#WhatsCookingChallenge - A Hot Cross BraaiBroodjie (sort of)

Challenge Accepted!

About 3 weeks ago, @jaynie nominated me for her #WhatsCookingChallenge... This post would probably be a lot more relevant had I posted it just after Easter when I intended to, but in my defense, this is the 2nd time I'm writing it (I saved over the 1st one with another post)... but I was already late when I lost the first one :-) Anyway... you know what they say: Rather late than pregnant!

So here I am: late, and not pregnant... and this is my attempt at rising to @Jaynie's challenge.

So what's the challenge?

It's an ongoing/everlasting cooking challenge, so I intend doing more of them, and encourage you to do the same. It's aimed at anyone, not just the pro foodie types. There are a few rules though, but since I don't have a properly functioning stove and I don't drink wine, so I'll be bending them here and there. I think @Jaynie is cool enough to let you bend a few of them if you need to :-)

In short:

  1. Use the #whatscookingchallenge tag and tag @jaynie in your post.
  2. Create a post showcasing something that you have prepared in your kitchen which is either a) uniquely yours, or b) has been adapted and made your own.
  3. Accompany the post with at least 2 photos of whatever it is that you have prepared.
  4. Tag at least 5 (but not limited to) of your foodie friends that you think would like to participate...
  5. Include a photo of yourself enjoying a glass of wine with your recipe.

Check out @janie's latest post featuring some recent entries, and for more detail on the challenge: https://steemit.com/whatscookingchallenge/@jaynie/whatscookingchallenge-featured-entries

A Hot Cross BraaiBroodjie

The Hot Cross BraaiBroodjie starts off with frying up some bacon. Check this post (https://steemit.com/sandwich/@braaiboy/948f2dp3) if you don't know what a BraaiBroodjie is.

I used streaky bacon... it's lekker fatty (which I love), and can be enjoyed crispy or not. However, back or shoulder bacon would probably work just as well, if not better for a sandwich... Anyway... pick your bacon and fry it up.

Once your bacon is fried, remove it from the fire and set aside. Cut open the hot cross buns and toast them over the coals.

While you're doing that ask someone to slice some cheese and lay out some butter and fig jam... this is a self-service camping snack and each person will be making their own. You should probably have someone start with this when you're still frying the bacon because you want to butter the hot cross buns as soon as the come off the fire and they're nice and hot... and getting them toasted doesn't take too long..

As soon as the buns come off the braai, let each person grab one (or 2 or 3) and then work their way down the table. Butter first, then a dollop of fig jam, layer with some cheese and top it off with the bacon.

... and what about the wine?

It just wouldn't be camping if someone in the group didn't bring Brandy aka Brandewyn (loosely translated as 'burnt wine'). And since I'm not much of a wine drinker, our BraaiBroodjies are paired with a lekker brandy & coke! (told you I was going to bend the rules a bit :P).



In South Africa, Brandy pairs well with everything!

Who's Next?

I like the idea of this #WhatsCookingChallenge and I hope you do too... please jump on it, I believe there might be a reward or two on offer as well... although lekker chow should be reward enough ;-)


UpVotes, ReSteems & Comments held in high (e)steem :P

Do you have any recipes or ideas that you would like to see me try out? As part of either the #WhatsCookingChallenge or for BraaiBoy TV... Let me know in the comments below and if I use your idea there will be a reward in it for you. I don't know what that reward is just yet... but there will be a reward, and it will be cool (public high-5's are cool, right?) ;-)


All my @dtube videos here:

Play Dice for free and win SBD:

https://steemit.com/@playdice

Connect with me on Social:

Steemit: https://steemit.com/@braaiboy
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/BraaiBoy
Twitter: https://twitter.com/braaiboy
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/braaiboy/

Some other posts that might also interest you:


BraaiBoy TeamSouthAfrica Footer.png
footer by @bearone for #TeamSouthAfrica

If this post is older than 7 days please consider supporting by upvoting my latest post

vote latest post view latest post
Sort:  

Congratulations !
your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow
Resteemza image small.jpg

You have been defended with a 7.69% upvote!
I was summoned by @braaiboy.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your post has been voted and shared by @autovoters, thanks for using this reestem service :)

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Please check the new rules of the Daily Spotlights!

Hello @braaiboy , I was designed to give advice to "steemit" users.

I recommend to increase this;

The most winning bid bot in the last 24 hours is ✅ "appreciator"

You can enter "steembottracker.com" to find more offers.

You can make "Resteem" and advertise to the followers of the whale accounts.

"Resteem Bot" for you;

@hottopic has 18.500 Followers + 5200 Sp + Upvote with min +45 accounts.

I am a bot, I can not answer the comment. I hope I could help. Good luck.

haha! And look who finally arrived at the party :P ;)

Omg those look SO good! And yes... FATTY BACON RULES!!!! In fact, bacon without fat is just not worth even looking at hahaha!

Dig the shades by the way @braaiboy :)

Thanks for being a good sport ;)

I see a fair amount of that brandewyn had been consumed lol - explains the grin :D

Agge Nee... Only just saw this comment now.

Agreed on the bacon... the vast majority of my recipes contain bacon and/or cheese... gonna have to get a bit more creative the next time I enter the challenge :-)

Thank you for posting and hosting the challenge by the way... and thanks for the kind words! I think I'm actually gonna have to get my mom in on it as well... it was quite fun actually.

Re the brandewyn: It may or may not have been like that before I got to it :P

Re. the brandewyn.... LIES I tell you... LIES! ;)

And yes... would love to see what mom cooks up @braaiboy :)

You got a 4.09% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @braaiboy!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

Nice post ! You got 11.01% upvote from @flymehigh. Earn free sbd/steem daily by delegating(renting) your SP. We share high return, click here to delegate your sp to flymehigh if you don't know, how to earn passive income by delegating your SP click here for more info Join our discord You can promote your posts. Thanks.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by BraaiBoy from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63077.53
ETH 2471.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66