The instant before inspiration...

in #writing7 years ago (edited)

amazing-736886__480.jpg

I love writing.

Hand suspended, holding a pen... poised above the blank white pages of my favourite notebook. Do you remember pens? Cheap, clear plastic? Or heavy, ink-filled fountain pens, ideas gushing from their nibs? Do you remember notebooks? Leatherbound, clean, crisp and full of yet unwritten, yet undying hope?

Or fingers hovering over the cold concise keys on a laptop, or the ever replaceable icons on a phone or tablet screen...

And the reality of the task at hand. A small amount of fear. Like dew on the flowers in a meadow. What if the words won't come?

What to write? What?

Should I visit the stars today? To explore and attempt an understanding of the reality of a universe so huge, so bizarre, so beyond comprehension? For there are 200 billion stars in this galaxy. 200. Billion. 200 billion!

And most, as we now understand and have witnessed through our primitive means, shepherd a small family of planets through the infinity of space as they make their own way through the latest cycle of the milky way...

Or should I tell of my imaginings on one of those alien worlds, the acid tang of misty air, the slight blue hue of the spiney, ridged leaves attached to roots and branches and impossibly alien landscapes?

Or perhaps I should swing back to the now, to discuss the creative process of writing or music, or the potential of technologies represented to all so ably by this current crypto-currency outbreak of which we are partaking right this instant?

What indeed?

And then the flash of inspiration and it begins, the ideas take form in words, images brought forth through sentences and paragraphs and pages of type, stories and arguments emerge from the page, and communicate ideas beyond me, to you.

And the writing is begun.

Image courtesy of pixabay.com

drwom-01.png

Stay tuned for an exciting @drwom # steemofconsciousness initiative.
See also https://steemit.com/writing/@drwom/steemofconsciousness-filling-steemit-with-beatniks-and-steemniks

@drwom footer by the fabulous @ryivhnn !!

Sort:  

I enjoyed this writing of yours. it is very sincere! :-)

i just read your earlier posts too, some of them, and i think you are someone who worth follow. So see you around! i am looking forward to read from you more ! Best! :-)

Thanks agneslaczo!

One of the reasons I love steemit so much is because it encourages honesty - at least for me. I want to really earn the up votes I get 🙂

Oh the serenity!

Yes indeed :-)
Welcome aboard!

Wow, that sounds like an awesome feeling! I can't recall ever having blank canvas syndrome though so I don't think I'm familiar with it :S

Hey ryivhnn

It's pretty awesome feeling - especially now I've got the confidence up because it doesn't matter - I know I'm going to write something that at the very least means something to me 🌞

Oh wait... you're Battle Wom!? Woah! I can't believe I haven't checked you out before! I kept seeing your avatar in @ryivhnn's sketches, but it must've slipped my mind to check you out. First of all, congrats on doing so well on Steemit! You've only been here since June and you're already averaging more than twice what I make! Haha! You have to put up a post sharing your secret.

On to the matter at hand. Wow! I get what you said about this being read as beat poetry. It is indeed quite poetic. When I was reading it, I kept imagining it being read as spoken word poetry. It really worked!

I loved how you placed the emphasis on some of the words. It really hit the right notes, so to speak. I felt my feet tapping and my fingers having the sudden urge to snap. I'm not sure if it would have the same effect if you didn't prompt me on your comment, but I'm glad you did. This really is masterful work. The imagery your words evoked was so vivid!

Wow - that's high praise! Thank you!
It's good to connect with you 🙃

Love your painting my friend

Thanks

I'm impressed with your writing skills. I am going to follow you and see if I can learn how to put a few words together that flow and are meaningful.

Thanks

why you gotta spam this beautifully written post ! such a shame

Thanks Pree
Appreciated 🌞

This post has received a 3.29 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @drwom.

This post has received a 7.54 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @drwom. Send at least 0.50 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 5.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @drwom
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @drwom to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 57130.74
ETH 2551.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41