You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: White Privilege? Yes, I am white...

in #white7 years ago

@dwinblood I am so glad that a platform exists where these things can be brought up and discussed in a polite and civil way.

I'm a 55 year old, non-college educated white male. Any advantage that may exist simply by virtue of skin pigmentation is far outweighed by the other factors. We can't qualify for a mortgage that would be half of what we've paid on-time, every month renting for the last 3-1/2 years.

I am unemployable in a field that I have 25+ years working in because I don't have a piece of paper from a university saying that I'm qualified.

I certainly feel privileged.

Sort:  

I do know there are places that have such privilege but they are not as common as people try to make them out to be. I've never lived anywhere that it is true.

I have seen "minority" privilege before. I've actually worked places before where they refused to hire a caucasian because they had to meet their minority quota. It actually had nothing to do with ability. I already worked there at the time so it did not impact me directly.

Indirectly I could start shouting "minority" privilege and I'd say there are actually more cases of that today than there are white privilege.

It is not about merit, it is not about hard work, though sometimes those things can luckily be found despite these FORCED quotas.

Don't get me wrong. I love people regardless of skin color. I have many friends that if I stop and take the time to think about skin color because someone brings it up are black. Honestly, I never think about it outside of that. They are a person. I view them by their actions, and what I've seen them do. To me that is all that matters.

Yet this day and age I am suddenly under attack though I can honestly say I have never ONCE treated a person in a racist way. NEVER.

Yet, I am white. Suddenly I am under attack, my family is under attack, and that is politically correct at the moment so it is apparently okay. It IS racism. Yet the problem with racism is that a certain race or races will become acceptable to bash, blame, and demonize. Right now it is white that it is PC to bash.

I think the real problem is that there is a caste system in America.

And while it can be overcome, it takes cash.

Oh, I've just reduced the whole thing to a mathematical expression:

CASH > CASTE

I agree. There certainly is a caste system and it doesn't have a damn thing to do with skin color. It is based upon money, and power.

And if you got money, you got power.

I think it's a linear scale too.

Yeah I say money and power as it is possible to also attain power without money based upon who you know, etc.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59209.84
ETH 2659.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43