You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: White Privilege? Yes, I am white...

in #white7 years ago

I have a white father and a mixed-race, predominantly Mexican multi-ethnic mother. I was raised mostly by my racist father and racist step-mother, in Texas for the most part. You didn’t have to give much thought to racism, but I was one of the kids white granmas kept their babies away from playing down the block – not because I was a bad kid, but because I looked like one (proud to say I still do). I didn’t think about racism because I wanted to, I thought about it because it baffled me that my skin, hair, and eye colors could pre-emptively indict me upon walking into a room filled with my step-mother’s family. You didn’t have to think about it because you didn’t have to contend with it. But apparently now you do.

One day, when I was eight or nine, I was riding in the car with my step-mom driving, she saw a couple of young, teenage Hispanic boys walking – really, doing nothing else – when she just spitefully hissed, “Wetbacks.” I asked what wetbacks were. She told me they were Spanish people (ironically, “wetback” was OK to say, but “Mexican” was too dirty a word to speak) who weren’t “from here.” With that, she turned to me and said, “but don’t worry… you’re white.” If you don't catch the significance of that last sentence, you might be a racist.

Don’t confuse the fact that the banking powers have marginalized the whole of society with the plain fact that the nation you were born in was predicated upon stealing resources from a native population while systematically attending to their genocide and then building over the ashes of their cultures using imported slave labor. This is not a statement of rage, it’s historical fact that represents multi-generational cultural and economic disadvantage in proportion to the same kind of advantage conferred on those who stole those resources, lives, and family structures. Was there a mathematical formula for that?

These days, you can weekly go on the news and see it is acceptable to kill an unarmed black person, especially if it is some white law enforcement officer doing it. It is okay for a white cop on the street to kill unarmed black men, young or old. I’m cherry picking, too, but there are oh so many more cherries on this tree than on yours – provided you don’t make the concerted effort to turn a blind eye to the stories. These events have passed out of the realm of belief and into that of statistics, so I write about it to explain that it is apparently okay to do these things without much (if any) recourse.

In this country, non-whites have been marginalized, incarcerated, and killed off for generations. This didn’t just require talking mean about them – it required planning. As for what is said about whites, and I don’t deny those things are said, I’m sorry you have been made to feel insecure because of the color of your skin. I truly am. In another way though, maybe a welcome to the human family is in order. And since you’re on the subject of anti-Semitism, don’t forget that Arabs as well as Jews are a Semitic people. Make sure you stick up for all the Semites if you’re going to bring them into the mix.

It’s amazing how you spend the first half of your post establishing your disenfranchised whiteness and then turn around and say you only identify as human. The rest of the post becomes just as riddled with non sequiturs, so I’ll just start ticking the same tire old tired boxes:

  • All culture is conditioning
  • Every month is white history month in the US
  • Traditionally, the white entertainment networks are ABC, CBS, & NBC
  • Writing Steemit posts about racism emphasizes race
  • Socioeconomic impact of slavery compounds over time just as do the proceeds from stolen resources and labor
  • Society gives special treatment to multi-generational family wealth
  • “Misfounded” is not a word
  • Yes, fix it by stopping it.
  • The racial connect to being unbanked or underbanked is significant and well-documented across statistical surveys. No account automatically means no loan. Your personal experience does not signify the norm.
  • Again with the irony. You wrote an opinion post about race in which you keep saying, “Stop speaking of race...”
  • Have you studied history? It’s ALL revisionist. If you’re not pissed about how much of the history we’ve been lied to about, you haven’t been paying attention. By the way, TV shows & movies are not history – they’re programming, not reality.
  • I’d grant you that these days, the economic powers that be have expanded the base of disenfranchised beyond racial boundaries, but since poor whites usually choose to vote with the wealthy (possibly on the basis of shared skin color?), rather than working people of color they are economically similar to, they perpetuate the narrative on a national stage.
  • Your “sick cultures” paragraph is an unfortunate and inscrutable way to end the post.

So my question to you is: If you’d prefer for a can of worms to remain sealed, why’d you bring the can opener?

Sort:  
Loading...

@hedronstrand35 This was the genius educated response @dwinblood needed. Thankyou for educating us some more. I continue to educate myself. Thank you.

Check out @cupidzero's response below yours. Because you endorse @hendronstrand35 is not proof either. :)

It was more snarky, maybe, than genius. I think what set me off is the sense that "my feelings of being disenfranchised are justified, but those of people who are different from me are not." I'd prefer to stay out of bickering where possible.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58733.26
ETH 2663.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44