Hello, I am new (& very, very shy!) - I wanted to offer a couple'a tips on "how I make a living where most people are not..." to say hi :-)

in #work7 years ago (edited)

IMG_6387.jpg Hello, I'm Hannah, 34 and I'm a Yoga teacher. This is my story:

I quit my job in Law shortly after graduation, as two weeks in the corporate commercial legal game aged me 10 years and I needed to take some time off being nice to people, to atone for those two weeks. (That & I drank enough coffee in that career to last a lifetime)...

11 years later I am somehow feeding my family from a career that's typically hard to made a real living from... There's plenty of broke Yoga teachers, supplementing their income from other sources rather than a successful career from Yoga teaching ... I know, as I used to be that...

Teaching Yoga well is a career that is useful to society, so there's no shame in making a living from it (even though we sometimes feel as though there is- but landlords don't accept good karma as rent payment :-D ).

Some tips that I feel helped me succeed in this were:

Always be professional. I've cancelled one class in 11 years- that was because I'd knocked a tooth out and I thought the class might prefer me with all my teeth in place...

I treat people I meet how I'd like to be treated, I care about my reputation, I carry through on my commitments and I appreciate every second I get to spend helping others.

There's the thing too- helping others cures anxiety, I think ;-) It gets you out of your own head and focused on something bigger.

I love that when I am teaching, I forget about me and go somewhere else entirely. It's like I'm operating from a space outside of myself.

Look at those who are successful in your field- what are they doing? In mine, they are not necessarily spending bazillions on trainings and latest gear- they are certainly not trying to copy another successful teacher- but they are listening to podcasts on their journey to work- they are hanging with likeminded people in likeminded places- their world has become pretty Yoga heavy... It's become their passion. This can be applied to success in any field- web dev, sports, etc.

"I love my job" IS a cliche- but if you can figure out the one thing you offer that others don't, it doesn't matter about the 100 billion things you can't do...

Then, if you can figure out a way to make money from that- just enough to justify sticking with it to get more experience, then after some experimentation, eventually finding your niche will be enough to go beyond breaking even and into profit.

It's easy to grow things from that point on, you've cracked it :-)

I was thinking of starting sharing more tips like this that I've found useful..?

Plus I run ultra-distance when I can as well as being sole parent of 7-yr old twins.

I'm super content now- super lucky and super grateful to be here and for all I've learned this far... Yet, super duper single forever now I think ;-)

Sooo lots of things I was thinking of typing stories about :-)

Thanks for reading ! Namaste!

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @hannahyoga I have sent you a tip

Welcome to Steemit @hannahyoga :)

Welcome Bot Banner

I am a bot that greets new users of the community.

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful resources to get you started:

If you have any questions about steem, just ping reggaemuffin, the creator of this bot with your question :)


If you find this bot helpful, give it an upvote! It will continue to upvote introduction posts. Your upvote will give it more power in that. If you think you have something all new users should know, please tell.


See what this is all about and support the bot: SteemGreet the second - submit your links!

Upvoted to help you out, we all can use extra income.

And I followed to be your first.

Thank you! <3 I was super shy and nervous about posting ! Sooo, just thought ahh sod it I'll try :D x

You have to start somewhere, I don't do many post, do the color challenge and make a few pennies on that. You can do @steemit-health, they pay you something ever day for participating.

Thanks :-) arrr so totally new I don't understand/ how how I do that? x

Just click on the steemit-health hyper-link above and it will take you to there page, start up voting and do each daily task. Each day there is four of them. It gets easier each day. You will do fine.

Hi I was locked out of my account all this time! Back now, phew :-) Thanks will check it out :-)

Ahhh! I love Yoga! if you do yoga, and have wonderful twins, you are already very very RICH!! :)) I know it sounds cliche, but congratulations!

It would be great to see you at our steemit meet up on 16th September in Birmingham!

If you can make it, there will be a free steemit t-shirt for you, live music from @branhmusic and 150 pounds behind the bar,

Please see link for more details! https://steemit.com/meet-up/@starkerz/promo-uk-steemit-meet-up-everyone-welcome-from-far-and-wide-come-see-the-steemit-laser

Ahh I logged on too late for this :/ :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 59515.78
ETH 2505.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47