Writing 101: How to be a writer (Part 4)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

How to be a writer


Over the years I have been getting this question. Many newbie bloggers and writers either ask me how to be a writer or how to be a good writer. And I end up answering their question with a simple answer. To become a writer, you need to start to write and to become a good writer; you need to read good books.


American writer and Noble Prize winning novelist William Faulkner once said


“Read, read, read. Read everything -- trash, classics, good and bad, and see how they do it. Just like a carpenter who works as an apprentice and studies the master. Read! You'll absorb it. Then write. If it's good, you'll find out. If it's not, throw it out of the window.” 
― William Faulkner


If you want to be a good writer, read and read. And William Faulkner is correct when he says “Read! You’ll absorb it” I have been reading books since I was a kid and reading books have made my thoughts clear and I can easy write what’s on my mind.



 

Follow me @imransoudagar to keep track of my progress.

If you find my posts interesting then do read my other posts too:

  1. How to write and make huge money with Steemit? (Part 0)
  2. Writing 101: Why and How I became a Writer (Part 1)
  3. Writing 101: Who is a Writer? (Part 2)
  4. Writing 101: Types of Writers (Part 3)


Sort:  

its really informative
.ok i vote you
welcome to my blog @farhannaqvi7

Thank you, Farhan, following you.

thanx sir i always remember you

Thanks for sharing....great post. Upvoted and follow. #steemup

I am glad you liked my post.

I recommend seeing this video, you will greatness of reading books & getting more knowledge.

Will watch this video soon. Thanks for sharing it.

Thanks for share with us....

I am glad you liked my post.

I read so much that it keeps me from writing half the time, haha! But if that's the case, then I hope this advice is true.

I know, sometimes reading books can keep you away from writing. I did that for years. Reading is easier than writing.

Writing requires careful thought, insight and it takes hard work to write a compelling work of fiction. If you think that reading is keeping you away from writing your first novel, then stop reading and start writing.

The easiest way to start writing is to write stuff about your life and your experiences. And always remember that practice makes wo/man perfect.

Keep writing, will read your posts and follow you.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

I struggle myself with writing fiction, so please keep the tips coming!

Writing is tough, but I guess you are doing a really good job. You are a journalist, and you guys know how to write no matter what the distraction.

And yes, writing fiction is time-consuming, brain freezing, finger numbing and something that can either make you as rich and popular as J.K Rowling or as lazy as me.

I have not finished my first novel yet, but I did write short stories and poetry, so all I can advise you is not worry about how perfect your story is, just keep on writing until you finish the first draft. And when you start the second draft, you can sit and make it perfect.

I will be posting more such posts here, and I hope you will find them helpful and interesting.

Perfectionism is indeed a big hurdle for fiction. It is so different from journalistic writing where accuracy and facts are predominant.

Every other newbie fiction writer believes that making the first draft perfect will help them complete the book faster, while it is completely false.

All the best with your first novel and I hope I will get to read it soon.

Writing has been my weakness always.

feel free to follow me @belalh

Keep writing and keep creating compelling content.

nice post upvoted and followed
Your vote is important to us. For which we thank you. And keep voting @piyushkansal
#steemup

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34