Capabilities and Capacities

in #write6 years ago

It has been a while I haven't posted. I have done a quick post telling everyone I was sick and then another asking help with music for a party I was hosting. And then it has been a while once again.

What I would like to do is touch base on certain things to help understand why things can be the way they are using my experiences and understandings.

You all know how this platform works. To success and grow we need to post daily, comment and support a plenty. Keeping this a tight community built on love, care, dedication, time and hope. But what do we do for those that want to succeed and be part of something so great yet struggle with certain things that are needed to grow on here? The ones that are more silent yet still have a strong voice....maybe?

I am one of those people. I go through phases where I can post more often during a week and sometime I just write one post in a week, maybe even 2. But I think it's time to share with you all a bit of something you may or may not know and/or feel.

Since I have started on Steemit I have always thought to myself of how great this place is. We all know it and all read it on someone else's post as we are so grateful to have this. But with that, I have often 'burdened' myself that I have to write something everyday, possibly more than once in a day to be able to make it to the top. Find the right people and they will bring you along. As time passed by, I noticed a pattern within myself.
If I were to look at my postings as though there was a chart, I would be seeing waves rather than a straight line going upwards. The peak of the waves show when I post the most and the lows being when I don't. Sometimes I tell myself that's bad and that I owe it to my followers to write something and let them know I'm still alive.

But there is that one thing that lingers. The capability and the capacity. As a mother I can say that it gets hard to write. Trying to find the time to write in between the school hours and cleaning and making meals, homework, baths and playtimes. But that's not the only thing.
It can get hard to explain but I will try my best. It's like a lingering thing, perhaps a mental state or from being tired or the number of reasons I can think of... may only be excuses, I don't know. But sometimes even though I have something to write about, something that I really want to share, I just can't. The capability is there but I am lacking something else. I am missing the capacity to do so. Sometimes I will get excited. Like I get excited with the tattoo party I had and I will have something awesome to write and share with you all. It has been 2 days since and I cannot, for the life of me, come up with something to write. It's like my brain is too full yet so empty.
I wanted to write things months ago and never got around to it because of this same reason. I will spend my time chatting on discord with an empty tab open waiting for me to write something. Sometimes I get a title in and most of the time it's empty. I wouldn't say that it's a writer's block as I have the imagination to write stories that have entertained a few people. But what is that? That lacking of capacity and how to grow it? Can a person that lacks that one thing still be able to grow on this platform through care and hope?
The work is there. The struggle and the constant thinking of writing, trying to find great content and end up feeling like I got nothing in the end when I truly do.... what is that? Or perhaps I have the capacity and not the capabilities.
These two words have been sitting in my brain, lingering like if they were sitting in the back row seats in a movie theatre making bunny ears and bird shadows with the projector.
So how do we make it work? I have followed people and because of this I have sadly let go. I told myself over and over again for a long time, 'today I will go through my feed and catch up with them. I owe it to them.' And I do, but I can't. There is too much. Maybe if I just do a couple everyday. My god, you are all such amazing people, great writers and I have stopped everything and yet I still want to support.
I have to say that one way I have helped myself through this hardship is by including myself in 2 great communities. The Helpie community and The Steemitbloggers. I am in other discord channels as well but haven't been able to make myself part of them. Another way I have helped myself is just through talking to people. I live a lonely life and so talking to people is one thing that makes me feel good and those that I have stuck to this entire time... Well... Thank you for sticking with me also. I am very grateful to have gotten to know some of you. Because of you I have gotten the chance to be where I am today as I cannot solely rely on myself to get there.
Even right now I am struggling to come up with the right way of saying what I have been planning to say from the beginning and it feels as though I am trailing into something else or I am just not spitting it out right and usually this is where I erase it all and not post a thing. I hope I am not the only one that deals with whatever this is. So many of you can write so much and that is so fantastic! Bravo, I am proud of you. You can do what I cannot and from that I see what you really do and see your hard work. And that is something I admire.
I guess I am still trying to find my place in here. My reason has been because I want to connect with good people, have great conversations and just not be so lonely but then... I have once again made myself lonely as I just don't post constantly, I don't comment as much as I use to and man I wish that I could! I was having so much fun! What the heck happened?
I think the purpose of this post is to perhaps help you see that everyone has different capabilities and capacities for certain things and to appreciate what a person can offer. There is so much that I appreciate and am thankful for. I just need to show it a little more.


Foxyspirit.jpg
Foxyspirit banner has been created by @bembelmaniac

Sort:  

I think some of it may be HF20, or the changing season, Seasonal Affective Disorder hitting a few of us early. I know with the fork, there was a lot of doubt, (still is), about the direction of steemit. No one likes seeing new users level 25 being downvoted because of new user not understanding the comment etiquette. Then to have the mistake pointed out to them without saying why , gets to you when you see that to often. Are we a Social Media, or a Me Only Media?

I have seen a lot less content coming across my feed the last two weeks, I think this is because of the RC limits, but it is virtually impossible for a new user to reach out for understanding the system. As an empathetic person you could be picking some of that "frustration" up. I wish I knew how to get over it, but that is something that age does not give an advantage to. We all get frustrated.

I don't know if any of that made sense to your plight, but we all go through the want to, can do, but don't do, why not phase, several times in life. Not just on steemit. It has a way of sorting itself out with in us. Anyway's enjoy tomorrow, and the next, oh heck, just enjoy life and have some fun. Plan a big toe nail painting party or something.LoL.

SAD is affecting me now, and I just keep thinking about how the days are going to get shorter and shorter and then I get a little more down.

But I am keeping going this year and being conscious to exercise on a daily basis. The Actifit app really helps with this.

In our steemitmamas discord we were able to help all the mamas with low SP who wanted to keep blogging keep better RC values. If you know of any mamas who blog on steemit, and need a little extra boost, send them our way.

@metzli

The shorter days, and daylight do get to some if not all of us. Having a full spectrum light sort of helps, I use one of those stand up Ott lights. And exercise also helps. I will certainly send any mamas I run across needing help in your groups direction.

I haven't checked out the actifit app... Sounds like its a helpful thing. Perhaps SAD is something I was going through, I don't know. But today is a new day and sort of a big day as I am putting myself out there again. Part of healing right?

What you wrote makes so much sense. I get it. And I think you are right, things do have ways of sorting itself out. Just have to sail through it when it happens. We may not know why it happens that way but at the same time I would love to find out to help avoid it. Thinking not everyone goes through it, or maybe they do but just hide it better. I find if I don't talk about it I will just fall apart and collapse. Seeing sincere people comment here is the talking that I need to get through it and I thank you for being a part of it. Where would be if there would be no one to sail with? :p
My son has recently been telling me 'today is a new day mom. We can start all over for the better'. He is 7 and is telling me exactly what I need to hear. Man I love him to bits!
Having fun is what I need, time to enjoy life just like you said :) <3 thank you xx

I can see a lot of truth in this post. With the new dapps that have been coming out like ULOGS and ACTIFIT, it has become easier to blog without having to come up with something "good" I just feel nice sharing what went through my head.

At one point I was trying to blog off of themes, but I stopped. It was too much work, plus I didn't have a consistent niche that I loved. Sharing about my day. That seems easier to me, but I still I don't force myself to write on a daily basis.

I miss seeing you in the steemitmamas discord and hope that when you are up for blogging again, stop by and share with us.

@metzli

Hey there. I am slowly coming back. I have been going through a lot and tried to just work things through it, trying to fix myself at the same time. I had to disappear for some time otherwise things just weren't going to be better. Sometimes shutting out the world brings some quiet and still times. Coming back kind of gives me some anxiety but I know it's nothing bad. It's just been a while. I will pop by and say hi again. Just going to take things slow for now :)
Thank you so much for writing on my post. It feels good that there are people still around and caring ^_^

Same here!. I feel ya. But I most certainly dont feel bad. I do my best and am far from a social media fairy.lol Steemit and the community will be here or they wont. I wil Ill check in and leave a comment from time to time. Keep Steemin!

I think that the worst part is that I do feel bad, thinking that I owe the world to do it. I am made funny that way. Doing your best with what you can is awesome! I just need to be ok with what I can but I am not ok with that. Always thinking I can do more. Many things to overcome for me. One day :) Thank you for coming by and commenting. It means a lot to me ^_^

Your good at this stuff, much better than the likes of me. Ha!
really no matter how shitty .... Don't let things here or anywhere get to you. Chin up girl! stay smart, power through and always keep smiling.
Your great just how you are. Keep Steemin!💪😃

You have me smiling! You are a great person and thank you for that. You also have me feeling encouraged this morning and people like you make me love this platform even more. <3 THANK YOU! xx

Awe Perfect! There is nothing better than a ladys smile. Expecially in the morning. 😉.
Right back at ya! The pleasure is now mine. Keep Steemin

I agree so much with you.
I take a lot of photos of events or places I’ve been and want so much to write a post on it but when I do, it’s either because I’m too tired physically or mentally. And the words just doesn’t come out anymore.
I’m the type that if I’m to write a post I need to be in the zone. If not nothing flows out and it just become a burden.
I started by writing daily if possible 2 post.. but after a while, I prefer to write when it feels right and the content is worth sharing.

Absolutely true. It has to feel right and good not forceful and spat out.

Thank you for being around. You often stop by on my blogs and always have something great to say. Thank you for that. I appreciate what you do greatly.

Great work foxyspirit... your awesome! true article! love your blog. I appreciate your hard work and tireless efforts. God bless your work!

Thank you my friend. You show me great encouragement and give just the right push needed. Thank you <3

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am so with you on being unalbe to find the time. It can get frustrating and I see that I am not alone when I start feeling like I’m getting behind the curve. All we can do is what we can do.

Nice candid post!

Thanks ^_^ sorry for the late reply. Hope to see you around sometime :)

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Resteem and Resteemed added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @foxyspirit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge
SteemitBoard notifications improved

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63466.84
ETH 2636.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76