Writing 101: Why and How I became a Writer (Part 1)

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

Learn how to become a writer.

Writing 101bywrite-online.com.png

Do you want to become a writer? Do you dream of writing the next best-selling book? And you don’t have any idea how to start? If you ever dreamt of becoming a writer, then this article is for you.

In this article series, you will learn the following:

• Who is a writer?
• What do writers do?
• How to become a writer?
• Different types of writers
• Skills required to become a writer
• Tools used by writers
• Books and blogs to read to become a good writer

I was a small kid when I first held a book in my hands. And that very moment I knew that I wanted to be a writer when I grew up. As I grew up, I had dreams of writing my first novel and selling it. I had dreams of how my book would win The Man Booker Prize, and I would be a writer, happily ever after.

That would be my happy ending, a fairy tale.

And you know, fairies aren’t real, and life doesn’t give you a happy ending so easily.

I grew up reading books of different genres; I read fiction, non-fiction, phycology, economics, self-help, religion and what not. I was in awe with the way writers wrote their stories.

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” ― Maya Angelou.png

I was madly in love with the words. The way these words were crafted, the way each word meant so much more than it means. The way they controlled my emotions, controlled my tears and sadness. The way the words made me feel; happy, sad, envy, anger, disgust, and fear.

A book managed my emotions, and I asked myself if these writers can control my emotions, so can I take charge of the emotions of my readers?

And so, I set myself on a journey to be a writer.

It wasn’t easy. And it isn’t completed yet.

No one told me how difficult it is to write.

I didn’t know a damn thing about writing, yet my Facebook profile proudly said I was a writer.

I learned to write; I learned to express myself. I tried to understand people’s emotions, and I started to write articles and poems and Facebook statuses.

If Facebook ‘likes’ are a measure of success, then I was mildly successful.

I locked myself in a room and tried to write. I learned a few things, and now I feel the need to share the information that I have acquired after years of struggle.

I guess that's enough for today, I will post more about how to become a writer in my future posts. If you are someone who wants to be a writer then, please follow my profile and you can get notified whenever a post has been published.

** If you like my posts then please resteem them and read my other posts too. **

  1. How to write and make huge money with STEEMIT?

Follow me @imransoudagar

Sort:  

In talking to people about joining steemit, I've actually found that their main reluctance to join is the fact that they're not confident in their writing skills. I think it's a huge indicator of the way the education system is going in North America, but that's another story. I grew up writing and learning English grammar cold, so luckily I love to write. Anyway, I think these are great tips for new writers, and a very good idea for a series. Followed :)

Yes, most people do not start blogging just because they are not confident about their language skills. To be honest, I am not an expert in English or any language, the only thing that I have is confidence, and I do not care if I make a mistake.

Life is short to be conscious about grammar. And it is not just North America, education system all over the world is in bad shape.

The art of writing that people took years to develop and cultivate is gone. Kids do not have the time nor the energy to learn how to write.

It is good to know that you grew up writing and learning English grammar. I am glad to meet someone who is as interested in writing as I am.

I hope everyone will find my tips useful.

Congratulations @imransoudagar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you SteemitBoard.

Your post is amazing :)

I am glad you like my post.

Thank you.

Welcome :))

Very nice post @imransoudagar I am very happy to see you are going to teach and will give tips to us about writing :)
actually I am also beigning in learning English language to how write words and sentence that most people can understand what I'm trying explain @imran I can talk, write, and explain very easly in hindi language.. But wish I could in English language too
friend actually I was from Hindi medium that's why I haven't focus on english language before.
and now I'm trying that I do need to write and talk in only English language so that will improve my language skill and I'll get more confidence in explaining everything .

Thank you, Shivam for reading my post and for sharing your situation with me. I am happy you shared your desires here with us.

I know, a lot of us Indians find it difficult to either write in English or speak in English but on the other side we Indians speak at least 4 languages, and that is great.

I’m a proud speaker of Indian languages, I speak Urdu, Kannada, Hindi and understand many others. Yes, it is a little difficult for you to share your thoughts in English because you are from Hindi medium school.

But you can learn by practicing more and by reading more books.

All it takes is practice, write at least 500 words every day and send it to me. I will read, and I will try to give some feedback. Post it here on Steemit, and I will read it.

Start writing, you already know English, and you can write. Keep on writing. Start with sharing your story, write about your life, your city, your parents and your school.

I have shared the second part of this post, check it out.

And I hope with in no time you will be a good writer.

If you have any doubts, please feel free to ask me anytime.

Good Luck.

Thanks for sharing your story; expressing oneself clearly is a hugely valuable skills, I'm looking forward to the rest of your series!

Thank you for reading and sharing your feedback.

I have posted the second part, do take a look.


This post got a 1.65 % upvote thanks to @imransoudagar - Hail Eris !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66