Witness Update #1 - 27/07/2017

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

So it's time I made a witness update. Although I've already made such a post in the past, this is my first official witness update.


Witness Server

It's been a week since I updated my witness to 0.19.1-RC1, which fixed the "not enough bandwidth" error many steemians where encountering. The server is very stable and it's going strong. I'm having a small problem with the pricefeed though. At some point, I start getting errors like this:

SteemApi error: get_required_signatures [ { ref_block_num: 0,
    ref_block_prefix: 0,
    expiration: '1970-01-01T00:00:00',
    operations: [ [Object] ],
    extensions: [],
    signatures: [] },
  [ 'STM5TNyXNoa2qBkF2hdENchwbw7KG4ob24sfmDFfufBSzKmDk3Efz' ] ] {}
(node:17) UnhandledPromiseRejectionWarning: Unhandled promise rejection (rejection id: 141): Error: SteemApi error:get_required_signatures[object Object],STM5TNyXNoa2qBkF2hdENchwbw7KG4ob24sfmDFfufBSzKmDk3Efz{}



and I have to restart the feed process to make it work again. Not a serious problem right now, as I'm not even in the Top 100 witnesses, but I'll look into it in the next couple days.


Made a pledge

As a witness, it is my job (actually, my server's job) to make sure that blocks are being generated in a timely manner. I may not be a "big" witness, but what really matters is that I'm there. So I decided to make a pledge to this community that I will never power down my SP. I really believe in this community.


Supporting fellow steemians

I donated a few SBD to @justcallmemyth ( My Family Needs Your Help! We Have No Were Else To Go! Steemians UNITE! ) and @clevercreator ( Stopping an eviction notice: Fund drive for @clevercreator
).

I didn't send a lot, but the collective of our community will surely make wonders to both people. If you can spare a couple of SBD, make sure you do your part! The least you can do is to read the posts I linked above, and find out if you can help in some other way!

Also, if you can spare an upvote, please do so to this post: https://steemit.com/help/@karenb54/i-really-need-your-help-i-have-no-where-else-to-go and to any other post of @karenb54. She really needs our help. In her post, she requested to NOT send any SBD, but if you feel charitable, you can always do so.


It's all Greek to me

I decided that today is the day I made a Greek introduction for the Greek community of Steemit. If you are from Greece or you can talk/read/write Greek or you simply love Greece, make sure to follow @greek-trail. This account posts in both English and Greek languages, and they promote in various ways the Steemit community in our country.

A big shoutout to all the Greek members for the love and support they've shown in the past few days through their comments, upvotes and resteems, especially to @evimeria, @liondani and @meanmommy33


Not declining payments

I decided to not decline payment on my witness update posts, like most other witnesses do. Instead, I'll use the payments from these posts and help fellow steemians in need. If you know someone in urgent need, please, by all means, leave a comment and I'll do my best to help!


Please consider voting me, dimitrisp, for a witness if you find what I post & do helpful and add value to the network

You can read my witness declaration here

Sort:  

The price feed error happens randomly, it's a bug https://github.com/svk31/steemjs-lib/issues/8
If you're using the dockerized feed, you can work around that by setting a crontab to restart it every 12 hours for example (my feed is set every 6 hours, 1 hour was too fast):
crontab -e
then add this at the end:
0 */12 * * * docker restart steemfeed
(assuming your container is named steemfeed)

I didn't know it was a bug! Thanks for informing me about this :)

Another tool you could use is Conductor by @furion, it has a price feed feature. I made a docker for it.

Oooh! "New" witness toy! 😀😀 Thanks!

Not declining payments
I decided to not decline payment on my witness update posts, like most other witnesses do. Instead, I'll use the payments from these posts and help fellow steemians in need. If you know someone in urgent need, please, by all means, leave a comment and I'll do my best to help!

For witness not in the top 20, that make a whole lot of sense.

If I ever get to the Top 20, I'll reconsider this approach. But I think that this is something good that, it will give a message of hope inside our community!

Thanks for your work and update man!

Congratulations @dimitrisp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

thanks for sharin keep us update

@dimitrisp I just saw this mention from steemdata, I had no idea! Thank you for mentioning me, it means a lot to me :) We're here to support each other so that's what I did! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58397.49
ETH 2619.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42