing way. Was hoping to write a dreamy piece to capture that mood. Glad it reminded you of similar experiences of your own.

!originalworks --- trying to run around and get some stampage on the awesome stuff out here

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @bex-dk. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @naquoya to be original material and upvoted it!

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Thank you, I've not seen that bot before.

Project of fellow workshopper @unprovoked. I saw it used elsewhere so looked into it. It isn't very strong right now, because it only does a lower vote power because of the volume, but it is getting stronger in the future. So we can run around and invoke it on content we like... it verifies the text is sufficiently original and upvotes.

Sometime back there was a short film called The Red balloon. It is about a young boy in Paris who finds a balloon Tangled on a Lamppost he releases it and then the balloon begins to follow him around, they become friends and discover things together. Your story has a similar plot but instead of a balloon following a boy yours is a boy following a leaf. Nicely done you told a good story of discovery.

Thank you, happy that you liked it. The Red Balloon sounds intriguing also. I was going for light, slightly whimsical, but with that discovery you mention - self discovery, as expressed through that which the child finds a connection with.

wow , you have a very good collection of short fiction stories , I will read them all one by one .

I am a writer too and a photographer

I am new to steemit.

Welcome to Steemit. Thank you for your comment. Yes, there are a few short stories there, various styles. Hope you like them (or some of them even).

Do you write fiction also? I will drop by your page some time and have a look.

All the best to you.

That would be really helpful for my blog , My content dont get proper views , but its fine , I need more time I guess.

Time and perseverance. Even after 1 year here I still don't get a lot of views. But the people who do read my material are a great audience - very helpful to me with their comments and feedback.

Because I value growing as a writer more than making big $ on Steemit then that is very valuable to me.

Thats what I am looking for , a good audience.

Magical (the happier side :) )

Yes, a lot of magic here in this story :)

Forests are my church.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by naquoya from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

You have some nice imagery in this! Good luck!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64385.89
ETH 3510.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54