White Privilege? Yes, I am white...

in #white7 years ago


I know there are places in the country that being white may give you "privileges" depending upon that place, and how the people are there. I've also been to places in the country where not being white gave you the "privileges". I can tell you now that I didn't actually give much thought to racism most of my life. I saw some of it when I was 4 or 5 years old back in the 70s when I briefly lived in parts of Texas. For me it was mainly in the form of my grandmother down there asking me why I just spent so much time playing with the black kids down the street. I'm am sure I acted confused as skin color wasn't anything any of us kids really thought about. We just played. My mother picked me up (very much a hippie at the time) and told me not to worry about it and we left. That grandmother was a very bad alcoholic. She moved a lot. I think that was the only time I actually experienced it. I do remember my not racist parents being concerned when our car almost broke down in one neighborhood as it was a neighborhood that if you were white and not police or something and got caught there that you were in trouble. This was the 70s.

My mother was actually friends with the author of Black Like Me, so she definitely was not racist. Those bad areas to get trapped didn't actually have anything to do with skin color. They had to do with the culture that arose in certain areas.

You see most of the problems people blame on skin color are not. Racism is a cultural thing. It can quickly swing in completely different directions.

I love the line from Morgan Freeman when he is asked how we are going to deal with racism. "Stop talking about it". He expands upon that but, basically it comes down to when we stop referring to each other by race then racism doesn't really have anything to build it's twisted cultures upon. This is important. That doesn't mean stop talking about black, brown, red, yellow, green, purple. It also means stop talking about white.

I shake my head at so-called white privilege. I was born white, just like being born black I cannot change that. Yet, I lived in trailers most of my life, and we were often on food stamps or barely getting by. We still managed to be happy. We lived in part of Colorado (and this is true of all Colorado I've seen) where there is no white privilege.

When I want a loan from a bank, my skin color is meaningless. They follow a mathematical formula, look at my credit score, look at my collateral, etc. Often they refuse me. Actually, in my case most of my life I've predominantly been refused and we find some other plan to do what we need to do, or we just cancel our plans and survive another way.

When I want a scholarship for college, I look at the lists of those available, and I don't bother with the ones that are listed for blacks, as I was born white. Therefore, I do not have the "privilege" to apply for those scholarships. There are also native American scholarships and IF we truly worked out the details I might have been able to apply for some of those as even though I am very pale skinned I do have a lot of that heritage in my background. The problem is that even there it is not pure enough. I have three different tribes, which if it were one tribe would be more than enough to qualify me. Yet spread across three it is not. Yet, I am not asking for that. I am simply pointing out another "privilege" I couldn't take when I was looking at scholarships, or when my children were looking at them. There are no white's only scholarships. Nor do I think there should be.

These days I can weekly go on the news and it is acceptable to talk about killing all white people, especially if it is some deluded white professor saying it. It is okay for a black person on the street to say that white babies should be aborted. I know this is not the norm and this is cherry picking. I didn't point these things out to indicate this is a pervasive belief. I do not believe it is. Instead, I write about it to explain that it is apparently okay to say these things. Whites have the "privilege" of being the only race I am aware of that many things can be said about without the same repercussions that would occur if it were some color other than white that these things were being said about. In those cases it would be considered racism. You see a white privilege I have is that it is okay for people to say bad things about me, threaten anyone my color, etc. It actually has been increasing. There have been times in the past when this was how blacks, or others were treated. It was wrong then. There may still be pockets of places where this is true for them as well. I have never been to one. Yet, if you watch or read news the only race it is acceptable to bash is whites. Oh and make sure if they are white that they are not a Jew. For then you are being anti-Semitic. Somehow, if you are white and a Jew you are often exempt from some of this. They have to know you are a Jew first.

Now before you start thinking I am now anti-Jew. I am not. I didn't state that to be anti-Semitic. I only stated it so you might get another glimpse of some of the odd reality that we live in.

I don't care what color you are. If you choose to identify as a race other than human, then that is not my problem, that is your mistake. I choose to identify people as human.

I see most of the problems that are being blamed on race as being cultural in nature. White power factions which are an extreme minority are cultural problems. It is how they were raised, and indoctrinated. There are equally bad cultures in other neighborhoods, towns, and built around race. Black power is just as bad. They are both racist.

I used to talk about how there is no White History Month, there is no White Entertainment Network, etc. Those things if they existed would be bashed and would start riots. Then to my disgust I did read that someone was starting a White Entertainment Network. This disgusts me. I do not believe you can fight racism, by being racist.

Yet those were examples of "privilege" that the white people don't appear to have. Nor should we. Yet I don't really think there should be a Black History Month, or a Black Entertainment Network either. Emphasizing race is how racism feeds upon us and grows. Black History Month was specifically what Morgan Freeman was speaking about.

Also I don't know of ANY of my relatives that owned slaves going back to my Great Grandparent's time. I've also never met a living slave in my entire life (unless you want to say we all are) so pulling out the slavery card as justification is almost like a social welfare built upon historical events that no one living experienced. There should be no special treatment due to what occurred generations past. We should learn from it, and not make the same mistakes. We should learn not to start handing out "privileges" based upon some misfounded guilt. We should instead learn from mistakes, and stop doing them. We shouldn't then turn around an make more mistakes. You fix it, by stopping it.

So why did I write this. I watched some video of people on the street of people talking about White Privilege. It was actually a video of people that thought it did exist. Yet, it was clear it was based upon opinion and what they imagined as the things they stated were far from true. Apparently, because I am white I should be able to get bank loans easier. It hasn't worked out that way in my life, in fact I don't have the privilege of claiming my requests were denied due to racism. I am white. If I speak to a black banker, and he denies me I cannot complain about racism. Nor would I. It feeds the monster that is racism. Stop speaking of race and you deny that monster it's food.

Revisionist history is another topic. These days if you do not include people of color in your TV series or movies it is racist. So we will see things like viking stories(Beowulf), and other stories based upon history where there really were no black people as far as we are able to tell yet the SHOW must make sure to add some. Being DIVERSE is more important than being accurate. So let's talk about "privilege" here. How likely do you think it is that they are going to remake Zulu or Shaka Zulu if you prefer and put some White Guys in the army running around with piercings, shields, long spears, and body paint and chanting?

IF they did it wouldn't be historically accurate. It would be diverse. The funny thing about diversity is that it doesn't actually matter if a white person is present or not. They can make all black shows that might also have some Latinos, Asians, or some other ethnicity and if you see a white person they seem like a token white person. I watched Empire for awhile and this was very noticeable there. I watched it as I like shows about music.

Yet that isn't my point. My point is that if you are not "white" you have the privilege to alter historical tales in the interest of diversity. This does not exist for whites now. It did back in the past when it was called racism so it was stopped, back when they had white people acting out all the roles in shows. Much like if you go back even further where there were periods where there were no women in acting, and all roles including the women were males.

You see racism is racism regardless of color. It exists when you choose to emphasize skin color. This includes when you choose to focus on white people, black people, brown people, etc. Until we stop thinking in terms of skin color this will continue to be a problem, and just because it is okay to publicly bash white people now doesn't make that any less racist.

The "White Privilege" narrative though is false. There may be specific narratives where this is true, yet I've given you examples of other things that Non-Whites have in terms of privileges that whites do not. These examples I provided could be due to geographical or cultural settings as well.

If you want to attack something. We have some sick cultures. We should not be admiring stupidity EVER. We should not be admiring those that prey upon others EVER. Yet often such cultures are popular. In admiring them, we are perpetuating and spreading them. So if we wish to stop spreading stupidity, and negative things we need to stop acting as though the cultures that produce them are wonderful things. This is true regardless of skin color.

Sort:  

I have a white father and a mixed-race, predominantly Mexican multi-ethnic mother. I was raised mostly by my racist father and racist step-mother, in Texas for the most part. You didn’t have to give much thought to racism, but I was one of the kids white granmas kept their babies away from playing down the block – not because I was a bad kid, but because I looked like one (proud to say I still do). I didn’t think about racism because I wanted to, I thought about it because it baffled me that my skin, hair, and eye colors could pre-emptively indict me upon walking into a room filled with my step-mother’s family. You didn’t have to think about it because you didn’t have to contend with it. But apparently now you do.

One day, when I was eight or nine, I was riding in the car with my step-mom driving, she saw a couple of young, teenage Hispanic boys walking – really, doing nothing else – when she just spitefully hissed, “Wetbacks.” I asked what wetbacks were. She told me they were Spanish people (ironically, “wetback” was OK to say, but “Mexican” was too dirty a word to speak) who weren’t “from here.” With that, she turned to me and said, “but don’t worry… you’re white.” If you don't catch the significance of that last sentence, you might be a racist.

Don’t confuse the fact that the banking powers have marginalized the whole of society with the plain fact that the nation you were born in was predicated upon stealing resources from a native population while systematically attending to their genocide and then building over the ashes of their cultures using imported slave labor. This is not a statement of rage, it’s historical fact that represents multi-generational cultural and economic disadvantage in proportion to the same kind of advantage conferred on those who stole those resources, lives, and family structures. Was there a mathematical formula for that?

These days, you can weekly go on the news and see it is acceptable to kill an unarmed black person, especially if it is some white law enforcement officer doing it. It is okay for a white cop on the street to kill unarmed black men, young or old. I’m cherry picking, too, but there are oh so many more cherries on this tree than on yours – provided you don’t make the concerted effort to turn a blind eye to the stories. These events have passed out of the realm of belief and into that of statistics, so I write about it to explain that it is apparently okay to do these things without much (if any) recourse.

In this country, non-whites have been marginalized, incarcerated, and killed off for generations. This didn’t just require talking mean about them – it required planning. As for what is said about whites, and I don’t deny those things are said, I’m sorry you have been made to feel insecure because of the color of your skin. I truly am. In another way though, maybe a welcome to the human family is in order. And since you’re on the subject of anti-Semitism, don’t forget that Arabs as well as Jews are a Semitic people. Make sure you stick up for all the Semites if you’re going to bring them into the mix.

It’s amazing how you spend the first half of your post establishing your disenfranchised whiteness and then turn around and say you only identify as human. The rest of the post becomes just as riddled with non sequiturs, so I’ll just start ticking the same tire old tired boxes:

  • All culture is conditioning
  • Every month is white history month in the US
  • Traditionally, the white entertainment networks are ABC, CBS, & NBC
  • Writing Steemit posts about racism emphasizes race
  • Socioeconomic impact of slavery compounds over time just as do the proceeds from stolen resources and labor
  • Society gives special treatment to multi-generational family wealth
  • “Misfounded” is not a word
  • Yes, fix it by stopping it.
  • The racial connect to being unbanked or underbanked is significant and well-documented across statistical surveys. No account automatically means no loan. Your personal experience does not signify the norm.
  • Again with the irony. You wrote an opinion post about race in which you keep saying, “Stop speaking of race...”
  • Have you studied history? It’s ALL revisionist. If you’re not pissed about how much of the history we’ve been lied to about, you haven’t been paying attention. By the way, TV shows & movies are not history – they’re programming, not reality.
  • I’d grant you that these days, the economic powers that be have expanded the base of disenfranchised beyond racial boundaries, but since poor whites usually choose to vote with the wealthy (possibly on the basis of shared skin color?), rather than working people of color they are economically similar to, they perpetuate the narrative on a national stage.
  • Your “sick cultures” paragraph is an unfortunate and inscrutable way to end the post.

So my question to you is: If you’d prefer for a can of worms to remain sealed, why’d you bring the can opener?

Loading...

@hedronstrand35 This was the genius educated response @dwinblood needed. Thankyou for educating us some more. I continue to educate myself. Thank you.

Check out @cupidzero's response below yours. Because you endorse @hendronstrand35 is not proof either. :)

It was more snarky, maybe, than genius. I think what set me off is the sense that "my feelings of being disenfranchised are justified, but those of people who are different from me are not." I'd prefer to stay out of bickering where possible.

Having borne witness to more examples of what you termed "minority" privilege during my two decades at the university than I can possible count, I thought I would reply.

A very clear memory: a young and naive student asked a full professor during a department conference why there were no scholarships for men, since there were so many for women. Her answer, in a very offended manner for even daring to voice such a thoughtcrime question, was, I quote: "There has to be an advantageous disadvantaging of men to provide for equality. I had hoped you would understand that by now." Orwellian doublethink wrapped in newspeak at its finest.

The same university sent a letter proudly exclaiming "94% of our doctoral candidates are now women or minorities. An increase in this percentage is explicitly desired by the administration." They weren't disadvantaging anybody on a meritocratic basis, of course not, they were just advantaging others.

I have watched countless university positions at numerous universities in the last twenty years go to women or minorities that were less published, had less teaching experience, less didactic competence, poorer social skills and less command of their discipline than male applicants, not even because there were quotas, but because of the "desire for diversity" or "reparation for past injustices" on the part of the non-academic bureaucrats who ultimately held the purse strings.

It is now apparently fashionable to hold people accountable for things they have never done nor would ever have agreed with in the name of social justice. How just! It is practically biblical of the righteous avenging atheists to visit the sins of the father upon the sons.

But I digress.

In short, meritocracy in western civilization is dying in favor of a cultist ideology of victim adoration, where those who are perceived as the most victimized are considered the most worthy of, well, anything and everything.

What so many of the young SJW crowd fail to understand is that true hegemonic power, derived from wealth and power, makes absolutely no distinction as to the race, color, sex, age, ethnicity or culture of an individual. The wealthy walk over the corpses of men and women, white, black and brown in their pursuit of dominance. While the SJWs are berating their neighbors, colleagues and friends for not being tolerant or politically correct enough, the rich are pondering how to keep the central banking system of indentured servitude of everyone running.

The social justice crusade to impose the belief in white privilege and that disadvantaging, killing, raping, aborting or robbing whites is thus justifiable is a form of mass reactionary hysteria to the narrative of the radical Frankfurter School disciples that has taken root at the universities and in the controlled media throughout the west. But that for another time perhaps.

Until then, this video perfectly sums up the current victimhood olympics mentality: "Educayshun"

I tell people occassionally "I care about ideology, not race or sex. You are either fighting for freedom, justice and equality, or you are mired in slave-think and attacking your fellow slaves." Which brings to mind "The Story of Your Enslavement"

Anyways, cheers for the nice thought-provoking post dwin!

Excellent response seriously. Might I recommend you repackage this up as your own post and then give me a link to it? It is worth getting you some visibility on it.

I only thought of the phrase "minority" privilege today as I realized I've actually personally witnessed far more of that in my lifetime than what I would call white privilege. Your examples are good ones in terms of information, yet they are also BAD because it is a negative thing that it has come to that. The education system is very messed up and it is full of rotting minds.

I did as you suggested and it was a good call, I'd be honored if you would take a look at it. Cheers! Here the link: Meritocracy is Dead - Diversity and Privilege in Higher Education

Thanks for the suggestion; I'll work it up as a post and shoot you the link. Have to be tomorrow, very very late here. I also should emphasize that when I say the "wealthy", I mean the super-wealthy .0000000018%. Definitely enjoy watching the videos, they are both terrifying in their own way.

I'm sorry, I can't agree with most of your article. Just because you were poor and white doesn't mean you didn't experience white privilege. All "privilege" means is that IN GENERAL if you were a minority in the U.S., and ALSO poor, you probably would have been worse off. Now are there exceptions to the rule? Yes. But all that proves is that someone had to work extremely hard to overcome racial barriers. Chances are, a white person in the exact same situation wouldn't have had to "prove" him/herself so much.

Also, I'm glad that you don't seem to notice race, but white privilege is not about you as an individual -- it's about societal institutions. Other people are not so "enlightened." And often, discrimination is subconscious (i.e. people might not overtly think, "This person is black, therefore I'm going to screw him/her over," but they will still make judgement calls about that person's character or upbringing based on their preconceptions).

Loading...

FUCKING THANK YOU.

Also thanks for the well reasoned, and civil response. It is appreciated.

I heard a joke, which is not joke at all: the least privileged person in USA is a healthy white man with traditional sexual orientation

That is quickly becoming the case, though not too long ago it wouldn't have been true.

just because you don't believe it (or didn't experience it yourself) doesn't make it less of an actual thing. there's literally no way you can verify that a person of color didn't get a loan because of their skin color. that's an internal bias that most people don't vocalize unless surrounded by other people likely to judge someone based on their race or skin.

Yes, but I can. Because often they are on a phone and race never comes up. Or they are on a form that doesn't ask race.

If race came up then I can't prove that the black banker refused me due to skin color either. Yet I wouldn't make that claim.

If YOU yourself are targeted and it is obvious and requires no speculation then that is PROVABLE. If it requires guessing, opinion, and speculation then it is not provable. It is bullshit waste of time to play a victim card.

If you focus on provable things you'll get a lot of support. Yet how is it provable? Usually this involves race being mentioned specifically in the event, or alluded to. "People like you", "Black people like you", "Your people", "White crackers like you", "White people..." you see those things ARE racist regardless of your skin color.

People are frankly IDIOTS these days and I don't usually say it. If they are indeed victims of racism then the answer is NOT to be racist yourself. You either want equality, or you want special treatment. You can't have both for they are mutually exclusive.

no, i'm sorry, but unless you can read minds, there's ZERO way for you to verify someone's racial bias in that situation unless it's so blatant as to be impossible to ignore (epithets, flat out statements, etc.).

you're just wrong.

Hmmm...

A couple of things here. Simple things actually.

The first thing you said.

no, i'm sorry, but unless you can read minds, there's ZERO way for you to verify someone's racial bias in that situation unless it's so blatant as to be impossible to ignore (epithets, flat out statements, etc.).

Yep. This is true. It's kind of what I said too. Just in different words.

you're just wrong.

shakes head - Ahh going to pull out the old "I'm right, and you're wrong" little kid argument?

That doesn't ever actually convince anyone of you being right. Proof is a lot more compelling than obstinance.

Yet, if your goal was to give the impression of someone sticking their hands over their head and saying I'm not listening then congratulations. You succeeded. That statement is absolutely brilliant when it comes to that.

I did think about your initial comment to this post when I went back and read my post. You didn't even read it did you? It seems like that is the case since the first two sentences of the post actually address what you said in your first comment.

If you want to have a civil and reasoned discussion I'm all for that. If you want to predetermine you are right and I am wrong then don't bother.

rest assured, once i'm home from work, you'll get a step-by-step breakdown of where your logic falls apart.

if your goal was to sound like a condescending douche, you succeeded.

I look forward to it. ;) Oh and be sure to read the post this time.

Once you so casually decided to just say "you are wrong" I didn't have a single problem being condescending after that. It was intentional. ;)

Also I didn't state it was not an actual thing. I said it is a geographical or cultural thing. To expand upon that there are pockets spread around where it happens, and the large areas it doesn't. This is true of all such bigotry as far as I can find not just racism.

nevermind. not even worth responding to at this point.

It's really not, but I did it anyway.

Hehe... and yeah I thought it was a tag team event. I've been involved in them before. Perhaps not planned though, or perhaps it was. :) Anyway that is what I was hinting at in my response to your response.

@dwinblood I am so glad that a platform exists where these things can be brought up and discussed in a polite and civil way.

I'm a 55 year old, non-college educated white male. Any advantage that may exist simply by virtue of skin pigmentation is far outweighed by the other factors. We can't qualify for a mortgage that would be half of what we've paid on-time, every month renting for the last 3-1/2 years.

I am unemployable in a field that I have 25+ years working in because I don't have a piece of paper from a university saying that I'm qualified.

I certainly feel privileged.

I do know there are places that have such privilege but they are not as common as people try to make them out to be. I've never lived anywhere that it is true.

I have seen "minority" privilege before. I've actually worked places before where they refused to hire a caucasian because they had to meet their minority quota. It actually had nothing to do with ability. I already worked there at the time so it did not impact me directly.

Indirectly I could start shouting "minority" privilege and I'd say there are actually more cases of that today than there are white privilege.

It is not about merit, it is not about hard work, though sometimes those things can luckily be found despite these FORCED quotas.

Don't get me wrong. I love people regardless of skin color. I have many friends that if I stop and take the time to think about skin color because someone brings it up are black. Honestly, I never think about it outside of that. They are a person. I view them by their actions, and what I've seen them do. To me that is all that matters.

Yet this day and age I am suddenly under attack though I can honestly say I have never ONCE treated a person in a racist way. NEVER.

Yet, I am white. Suddenly I am under attack, my family is under attack, and that is politically correct at the moment so it is apparently okay. It IS racism. Yet the problem with racism is that a certain race or races will become acceptable to bash, blame, and demonize. Right now it is white that it is PC to bash.

I think the real problem is that there is a caste system in America.

And while it can be overcome, it takes cash.

Oh, I've just reduced the whole thing to a mathematical expression:

CASH > CASTE

I agree. There certainly is a caste system and it doesn't have a damn thing to do with skin color. It is based upon money, and power.

And if you got money, you got power.

I think it's a linear scale too.

Yeah I say money and power as it is possible to also attain power without money based upon who you know, etc.

@dwinblood You're very correct when stop talking about race is the only reason why racism exists.
very true.
I used to think about the inhuman psychological drain associated with accepting that you're a minority because people, or the system tags you as a minority due to your race or color.

I choose to identify people as human. This is how I am and have been all my life, I never tolerated it around me, my children were not taught that crap either! Last time I looked we all live on the globe called earth so to think racism to me is you are from a different planet.. Resteemit to share!

For most people it's easier to blame other people for thier failure than work hard to get what they want

There are racist people. Yet they are these days a minority... or they were. The media intentionally fanning the flames of racism I believe is creating new racist idiots of all colors. It's not a good thing. Yet it makes good ratings... "If it bleeds it leads"

Hi @dwinblood you have wright a good aritical.This Black & White defarence is we are faceing long back and till today,and it's steel to be contenueing.

It spans all skin colors. We are human. Let's quit worrying about color and perhaps that monster will die of starvation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61604.80
ETH 3444.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50