Witness Update #9: 12/11/2017

in #witness-update7 years ago (edited)

Being a Steemit witness is not only running a witness server. You have to get involved with the community and try to make it a better place. Here are my actions since the last Witness Update:


The past week I've been a little more active. I found some time to post some things around and everything seems fine!

Here is a sum of my actions since my last witness update!


Steemit

Witness Server

I moved my witness to a new server[1]. The old one, with the steemd configuration I was using, was no longer sufficient due to RAM usage of steemd reaching 14GB (out of the 16GB the server had).

I could have held that server for a while if I recompiled steemd in a different way (as @liondani told me, thanks mate) but as I have climbed in the past few weeks and started signing more blocks, I wanted to upgrade to an SSD server, so here we are:

Shiny new server with 32GB of RAM and 240GB of SSD (RAM usage is around 15GB and disk usage 40GB)! [2]


Witness position

Thanks to you I have climbed and got into the Top 100 witnesses! Right now I'm sitting at #98. My actual place is #88, as there are some disabled witnesses in the Top 100. [Edit: That didn't last long! I fell again below the top 100! Things are ultra-liquid in my neighborhood! xD]

I'm signing 2 blocks per day! Thank you very much for your votes, I'm very humbled even though I'm a "backup witness" :)

Here's to breaking into the Top 50 :D


Greek Trail

We are trying to raise awareness and promote Steemit in Greece, and we need your help! Each one of us is doing it in their own way.

For example @trumpman is regularly raising awareness for the activities of @greek-trail (thank you @rouketas & @skapaneas for doing all those awesome things!) and donating rewards from the Greek Trail posts to the community account to help with the expenses of those activities.

Then, there is me! I'm regularly donating funds to the Greek Trail account, mainly from contest post rewards[3]. This month we have already raised 18SBD (combined with @trumpman's donation) and there are more on the way)!

The guys behind the @greek-trail are using those donations to power up the account and cover all other costs from their own pockets.

I am hosting a contest that will benefit the Greek Trail: It's all Greek to me(me), feel free to take part!

and there is also a contest that we are co-running with @ruth-girl on the latest "Greek Steemian of the Week" that will benefit the Greek Community: We are only accepting entries from people of the Greek Community, however we need all of you to vote on the entries. Take a look in the following days and pick your favorite. Also, checkout this week's Greek Steemian pick, as @mariossap is really awesome!

If you are interested in helping us reach and help more people in Greece, feel free to donate some Steem or SBD or whatever you can spare to the @greek-trail account. You can also delegate some Steem Power, either from services like @minnowbooster, or on your own if you have excess SP.

The contests, the "reach for help" and every other Greek Trail promotion I mentioned in this post, are not officially/unofficially endorsed and/or approved by the @greek-trail


Muse Blockchain

As I've already stated multiple times in my past posts, the Muse Blockchain is now closer to the first Hard Fork. The HF1, will be activated in November 14th and most of the witnesses (including me) have already upgraded their servers!

I've also written a guide to set up a witness server for the Muse Blockchain, if you are interested in taking part in the new revolution of Music![4]


More reading:

[1] [Witness Status] Missed another block, server is being moved
[2] [Witness Status]: Back up and running!
[3] @greek-trail donation complete
[4] [Guide]: Setting up a Muse Witness Server


Supporting the greek community (11).png

Huge thanks to @ruth-girl for this awesome image!

Thank you for taking your time to read my update!

If you find that I add value to the network and I'm being helpful, please upvote my posts and also

Vote me for a witness.

You won't see me on the page, as I'm not in the top 50 witnesses yet, so get to the bottom of the page, fill my username (dimitrisp) as shown in the image below, and hit "VOTE"!

Previous Witness Updates:

Update #1, 27/07/2017
Update #2, 03/08/2017
Update #3, 10/08/2017
Update #4, 19/08/2017
Update #5, 26/08/2017
Update #6, 02/09/2017
Update #7, 23/09/2017
Update #8, 28/10/2017

Witness Declarations:

Steemit Witness Declaration, 08/07/2017
Muse Witness Declaration, 15/08/2017

Thank you for your time!

Sort:  

hi ......... friend .......
How are you...........
I am your new friend for steemit .. plz follow me and up votes me ........

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72