Make a cool custom Hardwood cutting board, for little money.

in #woodworking6 years ago (edited)

Got a power saw? Got a orbital sander? Got 2 clamps? No on all three? Okay, how about a hand saw, some sandpaper, 2 flat square heavy objects, 15 to 20" in length? IE: Some cinder blocks or bricks , and willing to use good old fashioned elbow grease, and determination? Either way, this is a very simple, yet very cool project, that creates something useful, and if treated right, will last a lifetime. 001.JPGHere, I'm using pre-cut Red Oak, and pre-cut Mahogany, that are 2"x13/16th" thick, and 19" in length. You can make the cutting board as long and wide as you like. But, I felt that 14"x19" would be a nice size. This wood is from Home Depot, and it costs more than buying Hardwood, at a shop that only carries Hardwoods. But, an upside to this, if you don't have many, or any, woodworking tools, it's the best way to go. They're Hardwood is very good, and has already been planed and joined.018.JPGThere are many types of glue. But to make a cutting board, since it will be used to cut anything from meat, to veggies and fruits, you need to MAKE SURE you use an FDA Approved glue, that's safe for food. The best, in my opinion, is Titebond III. It is super strong, and is FDA approved. You can see how I laid down the glue. I suggest using a couple sheets of wax paper, that when binding, and clamping together, or binding and using the heavy Cinder Blocks, or Bricks and pushing them together in place of clamps, do it over the wax paper, that way, you don't glue your drying cutting board, to the garage floor, or table you're using.! I like to leave the boards clamped for about 45 minutes. ()019.JPGAfter un-clamping, or pulling the Cinder Blocks, or Bricks away, I like to let it dry overnight. You can see in the clamped picture, that some of the boards are not flush, and you may also have some beveling, and high and low spots on the now glued, raw cutting board. This is where it becomes harder, if you don't have an orbital sander. A handheld or benchtop belt sander is best, but, this is where the sandpaper and elbow grease come in. You have to sand out the beveling, if any, the high and low spots, and the ends to be flush. You will need different grades of sandpaper. Start with 100, then 150, 220, and 325. Again, this part really sucks if you don't have at least an orbital sander. Maybe this is this is the time to invest in one. You'll find it has so many more uses than just sanding wood. You can get a nice little 5 inch Ryobi for about $40.00 or less. It's easy on the wallet, and it does a nice job.68859587.JPG ![66585254.JPG] ()44589628.JPG You can see that there is a high gloss finish on mine. You can make it that way too if you like. But remember, is has to be an FDA Approved Sealer. I used Watco Butcher Block. About 5 coats in all, with wet sanding between each coat. This takes several days. Then, you have to leave it, once you've gotten the shine you want, alone for 3-5 days before using the board. A cheaper, and easier way, is to buy Howard Cutting Board Oil, and a bottle of Howard Cutting Board Conditioner. Use the Cutting Board Oil first, then the Cutting Board Conditioner, later on for preservation. These are very easy to apply, and is a great finish for your board.() I sent this board to my sister as a surprise gift, and she loves it! Funny little side note. When she got it, she called me and said she was actually, actively looking for a new one, as she had worn out the last one. She uses it everyday. Since we talk all the time, I ask her how it's holding up, and she said, "It's holding up great!" And believe me, if you knew my sister, she has no problem telling her little brother, (Me) exactly what she thinks, about anything. :)

Sort:  

Love this! Great work and welcome to steemit. We have built similar ones with pallet wood and they are the best cutting boards I have ever owned. I look forward to your future posts!

Thank you llfarms! It was my first cutting board. I've made above 5 of them now, using various Hardwoods. I made one entirely out of Canary Wood. That was probably the best one, due to the look the Canary Wood has. I think the next one I make, I'm going to increase the strength, and prevent possible future warping, I'm going to use my Bisquit Joiner, and some #0 Biscuits, very small, when binding the pieces together, in the gluing process.

Nice work @capgun, you've got some creative mind. I'm gonna suggest another thing, make an 'introduceyourself' post. These are the basic things on Steemit, I appreciate the fact that you kept to what I suggested yesterday. You're such a great guy. ✌

WOW..... an awesome post..... keep going at this rate and you will be one of them $500 posts........lol..... Love the cutting board.....

Way to go Cap...... this one is way better. You are getting the hang of it quickly....... Cutting boards are great ways to make a gift for someone and/or sell at craft fairs and such. Just be aware of the material you use because some have oils in them that are toxic. Wenge is one I know for sure..... And as @llfarms and I have had the discussion before if using pallets be sure to check the codes on the pallet and don't use chemically treated pallets....... I'll be awaiting mine....... I have a bunch of scraps that just might go this way very soon...... Great Post my friend

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

WIn SBD in our Weekly Woodworking post Competition

We have a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel

1createdwoodworking.jpg

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @tonemaker56
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @tonemaker56
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @tonemaker56
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
The resteem was paid by @tonemaker56
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work

You guys are all so great! Thank you all, as it just inspires me to keep creating!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85