WILD & STRANGE CONTEST SEASON 7 ROUND 4 - POETRY CONTEST – 50 STEEM FOR THE WINNER

in #wildnstrange7 years ago

Attention all poets and creative writers! 50 STEEM is on the line!


It's time to join in and write a little poem for your chance to win some STEEM! Round 4 of Season 7 of my WILD & STRANGE Contest has officially started! It’s time to put your pens to page and print your prose! The GRAND PRIZE for this round will be 50 STEEM. Are you ready?

Here is the progression that this contest follows.


ROUND 1 = PHOTO – Take a photo to enter – COMPLETED


ROUND 2 = ART – Use winning photo from Round 1 to make a piece of art – COMPLETED


ROUND 3 = MEME – Use winning art from Round 2 to make a meme – COMPLETED


ROUND 4 = POETRY – Use winning meme from Round 3 to make a poem - STARTING NOW


ROUND 5 = SONG – Use winning poem from Round 4 to make an original song.

Contest Progression Thus Far

SEASON 7 SO FAR

In Round 1, @trueconspiracy won the photo contest with this interesting entry! It was his winning photo that provided the inspiration for the artwork in Round 2. A lot of creative and interesting entries came in, but in the end I had to choose just one winner.


In Round 2, some amazing artwork came in and @fugit won with this masterpiece. It was an amazing image that was sure to inspire some excellent memes!


THE ROUND 3 WINNER IS…

@HAPPYME FOR THE WIN!

NOW WHAT?


Now, it is your chance to write a poem based off of the winning meme from @happyme. Use that amazing meme for inspiration and write your poem! There is no need to have participated in any of the previous rounds. Steemians can jump in on this one any time that they want! The "Official Rules" are below.

Here are the rules for Round 4:


  • Create an original poem based on the winning meme from @happyme.
  • The poem must be at least 8 lines long.
  • The poem must rhyme in some way.
  • The poem will be used as lyrics for a song next round, so you may want to keep that in mind.
  • Enter original work and provide your entry in a reply to this post.
  • You can still make a post out of your entry, but your post does not count as an entry, only your reply.
  • Keep everything kid-friendly and G rated.
  • You must enter by midnight this Sunday (CST) in order for your entry to be considered valid.
  • By entering, you are giving me full permission to use your entry however I wish.

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

@papa-pepper, let me show them how it's done.


The End of STEEM
I'm a bounty hunting Force wizard, living life on the dark side,
Watching the world burn and dragging fools along for the ride.
Why would I care if I'm the only survivor of the apocalypse?
I can build a bot with a personality brighter than the eclipse.
Sitting on my throne, this crown is feeling heavy as all heck,
Let me program another bot to stand by and support my neck.
You wanna learn how to live on the dark side while you steemin?
I'll string you along with promises of success you been dreamin.
You know what, this ain't me anymore though I'd rather build,
How about we remake this world and see true harmony revealed?
I'd rather people that can think and create and share with me,
Than to be locked in my own cage with these bots for eternity.


https://steemit.com/wildnstrange/@clayboyn/the-end-of-steem-wild-and-strange-season-7

Epic work, love it!

Woah !!! This entry demotivates other poets to participate. All my hopes of winning broke down after reading this one. :( But I still participated because it is fun. I still wish I could write something so good as this poetry. But, may the best one wins.
I will admit that I am jealous of you @clayboyn. May be someday I could write as good, as you do. Hehe. Have a look at my entry also, it is not that amazing...but its entertaining. All the best :D

Just practice and make a poem that feels right to you. No need to compare it to mine, there are so many different styles of writing and poetry I could easily be outdone just because something else works better. :) I got some motivational videos for you below:


I would not compare it if it wasn't a contest. But if you say so, I would try.

I love dogs :D Thank you for these motivational videos. These are quite funny and cute. :D

Good one
Keep the good work

Yup, you aced it. Way to set the bar high. Good thing the rest of the wordsmiths have all week to work on it!

How did you just smash that out. You are a wizard.

If I told you I have never spent more than 10 minutes writing a poem would you believe me?

On the contrary it took me a whole week to start on that zebra and probably two hours to actually draw and color it... Different skills! You the doodle queen!

Doodle queen. Hmm... I hope that one doesn't stick 😂

Steem-pocalypse


I'm a King in all this life I live
Steeming is the meaning, all the meme-ing makes me laugh a bit
writing till I crash a bit
oh snap I just crashed the whip
let me make a Steemit post, these Upvotes are emasculate!

Shout out to @full-measure dawg,
The first guy to support the kid
You know I got your back
Steeming even if the world just ends
cocoanut curls
just did my hair so let me vlog a bit
and if i'm lost for time, you know my robo is upvoting it!


It's ya boy @waphilip with the rhymes, and Papa Pep with the shine. If he likes my comment, then that 50 Steem is mine! At least I hope haha. Thanks for inspiring the late night rhymes @papa-pepper!

I liked the rhythm of this piece. Especially this part:
makes me laugh a bit
writing till I crash a bit
oh snap I just crashed the whip

Good write.

Haha thanks moe!

My entry :- Let the Kingdom come

Shadows from light,darkness I seek !
Haunting my prey,my intention reek !!
I can run from the devil, till light I can see!
I can not hide ,Cause that devil is within me !!

Burying guilt beneath the lies !
Evil pours out of me on a roll of dice!!
I Worship darkness ,evil is my cry !
sitting amidst apocalypse I wonder why ?

I'm irreverent with proud and crown heavy as heck
so transcendental , these minion bots cant touch my neck!
sleeping you guesstimated me to be a novice reader!
son I wrote that book ,bow down to king you bottom feeder!!

https://steemit.com/wildnstrange/@chapterclosed/let-the-kingdom-come-wild-and-strange-season-7

Nicely written... I will submit a entry too

thankyou for huge upvote @utfull and yeah its such a wonderful platform to let go off free your creative side !!

Cool! Wrote this is the shower..

https://steemit.com/wildnstrange/@kaykunoichi/kunoichi-s-ode-to-steemit-wild-and-strange-contest-season-7-round-4-poetry-contest-50-steem-for-the-winner

Tamed the wild thinkers with plagiarized spirits
The same way Jack Daniels played your eyes with it
Demise of dark inhibits a light that shines vivid
From the block to the Blockchain @rondonson tried, & did it
Central lies will limit minds and inspire bigots
The blind can not extinguish the fire that is within us
I doubt they can divide when our tribe unite with vision
As the world burns the divine will not diminish
Designed to withstand the heat when they try to kill us
Systems we live in are glorified prisons
@dan 's awakening saw us hoarding to listen
Forever changing the way we exchange digits
So we stand united decentralized enlightened
In sweet time the crying chimes to invite smiling
These signs are guidance for life minus the violence

Loading...

On my throne made of wood

I sit proudly with my crown

And post on Steemit without a computer

My bot relays it somehow...

Don't ask me how she does it

As she adds more to my pool

I sit there with my head tilted forward

Reading a guide that's rather cool

The world can crash and burn like armageddon

But me and my bot will be just fine

We've got everything we need

Including shampoo for my hair to shine.

The world is burning as it's turning

But we keep going strong

Steeming stuff like memes and photos

And also funny songs.

Tried to get everything from the meme in there, not sure it entirely works! X-D

Upvoted for vis.

I have to be honest, I like this one the best so far, even better than mine. Wait, did I just say that...I meant second best...a distant second to mine. Seriously though, it's a great write. Good luck.

Haha! Thank you very much @moeknows :-)

Good luck to you too.

If the world shall burn,
I'll say steem on
nor shall I turn,
when the lava encroaches. 🌋
Instead to the kitchen I'll dash
grab my pot with which my eggs I poaches
fill it with water,
run to my door,
and empty it without bother.

Laughing I'll say as I rain down the shower,💦
The world burning only increases my steem power💨

LOL! Excellent entry!

Thank you! I call the style old testament limerick after a couple of my poetic influences.

Haha. Salute to your imagination. :p Keep it up.

Thank you for your support!

All my pleasure. I also wrote a poetry for the contest. Would be glad to receive your feedback :)

Thanks for this fun contest, papa-pepper. Here's mine:

Dear blue Peggy Sue,
sweet robot girlfriend, precious metal boo
with our steem-powered rocket we day trip the ’verse
you tend to my needs, a right naughty nurse
I’m a king on a throne when you rub down my feet
I wish I could build a blue girl-bot fleet
outside our rocket, a sun starts to blow
but inside, damn, I feel your love circuits glow.

Its so good its almost as song already, great flow!

Loading...
Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49