The Birth of a Bone And Wood Guitar Slide Pt2

in #woodworking6 years ago

Well I braved the current snowstorm to finish the slide I started Here last week. I made this one from purple heart and maple with bone. Last week I had just started shaping the cylinder on the outside. So of course that is where I started today

image

image

image

image

Making sure the ends are square and flat also....

image

image

image

Throw a quick to uncover on the edges, the inside will come soon...

image

image

image

The shaping was done with 40 grit sandpaper on the belt sander and disc. Now starts the hand sanding. First in the usual progression is 120 grit

image

Then 220

image

And 320

image

And 600 (because I was out of 400)

image

And end it with 800 grit......

image

So now that its as smooth as a baby's butt I am going to make it shine..... I start on the buffer with a hard cotton wheel and green rouge to cut and smooth out the imperfections......

image

image

image

image

This is where we are at now. Nice and shiny but not quite there yet.

image

So I change the wheel to a softer cotton wheel with jewellers rouge and bring the beauty of it all out....

image

image

image

From here its a matter of rubbing in some paste wax which will take all the compound off and leave gorgeous shine like a coat of glass. But first I will leave it in the light for a while. Purplecheartvturns Brown when cut or sanded deeply and the sunlight will make it turn purple again.

image

Here is one that is completely done and the purple is bright

image

Thanks for watching

image

Sort:  

Thats a great color.

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

you go mrkstn1! absolutely unique

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

RESTEEMBOT IS FOR SALE
I COULD WRITE CODE FOR YOU

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 2.43% vote... I was summoned by @mrkstn1! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Hello sneaky-ninja!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97