Five minute free write - Dreams

in #writing6 years ago

My flower 5.jpg

Another day, another Five minute freewrite

Held by the amazing @mariannewest. Today's was dreams. I smiled when I saw this prompt. I slept like crap last night, mind filled with an energy that refused to let me rest properly. Also, I was sore as heck from a martial art I recently started. A combo that doesn't make for good sleep.

But, I smiled because last night despite all that, my dreams were filled with a drive I haven't felt in a while. I caught glimpses of what could be, if I just hung on for another day. Sometimes my mind shows me my deepest desires, which hurts like you couldn't believe because they feel so far away. But, last night my mind was kinder and revealed a potential path and not just the end result.

Usually I write along more somber lines, but I think I caught a more positive vibration today. I hope you feel the same way. Either way, I always love to hear what you think :)


Mist floating through your mind as eyes slowly open.

A thin tendril of what was remains shadowed in your brain. The merest of memories wagging it's tempting finger at you. But, you know if you try to follow the same path it will only lead you to a different place.

In the realm of nod we are free. Free to be who we want, what we want. Go where we will, do what we wish. The only catch is that we have no control. The double edged sword of going to a place where we have complete control but yet are not in control.

It's a part of our brains that we know intimately

That fuels our journeys into that magical place. We feed it everyday with our lives. Each moment driven deep into the cores that will later serve as the base for our nightly adventures.

The more we do, the more we see, the more we think, the farther we can go. Explorers in a realm of our own making. For better or worse, it is in many ways up to us to decide.

How we spend our time feeding that thing that will take us into the wonders of our own mind. Positive, negative. Hopes. Fears. To it they are all the same. It has no opinion on what it eats. It only knows where to take us based on what we give it.

Will it be a monster that takes us to terrifying depths. Or an angel that swings us high into the clouds.


I hope you enjoyed reading today's free write as much as I enjoyed writing it.

Like I said, I'd love to hear what you think. I'm always trying to get better and figure out how to put words together in a better fashion. Written in the dreaded Most Dangerous Writing App

Hope everyone has an amazing day!
Michael

Similar Posts
Five minute free write - California
Five minute free write - Yard Sale
Five minute free write - palimpsest

Sort:  

Thank you so much for sharing! I really enjoyed the mini-intro to your #freewrite. Keep on writing! Also, I'm curious to know what the dream was about and what potential path you may have discovered! Maybe a Steem post about that is in order

I'm going to leave a link to my response today's freewrite. I'd love if you read and responded in the comments =)


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-111-dreams

Hehe, I might just have to write something about the energy I gained from last nights dreams. I may have already looked at your post, but if not, you can guess where I'm about to head ;)

Great writing dude hope everyone will like it.you are good writer.keep it up.go ahead

Thanks! :) I'll do my best to keep it up, hehe.

Well wrote flow of words expressing the train of thought you had about the subject, graceful and stylish in your own way

Hehe, 'graceful and stylish in your own way.' Awesome words. Thanks for reading :)

I really liked the concept of this write. It vibes with neurology. You say that we have control, yet we have no control. This is explained well when you say that it processes what we feed it. So we are in control in that aspect.

Yeah, it's weird how our mind works. We have the control of what we give it, but not necessarily how it processes it. Thanks for stopping by and reading :)

I didn't want it to end. Yes, you got a little of your positivity back. Slowly, you are making progress. 💚
The part that was the most impressive to me was the double-edged sword.

Slowly, ups and downs, forward and back. I don't think there's a cure, only a strengthening of oneself and hopefully an understanding.

With a fear of sounding too mystical... There is no cure for being you. I hope you understand me. It is ok not be ok, but it is not ok to want to be not ok. Did I lose you? Not yet? Keeping up? Good. When you want to be not ok you are not ok, and when you want to be ok, you are.
Wanting to be ok is good enough, it starts with that, just an intention.

How true so much of this is! And I loved the phrase in the dream of nod we are free! Excellent freewrite!

Thank you! :) Free writing is such a crazy exercise...you both have to relax your mind so that the words flow, yet be so focused that only the right ones do... weeeeee!

FAB freewrite!!! Your dream must have really been a great one!! funny how dreams can make you have a great day or sometimes bad!! Mine always help me figure out why certain things have happened.

Great freewrite and thanks for sharing it!!!

Thanks for stopping by and reading! :) Yeah, dreams are weird in that they straddle both the realms of reality and fantasy, but not one we control. Like a computer given free reign to calculate whatever it wants, hehe.

Wonderful imagery! I hate it when my mind is like that and won't let me sleep! I had a night like that last night myself.

Great freewrite!

I’m also helping out with prompt delivery today! If you want, here is today’s #freewrite prompt

@byn

There are ways to make it sleep, both natural and unnatural. Gotta do what you gotta do to get through some nights.

Thanks for stopping by and reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 55450.66
ETH 2943.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.07