Five minute free write - California

in #life7 years ago (edited)

A Smoke Hike 3 63.jpg

Another day, another 5 minute free write

Brought together by @mariannewest. The weather has shifted from its normal lovely and sunny to a more gloomy overcast, which I think may have influenced my writing a bit, hehe. I actually wrote two versions of this exercise today. The first one, this one, I liked, but felt it contained a bit too much of gloom to it, so I wrote another one.

California to me is many things. The struggles I'm going through have made my senses quite keen and I'm always watching. This state is truly an amazing place filled with amazing people but...well, I'll let you read to get a feel of the different facets.

So, without further ado, my Five minute writing exercise written on The worlds most dangerous writing app


A place where dreams come to die and where nightmares come to life.

Hills ablaze, coasts awash with ichor, people flock to this place lured by the intoxicating aroma of success. Fooled by the easygoing and chill,but below the surface lurks a truth that cannot be denied.

To be here, you must want to be here. This place is not for the faint of heart. It demands your all. Dream big, dream of what might be, dream a dream that outshines all others. Be yourself, do what you want, there are no limits here.

A paradise, to be sure, but one that must be earned. Those who live here will take you to your limits and far past what you ever thought was possible. Live or die, no one notices. Only success is seen and everyone else fades off into the distance.

Do you know who you are, what you want?

It will show you. And you might not always want to see what was hidden in the shadows of your mind and soul.

Do you have what it takes? To walk the streets of paradise. To bath in the warming sun, to drink it's glorious life? There is no rest, no relief, only the path you must walk to stay in this place of dreams and nightmares.

Beware, you come here to live the life you've always wanted, but may end up dying a death you've always feared. Success, failure, it all depends on you in this place.


Hope you enjoyed this quick free write. And, as always, would love to hear what you think. :)
Michael

Similar Posts
Five minute free write - Yard Sale
Five minute free write - palimpsest
Five minute free write - Yesterday

Sort:  

Very powerful #freewrite. I love your writing style. Great diction and syntax. I think you painted the picture of what California represents (and what it is). I'm going to go check out your 2nd #freewrite for this prompt right now!


I'd love if you checked out my #freewrite for today's prompt "California"! Let me know what you think in the comments!

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-110-california

Thanks for the read! :) California is sunny...but there are many shadows here that people tend to forget about or not really talk about.

Woah. I can see how that’s some people’s truth.

All depends on if you get lucky or not. Hard work seems to be the smallest piece of the puzzle here.

Wonderful, gave me the chills and reminded me a little of my freewrite on California. I think we were on a similar page :)
Thank you for sharing this with us 💚

Hehe, there seems to be a lot of similarities among the people who did this focus.

Hey brother. Nice! As I read your artfully written piece my mind went to a friend of mine who spent some years there. A crazy good graohic artist and musician who was riding the dragon to the top. He told me of the bright lights of success he experienced but the darkness is what has stayed with him. The price he paid was more than he had to give. He still gets calls from LA and NYC but even now resists. He says he ended up pimping out his love, his art, and lost himself. But his nature is sensitive and trusting which is the basis of his talent. My guess is that won't last long in those worlds. Peace brother

I think you pretty much summed it up. Gentle of heart and soul in a quest to create something beautiful and memorable pulled down by the city, corrupted. My ability to interact, trust, be around people, has definitely been wounded, severely. Yet I wonder how others are able to succeed and still keep themselves whole?

People around me say the world is only what I make of it, but as a positive person I really do question that philosophy. Hopefully with amazing people like you and others in the Alliance I'll be able to find the right place in the world for me :) Even if the crypto market craters, lol.

You have soul. And you also have an artful way with language. I think you will find your place brother, one well crafted phrase at a time.

Hehe, you rock. And after that Sunday chat I can read the words in your voice, lol :) I hope so. And hopefully soon...

I liked that. Makes it all feel more alive. That there is a real person on the other end of this digital divide. Peace brother.

That my friend is indeed the truth! I suppose it is that way anywhere in the United States, but it is much more pronounced in California. 😎

Yeah, I guess in a way people feel they need to be. Zero-sum thinking and all that. In order to be a winner there doesn't need to be a loser, but people out here...

i live here too, and for me its funny every few years i realize im living for a different reason in LA. I tend to leave after a year and live in a different area, ive lived in all the cities here pretty much. But great perspective. YOU have to be THICK SKINNED to survive here.

Hehe, yeah, thinking about where to live next since my goals in life have changed a bit in the last couple years. Life is an adventure, just need to realize when it's time to turn the page... :)

Interesting. I guess that is true in some places in CA - but so not in others :)

I agree 100% LA just seems to be the focal point of the yucky stuff. I still love CA as a whole :)

A really interesting take on California. I don't think I'd have what it takes! I'll have a look at your other post as well.

It's your friendly freewrite encourager here with today's prompt;
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-111-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-dream

It's tough. But it's not just about that. It's about being a certain kind of person. And, after almost 3 years, I don't think I am. We'll see where the next several months take me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61852.16
ETH 2402.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60