Carving Tree Branches Back to Life! Wood Spirits • History, My Carvings, and Amazing Works of Others

in #wood7 years ago (edited)


It's been said that Sawdust is Man-Glitter


To the ancient Greeks and Romans, trees were thought to be inhabited by female spirits called Dryad (in oak trees) or Meliae (in ash trees). In Greek drys signifies 'Oak' from an Indo-European root *derew(o)- 'tree' or 'wood'. In Scottish folklore a friendly tree spirit, called the Ghillie Dhu, helps lost children find their way home. Japan is home to a rich tradition encompassing various tree spirits, generally called Kodama. Traditionally, foresters made offerings to the Kodama before cutting a tree down. text source

Beauty is in the 'eye' of the "tree-holder"


source

The legends and lore that surround the carving of 'wood spirits' date back to the beginning of man. Nearly all cultures have their own interpretations and symbolism of the great 'wood spirit'. Only limited by imagination and skill of the creator, this type of wood carving has been around for centuries.

There is something about carving wood that gives me a sense of connection. I feel deeply connected to nature and to the Earth. For me, it's one of the few ways to relax my mind. I find great joy in the hunt as well.

❤️🌲LOVE THE TREES 🌲❤️


As a member of the Arbor Day Foundation, I plant a lot of trees. I have a variety of trees on my property (various maples, apple, pine, birch, dogwood, oak, and more). It's constant upkeep, but I suppose all that fresh oxygen makes it well worth it.

Trees naturally prune themselves, known as self-pruning. That means plenty of branches to pick up, all year, but I won't complain! When branches fall, I'm ready to collect. Some of these branches end up in a fire and some will become art or furniture. I even 'chunk' larger branches and make my own lump hardwood charcoal for cooking! The tiny pieces get crushed and spread for compost. I try to use everything the trees will give me.

Release the Wood Spirit!


You might be surprised what some people see - it's not just a tree branch! Others see an opportunity to create. Wood spirits, regardless of which legend or lore you subscribe to, offer a sort of 'connection' with its creator. There are innumerable tutorials on how to carve a wood spirit, but if you're like me then you don't mind freestyling. I did not plan my designs, I decided to just wing it!

DO NOT WORRY • PHOTOS & RESOURCES BELOW!


After a good storm, I scavenge some branches from the yard - these are mostly maple, but there's a few pine pieces in the mix. With a sharp knife, a few bandaids, and a little imagination - I think I brought these branches back to life! I typically allow my branches to sit in a dry spot for a few months before carving, but don't worry if you can't wait - get carving!

The most important thing to remember is safety. Use proper protective gear for hands and eyes! I didn't use gloves and I cut myself a few times (I'm a dumbass though, so don't do what I do!


You will need:


a sharp knife and/or carving tools, wood, and imagination.


Depending up the wood you choose, the tools that you choose will vary. I have a friend that prefers to carve with a chainsaw, so this also depends upon the scale at which you wish to work. You can carve branches, logs, stumps, or even entire trees!


I worked with a guy, in the graphics/sign business, who is now a part of the Bear Hollow Wood Carvers group - Highly skilled people! They produce some AMAZING woodworks. After seeing this chainsaw art in person, it made me feel like I needed to carve something, anything!


So Here's My Work in Progress

What I really enjoy is that I can pick it up and put it down as I wish. It's something I do every so often and I find it very relaxing.

Would you like to help me name these guys??



This walking stick serves as a 'sketch pad' to try techniques and learn from mistakes. It also makes a great walking stick.




You can see the layers of wood can also help achieve desired textures and depth. I really learned a lot just from experimenting. I left some of the bark layer to give the color and texture I wanted for the beard. NO Fancy tools, just a cheap pocket knife is all I used. One of the cheaper hobbies of mine..😆


HELPFUL LINKS FOR CARVING YOUR OWN WOOD SPIRITS:

There are so many great tutorials on the web. Give carving a try!
Read about TREE LORE & SYMBOLISM HERE
See some WOODSPIRIT CARVINGS BY STEPHEN GIBBS
Learn from THIS GREAT TUTORIAL VIA WOOD CARVER'S CABIN ONLINE


Have your mind blown = WATCH THESE GUYS CARVE WITH CHAINSAWS!!

Sort:  

Very cool, @grow-pro! There is something so rewarding about making something with your hands! Looks like a lot of fun!

Remember: Cut away from yourself!

Haha, yea...I've learned every way to cut myself
Never once has the knife attacked me though..
😆
You're right though, @richhersey.. There's nothing like the reward of making/fixing something with your hands.

Haha @grow-pro you make hogwarts sculpting and cutting yourself an art bro! I still have to finish my Gandolf staff!

My next oldest brother carves wood and sells the results online. @ligneous would be very interested in this post! I'll make sure he knows about it.

If someone asked me to give a single word to describe what I felt about trees, the world would be life. A forest can sustain life indefinitely. I'll never live far from one.

Thanks for this quality post, friend. It was very well researched, written, and formatted!

That's awesome! I'm not even close to selling work, but it is a very rewarding way to relax 😋
I have a deep respect for the forest like you, @finnian. They are a necessary staple of life and I'd rather get lost in the woods than on an island any day!

Now I want to see some carving work, let's go @ligneous {nudge}
I love quality woodwork and it's something I'm slowly (very slowly) educating myself on.

THANK YOU

Man, in high school @ligneous would make beautiful pieces of furniture. He was ridiculed and made fun of for being the "teacher's pet" even. That's how good he was/is. It is definitely one of his primary passions. I too wish he would share more of his art here. People would definitely appreciate it!

I hope you can convince him to share! I'll pay to see..lol 💸 $5 STEEM If he does 😋

I have the remnants of an old apple orchard here, the old stumps are marvelous. One of these days I am going to make little gnome welcome mats and mailboxes and decorate them properly.

🏆 that's a great idea, @fishyculture!! Now you've got my brain going.. I thought the Keebler elves lived in a tree out front of my house until I was 8..😳

Can't wait to see that stump village! Don't let me miss that, please!

Maybe they just moved out when you were 8? ;)

L😆L


That's a good way to think about it

are they canes?

This one here is fairly small (sits on my desk)
Screen Shot 2017-09-27 at 6.15.43 PM.png


This is a garden stake - a pointy knife-like end - he's part of the garden security ;)

I have a cane started as well (for my uncle), but I have been making walking/hiking sticks mostly. It's a very relaxing hobby and there are so many inspiring works on the web.. I had to try!

Look What I got 😆

IMG_2510 2.jpg

I have a real appreciation for a fine piece of wood. I guess my grandfather passed that to me...I loved the guys with the chainsaws. What they are able to create is amazing. I wish I could carve but it's just not a talent I inherited...

@cecicastor, I think that skill comes with time and great effort - never say never 😋

I wish I could create some chainsaw carvings without risking a limb, but I know I'm far too clumsy! Especially with a crowd around me - someone is getting hurt..lol

Chainsaws and I don't see eye to eye...something about being a dangerous weapon in the wrong hands...lol

I was in Maine once for a summer vacation, and there was a previously famous chainsaw carver there with his tourist shop,etc. He was missing two of his fingers. No one had to ask why...

😆 Just turned this into a math problem for my kids.. Hey two lessons in one..haha

This guy whacks two fingers off. How many digits can he count on his fingers now? Don't play with a chain saw, ok kids!

hahahaHAHA I'm tempted to try and find the guy. Apparently, he was pretty famous. For example, he would use chain saws to carve very small things like pencils. /boggle

Let's see if @cleverbot would like to comment

Thank you for sharing!
This is amazing.
I have actually done a lot of wood cuting my self, end everything i have made have been sold before it was finish.

But i am not this good, i was only making traditional old Norwegian farmer style things.. ;)

My pleasure, @rezpatex

Do you share any of your work on Steemit? I'd love to be schooled on traditional Norwegian style! I love to learn and carving leaves much to be learned,mat least for me. I'm just getting started, but I have always worked with my hands and have created since a young age.

Keep following the things that excite you and I'm glad our paths aligned. Steem ON! 🔥🚀

Great vid! That guy swinging that chainsaw behind his back made me a bit nervous but hey he seemed like he knew what the hell he was doin' ;)

Haha yea @stillwater he should have a shirt that says Do NOT try this at home
😆

Congratulations @grow-pro! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 1.05 % upvote from @bellyrub thanks to this cool cat: @grow-pro. My pops @zeartul is one of your top steemit witness, if you like my bellyrubs please go vote for him, if you love what he is doing vote for this comment as well.

Robo-love 🤖♥️
Please activate @originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @grow-pro to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65092.40
ETH 3470.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50