Living with Wheels

in #wheelchair7 years ago (edited)

So I have moved in with my partner, 'Wheels,' and yes that genuinely is how he likes to be referred to. No, it's not because he likes cars (even though he does) but because for the majority of his life he has been in a wheelchair and no he is not offended by his nickname

We have been together nearly three years and decided it was time to move in. Mainly due to the fact I lived in a second storey flat with no lift/elevator which was a complete ball ache for him. I was turning into the Hulk taking his wheelchair up and down and he had to drag himself up on his arms. Anyway.. we found a bungalow and moved in in January.

A lot has been going on since then.

It has been one hell of a rollercoaster so far, what with house renovations, job changes and Wheels having major surgery.

Bilateral hip surgery. At 26 years old it terrified both of us.

I am not only his partner but I also am his carer, not that I really see it like that. If you love someone you just do things to make them happy - it's really no different just because things are not as simple.

I've decided to start sharing experiences,struggles and triumphs as living with him is like one big adventure as he is spontaneous and forever surprising me.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @greengenie :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Welcome to Steem @greengenie I have sent you a tip

Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59871.00
ETH 2671.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47