Witness Update #2 - 03/08/2017

in #witness-category7 years ago (edited)

Being a Steemit witness is not only running a witness server. You have to get involved with the community and try to make it a better place. Here is my update since the last Witness Update:


Witness Server

Price feed

Last week I wrote that I'm having problems with the pricefeed. @drakos told me that it's a bug with the steem library, and a workaround would be to make it restart every now and then. That's what I did, and it seems to be running fine.

Missed my first block!

Hurray, I got my first block! But due to a misconfiguration from the last update to 0.19.1-RC1, I lost it. Oh well, that happens in life. I fixed the error in the configuration and it seems that now I'm ready for my next block! Bring it on!

Payment

Starting from the next month, I will be using my SBD to pay for my witness server. Thanks to all you wonderfull steemians who upvote me, I can now afford to run the server for at least 5 more months.


Steemit

Steem Chat

I'm regularly logging into the Steem Chat and try to help people there. If you have time to spare, feel free to visit :)

New RPC node

A couple of days ago we had a problem and almost no other website/app was working. Steemdb, steemnow, steemd, streemian, esteem (among others) where having troubles because the RPC nodes got overwhelmed, their RAM usage sky-rocketed and shut down. As a result, the apps couldn't get any data.

@netuoso & @someguy started creating 2 RPC nodes, and they are both funded by various witnesses (me included). Hopefully, this will never happen.

Here is @netuoso's launch announcement

Giving a Welcome!

On my spare time, I started lurking around the new posts, and try to welcome new steemians. I don't want to setup a bot, as I prefer to give a few advices, and each user is asking for something different!


Greek-Trail

I am supported by the @greek-trail account as a witness. I was approached by fellow steemian @rouketas, and they decided to back me as a witness on the network. Big thanks! I will be supporting the @greek-trail to help promote Steemit in Greece. We need more Greeks in the platform!

Big thanks to all the awesome people of the Greek Steemit community for their support on my posts! You guys rock! :)

Also, the greek-trail helped fellow steemian & Greek @evimeria get her account back after it was stolen.


Contest

I started a contest where I'll be giving 10SBD to a winner. Participation is with your upvote and your story about how you found Steemit. A cut from the SBD of the post's payout will be donated to @greek-trail for the promotion of Steemit in Greece. The cut-off is Midnight of Friday the 4th (less than 15 hours while writing this post).

You can take part here, if it hasn't already expired while you are reading my post. The winner will be chosen on Sunday!


Streemian

In my effort to help fellow minnows I've joined streemian.com. I'm following the @minnowsupport and @good-karma curation trails for now. Although I don't have a lot of Steem Power, it will be steadily growing and in the near future I will be able to help even more with your quest on steemit.


Supporting fellow steemians

On my previous witness update, I mentioned a couple of people needing our help. We have been somewhat successful.

@karenb54 got about half the funds needed for a special bathtub to help her not be in so much pain when taking a bath. She got more than 2000 pounds, and the total cost with installation and everything needed will be totaling at a little above 4000 pounds. I sent some spare SBD today to help her a little bit more, and you can do so yourself if you want to. We all need some help at some point!

@justcallmemyth unfortunatelly didn't get all the money he needed for his family to not be evicted. I don't know if he'll ever return, as he reported that his internet was going to cut off.

@clevercreator hasn't gotten into specifics, at least I didn't see something, but it seems like we made a difference for her.

We can do better than this. Even a resteem in these cases may make the difference between life and death, having a home and getting evicted.


Witnessing Muse Blockchain

@theprophet0 kindly invited me to join as a witness on the Muse blockchain.

What exactly is muse?

Muse is a Membership Organisation in the cloud – a Blockchain specifically tailored for the music industry – that aims to be the foundation of the music industry’s new ecosystem.

It serves as a global database for copyrights, a means of payment for all music related transactions (including royalties) as well as a tool to simplify licensing of musical works.

Its members are comprised of anyone and everyone that chooses to hold MUSE (the core units that make up the Blockchain).

Muse itself is made up of approximately 18 Million MUSE, the majority of which will end up in the hands of a global community of musicians, composers, lyricists, etc.

Source

Being a musician myself and against the way stuff happens in the music industry, I was immediatelly interested. I ordered a dedicated server yesterday, and I will start witnessing the muse blockchain as soon as possible.

I will also be uploading music there as I compose when the network fully launches!


If you find that I add value to the network and I'm being helpful, please upvote my posts and also

Vote me for a witness.

You won't see me on the page, as I'm not in the top 50 witnesses yet, so get to the bottom of the page, fill my username (dimitrisp) as shown in the image below, and hit "VOTE"!


If you are interested, you can read my witness declaration here

Thank you for your time!

Sort:  

Congratulations @dimitrisp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hi Thank you so much for the Donation it will be a great help Thank you again. And Thank you for the mention above but you have my name wrong its @karenb54 lol Thanks again :)

Oops, fixed it! Sorry for this! Haha

Lol Thanks again for being so kind :)

Congratulations @dimitrisp! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58300.22
ETH 2638.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44