Writing 101: Word Processors for faster Writing, Editing, and Proofreading

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Word Processors for faster Writing, Editing, and Proofreading 

In the last post, we have discussed the about the benefits of writing with a pen on a paper and using a computer or a laptop. 

What mode you chose is your choice. And if you have decided to use a computer for your writing needs then I guess you also need to know the different tools that are available in the market and maybe I can share a few benefits of using each one of them. 

Type Writers?

Gone are the days when writers used a typewriter to write stories and novels. It was kind of cool; I have used a typewriter while I was learning to type. It does feel good to use a typewriter. But writers don’t use them now; writers use word processors.

I know almost every one of you uses these tools, but then there are people who are not so good with technology, and I guess this post is for them.

What are Wordprocessors?

Word processors are software on your computer that is used to write. If you own a computer, you might find one pre-installed on your machine. 

Below I have mentioned few common word processors

  1. Microsoft Word by Microsoft
  2. Pages by Apple
  3. Open Office Writer

If you wish to store your work online, on the cloud and want to use it on different devices then you can consider the following services:

  • Evernote
  • Google Docs
  • Onenote

There are two main advantages of storing your work online.

  1. You can write from any device and save it. If you have a tablet, laptop, desktop computer, work computer you can access your files from anywhere.
  2. Your work stays safe and doesn’t get lost if you lose your device or you format it. You can always use it from any other device.
  3. Google Docs gives you the ability to save your speech into text. I will post a separate post about this useful feature. 

All you need to is go and signup.

Do tell us what software and apps you use to write, I will make sure to include them in the next post.


If you enjoy reading my posts then do make sure to follow me @imransoudagar 

If you find my posts interesting then do read my other posts too:

  1. How to write and make huge money with Steemit? (Part 0)
  2. Writing 101: Why and How I became a Writer (Part 1)
  3. Writing 101: Who is a Writer? (Part 2)
  4. Writing 101: Types of Writers (Part 3)
  5. Writing 101: How to be a writer (Part 4)
  6. Writing 101: Skills required become a writer (Part 5)
  7. Writing 101: Tools used by Writers (Part 6)
  8. Writing 101: Pen and Paper Vs. Computer - Which Do You Use? (Part 7)
Sort:  

Good share article... nice post friend.

Upvoted..... Good post.....

waoooo nice shearing

My pleasure, you always put up great articles.

your topics are quite interesting, keep it up Imran.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65753.03
ETH 3281.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68