I Laid By Grandpa | An Original Fiction Story

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

DQmY1okJCXjVwCaqfKqoBdU6Bf7tq7oYgsB2YznKxEzb92a_1680x8400.jpg


The harmattan was the gasoline my childhood flamed on. Apart from the chirps of the cricket in the house corners, and the chilly dry wind that meant I could wash my school uniforms and wear same to school one morning, harmattan coincided with the time of the year we will visit my grandpa.

I would sit on the petrol tank of my dad's CG-225 double silencer motorcycle while my mum sat on the back. Among the many privileges of being an only child, my dad will grant my wish to man the motor bike horn on our 15km journey to our family home. So I blasted at the other vehicles, humans, every sheep, masquerade or grasshopper. I was on my way to see grandpa. I will threaten my father I'll report him to his father whenever he thought I blared in excess.

The endearment went farther back to when I was born, I learnt. Grandpa called me Ekpri-Bartholomew. Little Bartholomew - after his adopted Christian name. I recall naming all of grandpa's goats. I will go with him to the village hall and play with the other children while grandpa taught the villagers in an extension programme he volunteered for.

I remember many years later when I was old enough to get into real trouble.

“I bailed you thrice,” I overheard him say to my dad in a stern whisper.

“He has made a mistake. We all do. That doesn't mean you should throw him out to be perched on by the vultures.” My dad stormed back to his Peugeot 504 where I waited for him and drove off. I saw grandpa wave at me. I couldn't wave back for fear it'll irritate my dad.

When I decided to move to take up a job in the city 600 miles from grandpa, it was a tough news to break to him. By now his skin was getting visibly wrinkled. He didn't move as swift as he did a few years back. Grandpa gave me his Kieninger pendulum clock that was two times as old as I, and the most valuable possession he had at some time in the past. He told me he wasn't feeling too strong, but promised he will wait for me to come back and tell him I settled fine in the city.

But eight years passed I didn't see my grandpa and didn't hear from him much. Responsibilities of work, a wife and two kids widened the gap. I lived with the guilt of not keeping my end of the bargain. It was me who didn't wave back.

When it finally got to my turn to choose where the family will spend our vacation, I announced we were going home.

I had been away for too long that the house seemed to contract. Grandpa's voice was now very weak, much like the springs that supported the foam of his well worn reclining chair. That evening we had dinner beside the cherry tree outside his home. The harmattan wind razed, the bamboo whispered, sounds of children playing in the distant played like a muzak. Grandpa attempted a few folktales before his cough won over.

I directed Ijeoma to retire to my room with the kids, while I led grandpa to his.

I squeezed into the 12-spring bed and laid beside old man Bartholomew. I curled into a foetal pose so the bed could contain my 6’3” frame. I held grandpa's palms and asked if he was fine. They felt smaller, cold and drier. Apart from those changes, everything else remained the same. Soon he started to let out a tired snore like there was a bagpipe inside his ribs.

Then I stealthily stood up. He moved. I paused. When he was still again, I started to the door, walking on my toes. I held the door knob as silently as I could.

“Greet the kids for me,” came grandpa's tired voice.

"You are going back tomorrow." As if to remind me. As if to know if I had changed my mind.

I said goodnight knowing it may have been the last night I could lie by grandpa.


This story is a fiction entry to @gmuxx's contest, and is inspired by my interpretation of @yusaymon's painting.
Image credit: @yusaymon

Sort:  

Good piece brother, oh so got me all nostalgic. I am already thinking of my grandpa of blessed memory.

Thanks, bro. Just start blogging, man. This community will be warm towards you.

This got me right in the feels, you have an amazing way with words

It was me who didn't wave back.
Grandpa attempted a few folktales before his cough won over.

and the ending...wow you're words brought a tear to my eye.

Powerful stuff my friend.

Brought tears to my eyes! Beautiful piece...a reminder I too must return home. Cherish my memories and create new ones before the clock should stop.

Sad and beautiful. Great writing keep it up:-)

This is beautiful and made me a tear up a little. I wasn't lucky enough to know either of my grandfathers, one died before I was born and the other before I was old enough to remember. You have a real gift with words. Much love - Carl

I am with you on this one @carlgnash,
I never knew either of mine,
only as little photographs, sometimes hidden away.

One was dead before, and the other died soon after my birth.

This story makes one tear up whatever the situation personal.

A lesson in that for all of us, I think!

The more personal we are, the more universal our message.

I have heard that and think it's true.
much hugs many love

Aww. Thank you for reading me. It means a whole lot to my struggle to create. 💖

I hardly read fictional stories, but this was impressive bro, i am still new here on steemit kindly check out my posts I need your support guys plus I just followed and upvoted thanks.

AMAZING --------->REESTEEMED ;D Followed too ^ ^

Wow
I read this several times
Have u written many books?

😀 The boss! Not yet. Once I feel ready I'll look for the discipline. Lol. Thanks for stopping by.

I know how you feel with not "keeping your end of the bargain." At happened to me also. My uncle did live far away from me, but making a promise and not keeping it is one of the worst feelings for me. At least you got the chance to see your grandpa. I did not. As he passed away two years ago and I did not have a chance to see him again. It is one of the regrets I will have for the rest of my life. I was busy with life, but it is no excuse. I should have visited way more.

Great post my friend. Enjoyed reading about it. :)

Thank you for reading it. I really appreciate. Sorry about your uncle. But you need to forgive yourself. Sure he would want same for you.

You are more than welcome. It was a great read. I am sure he would, and you are absolutely right. :)

I'm following you! 😎

Great piece!! Ekpri Bartholomew eyen grandpa.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 65139.82
ETH 3206.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.16