Star Wars: Bury Us On Tatooine #4: Flicker, Flicker [Tabletop Fiction]

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

After each session of Star Wars: Edge of Empire, I write out my RPG group's adventure as a story.

Last Episodes:
#1 Never Stop Running
#2 Hypermatter Theater
#3: How to Start a Riot

4: Flicker, Flicker

Malix stared at the spaceport security droid, his eyes narrowed, as it processed his request.

"I'm sorry sir, but the Barrik Treg belongs to Captain Tikkal, and you are not listed as members of Captain Tikkal’s crew," said the droid.

Of course they weren't. They'd only just found out about the ship an hour ago, but they needed to get off this planet, and stealing some other smuggler’s ride seemed fair game. "Well, why would I be? They just hired me."

The droid stood motionless. Its eyes flickered again. "I'm sorry sir, but I cannot allow you to board the ship without proper authorization."

"Are you lookin' to get scrapped, robot?"

The droid raised its blaster. "Sir, I cannot allow you to threaten me."

Malix took a step toward the protocol droid. He got right in its face, blaster pressed up against its durasteel chestplate.

"Listen here. I'm the new mechanic for the Barrik Treg, got it?" Malix hissed. "The last mechanic for this ship was robbed and beaten, not two blocks from here." It was mostly true. The mechanic was robbed, but only for information and his headscarf, which, in Malix's opinion, looked great on Ashadrakka. And, sure, he had been beaten, but not badly, just a quick crack across the face with a blaster to knock him out.

"His name was Kepper Vaan." Malix violently tapped the droid's head. "Check the records for that name," he demanded.

The droid's eyes flickered. "Kepper Vaan is-"

"Kepper Vaan is in a medbay, on the brink of death," Malix shouted. In truth, Ashadrakka had tied him up in a bantha barn at the edge of the city. If he was dying of anything it was the smell of bantha manure.

The droid's eyes flickered again. "I'm sorry, sir, but-"

"Look, this ship has cargo on it, right?" If one lie didn't work, use another.

"Yes, there is a list of cargo included-"

"Captain Tikkal hired me on the spot because he needed someone who could get this done right away. The cargo he's bringing in is time sensitive. What do you think a guy like Tikkal is going to do if he finds out you're the one who let his product go bad?"

Flicker. Flicker. The droid swiveled its head to Ashadrakka, obviously conflicted. The twi’lek shrugged, and the droid swiveled its head back. Flicker. Flicker.

"He's going to buy you. He's going to cut you into pieces, and then he's going to use your parts to patch up the ship."
The droid lowered its rifle. "Sir, I-"

"Fine," Malix said. "Good luck." Then he turned and took a few steps toward the exit.

"Sir, wait," the droid said. "I believe I have found a solution."
Malix smirked, then turned back around. "I bet you have."

"You are here to install a new hypermatter reactor igniter, correct?"

Malix nodded.

"I am capable of replacing the component. However, I am programmed with the mechanical skills necessary to replace the hypermatter reactor igniter on this YT-1300. I would be willing to assist you. You would not be permitted to board the ship, but you would still be compensated for the work. Is that an acceptable solution?"

"Yes it is," Malix said. "It's a very acceptable solution.”


Edited by @beowulfoflegend -- Check out his service here.


I'm Decimus
I'm Verified

I write, I teach, I tell stories. Read my intro post.

Sort:  

Thanks for the shout-out! I had a blast editing and proofing this for you. Turning tabletop RPG adventures into fully-fledged fiction isn't always easy, so you definitely accomplished something that not just anybody can do with this story!

Thanks, it's definitely a fun challenge for any writers out there -- plus, the group appreciates it.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60676.09
ETH 2903.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46