SILVER LINING #11

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

This is a complementary series for the Steemit-exclusive, original novel A Day in the Clouds. Be sure to check out the latest chapter before you read this post to avoid spoilers.


<< #10

chapter_11809e8.png

This photo was provided by Ledd/Zepp's real-life mom (and my cousin) Thiella (aka Mamie)

Hey, Cloudheads! How was your week? Through every hardship, we need to stand tall and soldier on. Lots of references to cover here, but I would first like to give a special shoutout to my bro @verbal-d! He just recently caught up with this story, and he blitzed through it like a champ. You may know him from his lyrical rhymes and silky smooth beats, but he's also a loving husband and a dedicated father. To that end, he has created a song for his daughter @happyharmonymay which I think is one of his best songs to date. Please support him by transferring to his account, and please re-steem his latest entry. Let's make him trend so that the walls of Steemit would echo the greatness of @verbal-d!


EDIT!

So, my bro, @verbal-d surprised me with this wonderful melody that serves as an accompaniment to every chapter. I'm not gonna lie, this gesture really brought tears to my eyes. The wonderful melody coursed through the entire fiber of my being. It really captured the essence of this story quite perfectly even though @verbal-d still hasn't read the entire thing. Truly a masterpiece that I shall cherish for my entire life!

Have a listen to it here: https://steemit.com/originalmusic/@verbal-d/m-m-m-29-sliver-s-edge-of-ledd-s-silver-lining-collaborative-art-journey-with-everlove-original-beat

Upvote, resteem, make it trend and donate to my bro @verbal-d! Mind you, this was done without my knowledge and without any compensation :'D


Second thing I wanted to address is the relationship between Ledd and Teten. In real life, they're siblings with an 8-year age gap, I think. Around that range. Considering Zepp's special needs, Kirsten has taken on a huge responsibility of looking out for her little brother. It's hard for such a young kid to do so. I should know, since I'm the elder of two siblings. So, I just wanted to take this moment to commend her for doing an excellent job. Apart from taking care of her siblings, she's also averaging in the high 90s in school. And, not just any school, one of the premier science institutions in the country. There's a bright future ahead of her, and I wish her all the best.

In terms of the fallout from Zepp's running away, I don't really want to get into the details, but I think you can surmise what the reaction towards Kirsten was. Everything turned out fine, but emotions were high at the beginning. This was something I had a firsthand look at, since I stayed for a couple of nights during the fallout. When something bad happens everyone is affected, and no matter if someone didn't really do anything, the negative emotions are passed around. It's natural. That's how family dynamics works here.

You'll be seeing Ledd's ignorance in full force in this arc. Since he's done with trying to escape for the moments, we get to explore the inner confines of the prison compound. I'm not sure how you took the trinkets, but I meant it as toys.


toys
Image Source

I had a bunch of them growing up, and they provided me my first attempt at creating worlds. My only regret is that I failed to keep them in great shape. Would've been awesome to hand it down to my future kids. That is, if they're not lined with lead (ugh, thanks a lot China!)


kibo
Image Source

Another notable misconception here is kibo ... I meant, keyboard. I really had a lot of fun playing around with how words sounded like, so I hope you would appreciate it in the following chapters. Zepp's dad is a transcriptionist by profession, so the keyboard is one of his most used tools. For someone who doesn't know it's function it could either be daunting or an amusing plaything. Zepp's at that age where he's more careful about handling stuff. It's a good contrast to another nephew/godson who routinely bangs my keyboard when he sits on my lap. He's 1.5 years old, so that's understandable.

Thank you all for your continued support of the series! We're almost at the halfway point :D

Here's a rare Zepp smile to show my appreciation for the new accompaniment music by@verbal-d!
FYI he seldomly smiles, so this is definitely a rare treat!

zepp_smile95017.jpg



Thanks for reading! Follow me, @jedau, if you want to live.


Leave this post a feedback, and I'll be sure to return the favor!

divider

Sort:  

I had to snicker when you said you didn't keep your toys in good shape, that is so ME. And I have felt that exact regret, not having any I could pass down to my daughter. I just had the most vivid memory. My cousin Heather and I were exact opposites in this respect. She was just under two years older than me. Anyway, we both loved strawberry shortcake when we were little, and we both received basically every doll in the collection. But her dolls, the were set up on a shelf, every one of them having everything intact. If she played with them, they would immediately get put back on the shelf when she was done. I remember that she got really upset one day because Huckleberry Finn was missing a shoe. Me on the other hand? You were more likely to find them naked in a mud puddle outside because I'd decided to give them 'baths' in it, then forgot to bring them back in, hahaha! I was lucky if I still had their dresses somewhere, let alone their shoes and hats!

Anyway, @verbal-d's song was awesome! I'm so glad he made that for you :)

It's a balance between enjoying it and keeping it safe, talking about the toys. It just so happened that we chose the former. I know some people who've kept theirs intact and have sold them for a huge amount. Like retirement money huge. I guess our younger selves failed the Marshmallow Test haha!

When I read strawberry shortcake I kept thinking about food! I forgot that there was a toy that's named like that! I was scratching my head thinking about the connection haha Does Heather still have them? Did she pass them on to her children?

Stories like these are what my questions try to elicit, so thank you for sharing these, my friend! I hope others follow suit :D

Yeah, I've been playing Sliver's Edge over and over again! I'm just happy that it sits alongside Shadow Man-dala!

Aww Zepp you're adorable!

I figured the trinkets were toys as there was an earlier chapter where Ledd had asked Teten or the girl with the bow (forgot her name!) what a "toy" was and she had "just handed him trinkets". With him recombining them I decided at the time it was Lego even though it didn't sound like it was Lego XD The kibo was easy enough to figure out seeing as it sounds like Dadier might have a similar set up to mine, though I don't do so much deafening music because I can't do loud.

I could never create worlds with toys, there was never enough of them for even a local ecosystem. Had to focus very minutely on specific scenarios. No I have never overthought things and do not continue to do so now ;D

I kind of understand the negative emotions academically but haven't experienced them myself and I have had children go missing on two occasions that were significant (on other occasions it was usually a momentary "where the hell did they go" at crowded shopping centres which generally resolves itself inside of 10mins). I guess people would be angry and blaming each other because if someone had just done whatever then this would never have happened. Unfortunately shit happens sometimes (excuse my language), good thing there was a happy resolution in this case! (maybe not so much for Ledd XD)

ETA forgot to mention, Kirsten sounds like an awesome person :) (and their parents in case I haven't mentioned already xD)

It's Ayesa haha! In one SILVER LINING, I mention that readers shouldn't get too attached, and it seems you took it to heart haha Ding ding ding! Lego is right :D

Yeah, sometimes stuff like that can't be helped. When that happens, we just make do with what we have. Hey, we're just human, right? :)

Kirsten is awesome, though I've had very little interaction with her because she's very shy. When she was a kid, I remember her being afraid of my father for some reason haha!

Thanks for your continued support, my friend! Your thoughtful feedback is appreciated as always :D

Having watched my daughter potter around with many little trinkets and making things out of them i was quite aware of what they were. I did laugh at kibo. Great accompaniment man!

Thanks, dude! Admittedly, this isn't as meaty as the previous SILVER LININGS. It's hard to hit it out of the park every time. Sometimes, we just have to settle for a pinch hit :) I'm sure your daughter has invented a lot of awesome stuff already! Pretty soon, she'll be inventing the trinkets themselves ha!

Thanks for your continued support, brother! Your words are gold around these parts :D

Golden words, lol!! No worries at all man. A pleasure to stop by. I think it is a fine post!

Huzzah! Thank you kindly! You're always welcome on any of my posts. Truth be told, whenever you don't comment or you're delayed, it feels like a certain oomph is missing. Nay, a certain BOOM!

So glad you enjoyed every bit of my contribution and thoughtfulness, I would do it all over again, and I often play Ledd's song on repeat. :) I appreciate your support also for my works.

Also, thanks for the feedback bro on the steemit song, greatly appreciated. I can't wait to redo this one because I loved the wordplay on it, but you're right, I know the audio quality didn't do this one justice. I look forward to that chapter of Ledd, no spoilers needed please! lol

Brother, I can't even begin to describe how much I appreciate it :D I'm just glad that we get to support each other here in our endeavors. I know I've said it before, but I'll never tire of it. It's just so nice to stumble upon a kindred spirit.

Thanks for the recognition once again! I couldn't help but notice that I've autovoted your comments. I wonder why it is. I'm only following steemtrail and fiction-trail on streemian, and I don't remember setting your account as an autovote on steemvoter. Not a complaint, I'm just curious why that's the case.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Mar 24. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.03 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 24 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Aww... second straight post. Bummer. Oh well. Thanks for informing me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61110.07
ETH 2731.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45