Star Wars: Bury Us On Tatooine #2: Hypermatter Theater [Tabletop Fiction]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #writing8 years ago (edited)

After each session of Star Wars: Edge of Empire, I write out my RPG group's adventure as a story. 

Last Episode:  #1 Never Stop Running

2: Hypermatter Theater

Malix was a coward. During his life, he'd also been a thief, a killer, a crook, and a liar. Smugglers had to be adaptable. "Stay adaptable and stay alive," Captain Xix had taught him, "the universe is a stage, and we, the smugglers, must learn to play many roles." Today, Malix was a coward.

"I'm sorry," the merchant said, from inside her engineering kiosk. "But it's the only one I have, and it's already been promised it to someone else." She wiped sweat from her brow. "Hypermatter reactor igniters for YT-1300's have been hard to come by lately. I can get you another one by the end of the week if you like."

"The end of the week...no...no...you see...I need it now." He trailed off, taking a nervous swig from his water jug. 

"As I said, I've promised the part to someone already." She gestured to her other wares, "could I interest you in anything else?"

Malix was distracted. It was hot and sweat made his clothes feel prickly against his skin. He glanced over his shoulder and scanned the bustling streets of Mos Tooma.  Ashadrakka was late. What was taking her so long?

"Hey," the merchant said. She snapped her fingers to get his attention. "Is there anything else I can help you with?" 

"Huh...oh. Yeah," Malix leaned in as though he had a secret to tell. "The igniter was promised to Captain Tikkal, right? For his ship, the Barrik Treg?"

"Yes," She eyed him suspiciously. "How'd you know that? Do you work for him?" 

Malix nodded. "Yeah, I'm um...I'm the guy who's here to pick up the part." 

The merchant looked him up and down. "You don't look like a courier."

"I, um...that's because I'm not a courier." He nervously scratched his head, "I'm...I'm the...um...I'm Tikkal's mechanic."

Her eyes narrowed, "You don't look like a mechanic, either. You look like a smuggler."

He shrugged. 

The merchant wiped more sweat from her head. "Look, if Captain Tikkal wants the part, he can come get it-" She paused and looked curiously over Malix's shoulder, distracted.

"What is it?"

He turned to see Ashadrakka walking toward them. There was fury in her step, a crooked scowl on her face. Black tattoos adorned her face; surrounded her bright yellow eyes; trailed along crimson skin and flailing lekku. She was a demon, straight from the pit. He kriffing loved that red devil.  

The merchant looked puzzled, "Do you know her?"

Malix grabbed the merchant's hands and begged, "She's going to kill me. I need that part. You...you don't understand...I need that part..." 

The merchant's mouth opened but now words came out, the woman just shook her head, and yanked her hands away.

Ashadrakka grabbed Malix by the shoulders, violently twisted him around, "What are you doing here, you insect? You're supposed to be fixing the Barrik Treg." 

 "I'm sorry." Malix raised his palms helplessly. "I was trying to get the igniter, but-"

"But what?" Ashadrakka's yellow eyes narrowed to slits. "You're late. You know how the captain feels about mechanics who don't finish on time, don't you?"

Malix stepped back, bumped the merchant's booth, rattling the spare parts laid out on the counter. "Please, I came her for the part, I told her I worked for Tikkal. She wouldn't give it to me. Just tell her, tell her I work for Captain Tikkal!"

A crowd was beginning to gather, and Malix knew the merchant was worried about future customers. She slammed her palms down on the counter, "You two take this away from my shop," she demanded, but one swift look from Ashadrakka and the woman instantly quieted. 

"I'll deal with you next!" said Ashadrakka, shaking a finger at the merchant. "But first!" Ashadrakka slapped Malix. The loud clap made the woman and the small crowd flinch. Malix let out a high-pitched, "Ah!" and stumbled back a few steps, crashing against the metal frame of the kiosk, rattling all the parts.

Ashadrakka grabbed Malix by the collar. Jerked him forward, so close he could feel her hot breath on his face. "You were supposed to be on that ship fixing it," she hissed. "Instead, you're here, and you can't even manage to get the part that she's holding for us?"

"It wasn't my fault," Malix squealed. "Please, don't-"


Ashadrakka shoved Malix with both her hands and he flew backward, one foot crashing into another, arms flailing in the air. He tumbled over a piece of scrap metal, rolled into the street and sprawled out flat; a cloud of dust rising around him. The crowd audibly gasped, causing several other Mos Toomans stopped and watched the spectacle unfold. 

Ashadrakka pulled out her blaster and pointed it at Malix, "Say your prayers, mechanic."


"No," Malix shouted. "I swear, I tried to get the part." He pointed at the merchant, "She wouldn't give it to me." 

The whole crowd followed his finger. The merchant shook her head in denial. 

"Are you telling me that this is all her fault?" snarled Ashadrakka as her yellow eyes shifted toward the merchant.

"She was just doing what she thought was right," Malix whined. "You can't tell the Captain; he'll kill her if he finds out."

"Wait," The merchant said,  "I didn't know who he was." 

Malix slumped down, knelt back on his heels, "She didn't know," he muttered. "She didn't know."

"I didn't," the merchant said. "By the moons, I swear I didn't know." She was right where he wanted her - embarrassed and terrified. 

Malix sniffled with sadness, put his hands together in a prayer position. "Take me," He grabbed the barrel of the blaster and centered it between his eyes. "She's a good woman. Kill me and let her go."

The bystanders, who had grown to a sizable number at this point, at this point, were completely silent.

"Stop," the merchant shouted. "I've got the part right here. Don't kill him. Just take it and go." 


Ashadrakka paused, turned toward the bystanders, pretended to think for a moment. 

Malix watched looked over at the crowd, then over at the merchant. They all silently waited for Ashadrakka's response. 

She began to slowly shake her head, and the crowd gasped again. One guy, a little green Rodian, broke the silence, "Let them go!" 

"I'm sorry," said Ashadrakka, dramatically turning back to Malix, "It's too late for both of you. I'm afraid the Cap'n's got a reputation to keep. You both die here, today." Ashadrakka's blaster arm, and everyone watching, stiffened.

"No charge," the merchant said. "Just let us go."

Ashadrakka caught the merchants eye. Held it for a long moment.

The merchant pulled something that was covered in rags from under her stall and placed it on the table. She unwrapped it, "See, brand new." She smiled a big fake, I-hope-this-will-make-everything-okay, smile and held the igniter out for everyone to see.

"Fine," Ashadrakka said, carefully placing her blaster back into its holster. "Go get it," she said, shoving Malix.

He stumbled to the counter, face scrunched up with feigned sorrow and grabbed the hypermatter reactor igniter. "May the force ever protect you, kind merchant," he said. He turned to the audience and cradled the igniter in his arms, rocking it back and forth like a newborn.

At that, the merchant's brows were drawn in with puzzlement. "I, uh..."


"You saved a good man's life today," he whispered, then he reached out and gently brushed the merchant's cheek with the back of his hand. 

Ashadrakka rolled her eyes, grabbed Malix by the arm and jerked him away from the shop toward the streets of Mos Tooma. Malix lifted the igniter triumphantly in the air and yelled, "May the Force be with you!" And the crowd cheered.

Sort:  

Are you a player or the GM (or is it JM in Star Wars?)

My DM pays experience bounties for us to write up character-viewpoint things in his D&D campaign. That way we get a medley of different voices.
https://arden-vul-1.obsidianportal.com/adventure-log

I'm one of the players. Our GM doesn't give exp bonuses, but it's great that yours does.

This blog is great -- good to see dedicated players. I think writing out the stories is so much fun. It's also great practice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60970.82
ETH 2602.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65