Five minute free write - Picture prompt

in #writing6 years ago

ALC 4.jpg

Another day another Five minute free write

Brought together by @mariannewest. Today's prompt was something I haven't worked with before, an image. The piece was a picture of a man walking down a disused hallway with a flashlight, look of concern on his face. So, I decided to run with it in my normal, dark, direction, hehe. Like I've said over my last several posts, I'm working on the whole fiction aspect of my writing. Getting used to using my imagination against, dreaming of other things, not just those I've experienced.

It's definitely not my best piece, but when trying new things they so rarely are jewels. I guess that's the fun and challenge of it. The whole reason people come together in a community like this. To try something new and see what people think. The more you do the same thing, the more you get stuck in that rut, the harder it is to get out and grow.

So, before I get stuck in some deep philosophical rut

Here is what I wrote on the killer Most Dangerous Writing App. Not for the weak of heart, hehe.


The rain came in unending torrents

Soaking through what little protection he wore. Wind threatened to lift him to the heavens with each gust that tore like knives into every unexposed surface. It stood in front of him. Long unused, dark, tales untold hiding within it's walls.

He was searching, seeking, looking for the one they had taken from him. Days, weeks, months, he'd been on the road. From clue to clue, place to place, and in the end, it had brought him here.

The door was stiff, the knob refused to turn. Putting his shoulder into it cracked it a bit, enough to squeeze through. Drenched, breathing hard, he came into the entryway.

Open, dark, smelling of old things and dead things.

The building shuddered, again and again. The storm outside refusing to give pause.

The batteries in the light worked. 'Thank god,' he thought to himself. Shucking off his soaked coat, he looked around.

Where could she be? Why would they take her here? To what purpose?

Why had any of this happened?

There was no answer, at least none that he could discern after all those miles, all those people, yet they had taken her.

But who were they? Dark, mysterious, seemingly with no purpose.


I wonder what was about to happen...where exactly was he...who was she...who were those people that had taken her...and is it too cliche to have a story like this set in a rainstorm?

I'd love to hear what you think. Thanks for stopping by and reading! :)
Michael

Similar Posts
Five minute free write - Dreams
Five minute free write - California
Five minute free write - palimpsest

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing! You're really a great writer. You should consider entering some short storie contests.

Check out my response to today's #freewrite and make sure to upvote/comment! I wrote a creepy tale about a man going back to a childhood spot to find something lost by his brother.


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-112-picture-challenge

Do you have any short story contests you'd recommend?

You say it's not your best, but I would consider this a pretty good one myself :) It's straight to the point, draws you into the plot. The fact it's as thought we have come into the story "after the fact" we swiftly feel the sense that we are joining something clearly in motion; with a purpose :)

Yeah, you don't have much time with 5 minutes to develop something, so I figured getting you into the action would be the best idea. Just gotta learn how to speed stuff up, hehe. Thanks for your kind words :)

Well the short time frame not withstanding, you did an admirable job with it sir :)

It's not too cliche, it is just the right amount of cliche :) well, kidding with you there a little, sorry but I couldn't help myself :)
This was good, I like it how you managed to describe one scene, in who knows how large of a story, in so details. Nice!

Hehe, nothing wrong with cliche...right? I mean, that's the stuff everyone recognizes and goes along with easiest :) Thanks for stopping by again :)

This was a very good fiction piece from that prompt. I love to see where different people go with one photograph!
You truly right into the story and now I wonder, Who is he seeking? Why is she missing? Oh, this may get scary!

Muwahaha. Now that might be an interesting writing challenge. Continue off of someone else's five minute free write. Like a game of telephone...hmmm. Maybe bring this up with @mariannewest as a potential addition...

That is kind of what the We-writes were all about. At least the option 3. Certainly is something we were planning on doing ever so often....

Ahhh. How do I keep on missing this stuff in your posts. I swear I'm reading them. lol.

The more you do the same thing, the more you get stuck in that rut, the harder it is to get out and grow.

I SO agree with you here!!

Now let's talk about you not thinking this is a good piece of writing!!

<shouting> ARE YOU on DRUGS?

<back to my normal sweet voice, kind of> Uhmmm, if you think this is bad and you wrote it on that freaking App I would LOVE to read some fiction that you think is better then this that you have written!!!

You had everything in here, all in 5 minutes and you dragged me into your scary story. I'm not sure what more you want of yourself.

So that's my mom advice for today. LOLL

Now suck it up and realize that even when you think a story is not up to your standards, people like me LOVE it!

hugs

Lol, you rock. And, no, drugs don't start until the sun goes down ;) Thanks MOM :P

Welcome and now you may go do your drugs......just not the scary ones.......just the happy ones LOLLLLLLLLLLLL

Exactly! Me and Mr. Green. That's all I need or want.

Oh, nice and creepy!!

Hehe, thanks :)

Very nice story, but I think that you should be required to fix my door since you didn't find any kidnapped women there or anything. Classic breaking and entry, yep, if you're going to leave me hanging like this you should have to pay up lol. 😉

Lol. Let's just say I'm a fan of H.P. Lovecraft. That should give you some endings to work with ;)

I'm hopping from Freewriter to Freewriter dropping the prompt for the day!

Day 113: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: ski

Hehe, thanks! Going to be a tough one for me. I'm a snowboarder.

well then I really think you need to add the prompt: dead Zombie also to your freewrite story LOLL

Dare Ya!!

You have such an evil streak - who knew???? 🤪

HAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA :D Shhhhhhhhh don't tell anyone LOLLL

Yeah, zombies...I like that! :) lol. man, I can just imagine all the gory details I could describe. Spend five minutes just describing one.

Like a cat. Super cute and friendly, yet always plotting your death. :)

Life, death, Zombies............ works for me LOLLLLLLLLLLL

and Thank You for the compliment!!

Have some confidence! ;) I thought it was great! So descriptive and it kept me interested and wanting more! Great job!

I shall try! :) Thanks for your kind words. Bit by bit, grinding my words from blunt instruments to sharp points.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67333.38
ETH 3247.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65